The Lonely Blogger

lonely

Are there ANY other bloggers out there who  ….

…don’t think Twitter is more important than the Second Coming?

…fail to see the difference between a “Link Post” and a “Blog Carnival”?

…think a “meme” nothing but a glorified  chain letter?

…just for today, don’t feel like Saving the Planet?

…aren’t Life Coaches?

…really couldn’t give a flying fox fart when another blogger announces they might skip a couple of posts?

…don’t necessarily think that absolutely EVERYTHING George Bush ever did was 100% wrong?

…haven’t self-actualized yet? (Or are instructing everyone else on how to?)

…are actually happier with MORE money, than less?

…dislike Crunchy Granola?

…want to know what someone’s actual tax return looks like, when they claim they’ve earned “six figures” by blogging?

…think we don’t fully understand Global Warming yet, and that we should continue to examine both side of the argument?

…don’t understand the appeal of quitting a well-paid 9-to-5 cubicle job, in exchange to being being your own boss, working 70-hour weeks and starving?

…believe that self-improvement and inner peace can’t readily obtained by simply reading someone else’s “how-to” list?

…think Chat Rooms basically accomplished the same thing that Twitter does, only they did it 10 years ago?

…drives a car, eats red meat, and uses plastic grocery bags?

…thinks of “Social Media” as just fancy words for vegetating in front of a computer screen, and chatting to strangers we’ll never meet?

…doubt whether our lives can be changed by merely reading a few selectedwords from some famous person?

…don’t feel like paying $150 for an E-book that will be obsolete in 6 months.   Especially if you can get a similar hard-copy at a regular bookstore, for a fraction of the price.

…wonders that if we all want to earn a living sitting at our computers typing to each other, who will actually be out there farming the fields, maintaining the infrastructure and running the country?

…don’t want to be lectured to, inspired, or enlightened, but just want to be entertained?

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Grab Bag

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

41 Comments on “The Lonely Blogger”

  1. Karen JL Says:

    I know it may seem like the whole rest of the world is doing these things, when in fact the ‘internet people’ are quite a small minority.

    Go to the ‘outside world’ and ask if they know who Seth Godin or Brian Clark is. They don’t.

    (And stop using plastic grocery bags. Sheesh!)

  2. Brett Legree Says:

    Up to 93 percent of communication effectiveness is determined by nonverbal cues. The majority of online communication is nonverbal. The Pareto principle states that, for many events, roughly 80% of the effects come from 20% of the causes. If the Pareto principle applies to communication, why do we spend so much time using nonverbal techniques?

    (for anyone who knows me on Facebook, this was my status update yesterday)

    Oh yeah, and what Karen JL said… 0.001 percent – maybe – of the population knows about this stuff.

  3. Friar Says:

    @Karen
    Brian Clark? Huh? Who? (See, I’m not even in the loop, and I blog!)

    (And I save the grocery bags, and re-use them for other stuff).

    @Brett
    So what you’re saying is that in BlogoLand, we’re using a medium of communication that misses the whole point, 93% of the time.

    So much for Social Media, huh?

  4. XUP Says:

    Didn’t you just do a post berating, ridiculing and mocking all the other bloggers in the world?

  5. Friar Says:

    @XUP

    Yeah..but that was LAST week.

  6. Brett Legree Says:

    Never mind Brian Clark – the question is, “What would Brian Boitano do?”

    Exactly Friar – it’s been giving me a lot of thought lately.

    If the 80-20 rule says to focus 80 percent of your attention on the 20 percent of things that give you the biggest bang for your buck, why do people focus so much time on a form of communication that is largely ineffective?

    Whether I could get my point across in a video cast where I wave my hands around and grunt rather than speak is the subject of another conversation… but anyway :)


  7. Dang, you were describing me so well there… but I’m thinking if I like Just Bunches for breakfast, that might qualify as crunchy granola…?

    I always appreciate getting a refreshing dose of “Twitter isn’t God” from your posts. Thank you for maintaining sanity.

  8. hannah78 Says:

    I don’t really care about Twitter, but global warming is something I firmly believe in and the less time we spend arguing about it, the more time could be spent trying to reduce our impact on the environment.

