Painting Junk Food

Last time it was donuts…This time it was Burger King.   I think maybe hot dog will be next…

b-king

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Artwork

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

32 Comments on “Painting Junk Food”

  1. Karen JL Says:

    Well, at least it looks realistic. Unlike those wax figures they use in their actual ads.

    On second thought…yours still may look too good.

  2. Liz Says:

    What? No diet coke…sheeeesh.lol Friar,you are indeed a man of many talents.

  3. Friar Says:

    @Karen
    Everyone in art class commented on the food smells I brought in the room. Heh heh. I said no-one touch the exhibit, till 9:00 PM.

    @Liz
    I didn’t think a coke would have been as interesting to paint. (Wasn’t in the mood to draw a boring cylindrical object).

  4. Karen Swim Says:

    Friar, this is awesome! I don’t eat this kind of food but you have captured it perfectly. You even captured my feeling about fries scary little fingers that squeeze the life out of your arteries! lol! Great work!

  5. hannah78 Says:

    Stop! You’re making me hungry! LOL

  6. Friar Says:

    @Karen

    Ohhhh….don’t be so cautious.

    Nothing wrong with grease-burgers, in moderation! :-)

    @hannah
    You can look at my previous painting, and have the donuts for dessert!

  7. Friar's Mom Says:

    @Wee Friar

    Hot dogs would be boring, unless you bought one from a Chip Wagon and loaded it with sauerkraut.

    You gotta paint the Kentucky Fried Chicken Toonie Special–box, chicken, fries, napkin, fork, ketcup and all, sitting on the ripped open bag.

    Maybe you’ll take over where Andy Warhol left off. He began with Campell Soup Cans,and your starting with fast food.

  8. Brett Legree Says:

    This really is a cool painting (you should see it “live”)…

    Friar & I were talking last night about the hot dog painting. It has to have grill marks on it, mustard, relish etc. – I think it would be totally awesome.

    Now I want a hot dog for supper. Bring on the mystery meat.

  9. Friar Says:

    @Friar’s Mom
    No, I think hot-dogs would be INTERESTING. The bright yellow mustard, green relish, and red weiner. Contrasted with the white onions and brown bun. There’s lots of interesting color combinations there.

    @Brett
    Awww…now I want a hot-dog too! (Well, several, actually!)

  10. Friar's Mom Says:

    @ Wee Friar,

    My apologies, I didn’t think of the hot dog from your artistic point of view. I agree, there’s great potetial for colour and texture composition.

    However, you know me, I don’t care for hot dogs. I’d prefer a knackwurst or bratwurst with grill marks. These large sausages have more substance, more taste, more texture.

    It’s food that a Viking would devour. He would stomp on a weeny wiener with his meat shoes.

  11. Friar Says:

    @Friar’s Mom

    No..I think a Viking would still respect hot dogs. (After all, it’s still MEAT).

    Hot dogs are smaller than the big sausages, true. But he’d just eat MORE of them.

  12. Brett Legree Says:

    Sausages are nice for sure – but the right hot dog can be pretty good (I’m not talking the little guys you buy at the grocery store, I mean real “street” dogs) – I almost think a Viking might appreciate a hot dog i.e. made with MORE BLOOD :)


  13. Dag nab it! Cut it out!!!!! Grrrrr … now I’m craving take out burger and fries! And you have seen the food the Lion prepares! I should be satisfied with that!

  14. Friar's Mom Says:

    @ Wee Friar and Brett,

    A wiener is made of a tasty blend of favorite meats (pork, beef, chicken, or turkey), meat fat, a cereal filler which could be either bread crumbs, flour, or oatmeal, a little bit of egg white, and a mouth-watering array of herbs and spices.

    I still think a Viking would prefer a Bratwurst. It’s a thick German sausage, made of all meat with no other ingredients to act as filler. Seasonings including garlic, pepper, ground mustard, nutmeg, salt, and onion.

    There’s no blood in a wiener, a ketchup condiment doesn’t count.

  15. Friar Says:

    @Brett
    …Viking hot dogs would be made out of the meat of ferocious beasts (Aurochs, Bears, and such). It would demonstrate bravery and skill to have slain the bests to make the hot dogs. And eating it would give strength to the warriors.

    @Panther
    Yeah…when I visited your party, the Lions’ food was AWESOME!

    (If you eat take-out junk, though…will he disown you?)

  16. Brett Legree Says:

    I still think Viking hot dogs would be made with BLOOD :)

    Actually, I did some reading about what they likely ate, meat wise (based on historical writings). Beef, pork, mutton – usually boiled. Maybe you’d want to wash that down with mead…

  17. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    I think blood would be used as an ingredient, to hold all the meat together!

    Either way, it’s all good..it’s all carnivorous!

  18. Friar's Mom Says:

    @ Wee Friar and Brett,

    OK, so you agree that the “hot dog” would be made with the meat of ferocious animals. You didn’t mention any fillers. If there are not fillers then it has to be a Viking Bratwurst.

