How to Take Good Meeting Notes…

Oh, well.  It wasn’t a very good meeting, actually….

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Miss Management

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

8 Comments on “How to Take Good Meeting Notes…”

  1. Brett Legree Says:

    I still love the tee-ball guy in the lower right hand corner. It sort of looks like Dr. Xenon.

  2. Friar Says:

    I got the tee-ball idea from the Corporate Thought-speak expression “Step up to the Plate”.

    It’s giving me ideas for other blog postings…hee hee hee.

  3. Sandie Says:

    I love your notes…I have been in meetings where I’ve wanted to scream, “Just get to the point!” or “Make a decision, people!” but have refrained for fear that my backup career as a snarky blogger isn’t going to pay the rent.

    Have you ever seen the Kill Time book? Check it out. It’s full of little images you can scribble on during meetings while still looking somewhat professional.

    http://www.thisnext.com/item/1CFEA78B/26E36230/kill-time

  4. Friar Says:

    Sandie

    Oboy…THAT was a painful meeting, I tell ya. It sucked the life force out of me not just for the rest of the day but into the following day as well.

    It just further reinforces that I’m not in the right line of work. (But like you I need something to pay the bills).

    That Kill Time book looks awesome. Think I might look into buying one!


  5. Wow, that looks like my notes from college lectures. :-)

  6. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    The WTF Duck kills me. Oh my goodness this is a great piece of paper.

    I was in a client meeting a few weeks ago listening to the client and crew blab on and on arguing among themselves (for my benefit of course), when I discovered there was a wireless signal in the room. Presto! I began “taking notes” on the laptop=writing emails.

    I’d get too much into the drawing and get caught. Not very businesslike. Email was just the right amount of not paying attention to keep me from testing the length of my skirt by crawling out under the table. :)

    Regards,

    Kelly

  7. Friar Says:

    @ Sterling: I spent my entire university career taking notes like this (In fact, I had a cartoon pad that I’d pass around the class…much to the consternation of the profs).

    Something musta sunk in, though, because I somehow managed to pass and graduate.

    @ Kelly: So far, I haven’t gotten caught (or they’ve seen me, and they tolerate it) We work in our own little world here…so I can get away with this. But I wouldn’t do this in front of a client.

    If I’m not drawing or scribbling something while I sit and listen to people talk, it drives me nuts.


  8. [...] How often were you forced to attend a meeting in a tiny room and there aren’t enough seats to go around the table?  Late-comers end up having to sit against a wall.  To me, this really sucks.  Hell…if I’m going to be stuck in a stuffy box for God knows how long, watching painful PowerPoint slides that would euthanize a Great Dane, I need to be at a table where I can take notes, sip my coffee, and more importantly…doodle.   [...]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