  9. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Friar just pwned JHJ!


  10. Make some room under that palm tree, Friar, because I’m swimming out to that island to join you (I’ll bring beer and chocolate).

  11. Friar Says:

    @Brett
    Brian Boitano would blame Canada.

    Vikings would grunt and wave axes on a video. It would probably be very effective at intimidating the enemy.

    @Aylad
    A year from now, something ELSE will replace Twitter as the next “cool thing”. And so on…and so on…

    I just get so saturated with all this “Twitter Worship” that I need to vent about it once in a while.

    @Hannah
    I don’t think we should argue about Global Warming.

    Just that there’s conflicting evidence, new information is coming in. I think it needs an open and honest debate.

    It’s not about right or wrong, it’s just about practicing good science to fully understand the issues. Especially if we’re going to make decisions that will affect ouir whole society..

    That being said, we should still keep finding ways to cut down on burning hydrocarbons and reducing our impact on the environment, regardless. That’s just a no-brainer.

    @Eyeteaguy
    …probably half the Blogosphere, actually.

    @Rebecca
    If you could also bring a few burgers or a pizza, that would be just PERFECT. ;-)

  12. Mer Says:

    X don’t think Twitter is more important than the Second Coming? ((I still don’t really “get” Twitter.)

    X think a “meme” nothing but a glorified chain letter?

    X just for today, don’t feel like Saving the Planet?

    X aren’t Life Coaches?

    X really couldn’t give a flying fox fart when another blogger announces they might skip a couple of posts?

    X don’t necessarily think that absolutely EVERYTHING George Bush ever did was 100% wrong? (He did a few things right, but only a few and I can’t think of them offhand.)

    X haven’t self-actualized yet? (Or are instructing everyone else on how to?)

    X dislike Crunchy Granola?

    X want to know what someone’s actual tax return looks like, when they claim they’ve earned “six figures” by blogging?

    X think we don’t fully understand Global Warming yet, and that we should continue to examine both side of the argument? (Science: YAY!)

    X believe that self-improvement and inner peace can’t readily obtained by simply reading someone else’s “how-to” list? (LOL!)

    X think Chat Rooms basically accomplished the same thing that Twitter does, only they did it 10 years ago?

    X drives a car, eats red meat, and uses plastic grocery bags? (Except for the car, and sometimes the plastic bags because I have a backpack.)

    X thinks of “Social Media” as just fancy words for vegetating in front of a computer screen, and chatting to strangers we’ll never meet? (Did I mention I don’t get Twitter?)

    X doubt whether our lives can be changed by merely reading a few selectedwords from some famous person? (Hahahahahaha. It’s so not happening.)

    X wish it were so, but are skeptical that feeding a needy person only requires you to move your mouse and click on an icon?

    X don’t feel like paying $150 for an E-book that will be obsolete in 6 months. Especially if you can get a similar hard-copy at a regular bookstore, for a fraction of the price.

  13. Karen JL Says:

    @ Brett – Me and my guy were just discussing this stuff last night. We (you, me, Friar…anyone in this age bracket) are in a very interesting position. We remember the pre-internet age, but we are also internet savvy.

    The kids growing up now (yours included), it’s fully part of their lives. Teens today communicate almost exclusively by text and social media. And they truly think they are being ‘social’ this way.

    They think it’s perfectly normal to throw your whole private life all over the web. They can live in anonymity if they choose.

    I wonder what the social fabric of society will be, like in 20 years, if the population has no idea what ‘social’ truly means? Kinda scary.

    (OK, I’m being way too deep today…)


  14. Karen: As someone who grew up talking on the phone to my girlfriend every chance I got, imagine my surprise when I found out my students never talk on their cellphones. Many of them say that most of their cellphone “conversations” are 100% texting. You are so right that this new generation is very, very scary.

  15. Brett Legree Says:

    @Karen JL,

    Exactly – I was discussing this today with some co-workers too, at lunch time. Many younger people seem to have trouble talking face-to-face with each other. I wonder what that will do to relationships, where you actually have to do that :)

    Lots of ‘I luv U’ text messages in the bedroom perhaps?