    If blood is used as an ingredient, you’re talking about “Bloodwurst”, that’s a totally different sausage.

  19. steph Says:

    Frig, Friar. I’m a vegetarian and that made my mouth water! I’m going to pretend it’s a veggie burger. :)

    I like it when you paint junk food! After the hot dog, do candy!

  20. Friar Says:

    @Friar’s Mom
    I couldn’t just eat blood by itself. There needs to be MEAT involved.

    @Steph
    Heh heh heh. I don’t think a Tofu-burger would make your mouth water like that.

    That’s your inner meata-tarian telling you it craves animal flesh!

    Come…cross over to the Dark Side. Be ONE with the carnivores. (Join us, you must!) ;-)

  21. Patricia Says:

    Wow I should offer to buy that painting, frame it and give it to my youngest when she graduates from college in June…She has spent 5 years eating only chicken nuggets at MC Donald’s period…Says it is all she can afford…hmmm?

    Oh and a lot of shoes were thrown at a giant picture of Bush but he was not arrested. They secreted him into the area where he was speaking…darn it…I was hopeful

  22. Friar Says:

    @Patricia
    It’s so easy to live off fast food.

    For $3.00, you can buy a couple of $1.39 burger specials, which will probably give you 1000 calories of grease. It’s not nutritious, but it will keep you alive.

    (Versus how much would you have to pay, to get the equivalent calories by buying fresh fruit and vegetables?)

    No wonder North Americans’ eating habits are so screwed!

  23. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    It’s so funny how you made folks who don’t normally eat this stuff want it… Me, I like a good burger, but I’m not much for fries. And before I scrolled down, I was thinking, mmm, fries would be good… so it worked the same on me. Magic.

    I know I’ve said it a million times but your signature is your way with white. Beeeeeutiful. Speaking as one who can (somewhat) paint, I know the skill it takes you NOT to do a thing in just the right places, and to barely do something in others, to get those whites popping. Love it.

    Regards,

    Kelly

  24. Friar Says:

    @Kelly
    It’s a nice change to hear a woman say she appreciates a good burger! ;-)

    Not to put down vegetarians (sorry Steph), but there are so many people out there, that just eat three leaves of lettuce. And they roll their eyes and get the case of the vapors when you mention the dreaded “M”-word (meat). Oh, for crying out loud.

    Like you, I’m less into the fries. If I’m going to eat junk I’d prefer to eat the protein rather than the starch. But the fries helped the composition of the painting.

    (I’d be curious to see some of your own artwork…maybe you can post some). Or email it to me if you’re too shy.

  25. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    Oh, yes, I’ve even linked to the world’s best burgers (and the world’s most expensive, come to think of it) before at MCE. (Excuse me, I’m drooling just thinking of the great ones at Pete’s Tavern in NYC. Must be time for a road trip.) A crummy burger I can skip 90% of the time, and sure, there are foods I’d rather eat anyway, but a really good burger on a day when I have a craving… ah.

    Re: fries, it’s the Irish in me—I want a potato to be more… potato-y than most fries are. So they don’t interest me.

    I don’t think I have anything on the computer—all my painting photos are pre-digital-camera. Maybe I can get a sunny day and photograph something, but be forewarned, I paint for work. Boring interiors (thrilling to me) and stuff like that. College (ten years ago) would probably be the last time I did any non-work painting. Kids do that to ya. Free time goes to stuff we can do together, and quite happily. :)

    Later,

    Kelly

  26. Wendi Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    I am a Burger Woman. Love the painting. And I like Burker King better than Mc.D’s,but my real idea of a burger is one we grill in our own Backyard. It’s rare that I succumb to fast food. But this painting does bring on a craving!

  27. Friar Says:

    @Kelly
    My scanner doesn’t work so well, so lots of these paintings I post are just digital photographs.

    Sometimes I find the best burgers are those dinky little places that look like nothing, but suprise you.

    I was at a conference in Potsdam New York once..and this tiny little diner had the BEST damned burgers I ever ate!

    @Wendi
    HOORAY! Another BURGER woman! (For some reason, I find that an attractive quality in the ladies..) :-)

    My post made ME hungry…(I ate the burger you see here after I finished painting it).

    But all that talk about hot dogs and meat and such…I’m BBQ’ing sausasges today…in about half an hour.

  28. Eyeteaguy Says:

    I just realized that I never posted a comment here.

    Now I know why.

    Eyeteaguy


  29. This is a post ski trip painting. LOOK AT THOSE GORGEOUS WHITES!!!! Burger man.
    I like this. It’s a fast food landscape.

  30. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy
    aaaand….thanks for coming out!

    @Janice
    White makes it easier, too (less painting!) ;-)


  31. Oh god, now I want a burger…I wonder if any of these fastfood joints do delivery…

  32. Friar Says:

    @Mathew
    Next class is Monday night…I might paint some more food…Wait and see. ;-)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