    @Aylad,

    I liked your comment, because I don’t figure myself to be that old (okay, I’ll be 40 this year), but as a teenager I only used the telephone to arrange to meet friends. I never had long conversations on them, and I still don’t.

    Maybe I’m one order of magnitude further removed from text messages than you are!

    I like face-to-face chats if possible – so out of the “modern” internet-type communication methods, I really like video chat.

    I still don’t like telephones much though. I’m tempted to turn off the ringers on all of my phones.

  16. Friar Says:

    @Mer

    Wow…I haven’t had such an agreeable comment in a LONG time (I’m so used to Eyeteaguy trashing me).

    I’m not saying Bush was the best President…I’m not defending him. But he did do SOME things right (For example, increase the funding towards AIDS research).

    I’m sure there may be one or two other things. But nothing seems to come to mind right now.

    @Karen
    I’m almost exactly the same age as you. We’re starting to sound like old farts.

    I bet you in the 1950’s, parents were worrying about how “Television” would affect todays kids and their social skills.

    @Aylad and Brett
    I remember 2 years ago, being at a restaurant on top of a beautiful ski hill in BC.

    A bunch of teenagers walked in, sat down at the table to eat.

    You’d think they’d want to talk, and laugh and exchange jokes, and stories about the gaeat skiing they just did.

    Nope. The first thing they did was text-message. Apparently it was MORE IMPORTANT to text someone else about what they just did, than to talk to the person right next to them.

    DUH.

    (Well, for all I know, they could have been texting each other).

    Which would be even STUPIDER.

  17. Mer Says:

    @ Friar

    Oddly, Bush did some foreign policy thing in the Middle East that showed pragmatism. It had something to do with an Arab country and container ships, I think. Might have been Dubai or something.

    I’m a generally agreeable commenter. My worst failing is sticking up for the underdog. I’m trying to cut down. ;)

  18. Friar Says:

    @Mer
    See? There were at least TWO things Bush did right. There are probably more.

    It’s a refreshing change to have a pleasant commenter. I’ve had enough of the antagonistic ones for the time being. (not here, but elsewhere).

    Sigh. Sometimes I think Blogoland is just like High School, all over again.

  19. Karen JL Says:

    “I’ve had enough of the antagonistic ones…”

    Hello, kettle? It’s Friar. You’re black. ;)

  20. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    Love it. Agreed on almost every point. Don’t know about “happier”… but I’d be more “self-actualized” with more money.

    Whatever that is.

    Brett,

    First Brian Boitano joke I’ve heard in at least a decade. Don’t tell Friar—I laughed harder than at the post.

    Karen,

    Awesomesauce=You.

    Regards,

    Kelly

  21. Karen JL Says:

    @ Kelly – The “What would Brian Boitano do?” reference is actually a song from the South Park movie.

    Check it out: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pB-oiuPDnco

    It would make me all giddy inside if you did. :)

  22. Kelly Says:

    Karen,

    See, that’s how I know I am still too uncool to hang out here.

    Oh. My. Goodness. That was great. I had to watch it twice, because I was laughing so hard I missed parts of it.

    Someday I’ll return the favor, and link to some really hysterical Caillou-bit for ya.

    Okay, I won’t. ;)

    Until later,

    Kelly

  23. Karen JL Says:

    @ Kelly – You are now officially cool enough to hang out here. :)

    (Not that you weren’t already)

  24. Patricia Says:

    Thank you for the post which made me laugh…I am a twitter failure mind you. Thank you too Friar for commenting on Tom’s blog….it gets lonely there!..I promise some great pictures from his rather outstanding new “GREEN” Building he just went to the grand opening.

    Please don’t use plastic bags…even if you use them for other things…and you like to fish…they are just clogging up our lives and fish runs!

  25. Steph Says:

    Me, me, ME!!

    Er, except I *like* granola, dammit. Stop making fun.

  26. Friar Says:

    @Karen
    What you implyin’ there..that I’m some kind of POT?

    @Kelly
    You might also like this South Park reference to “Blame Canada”

    If you find something equally funny from Caillou, feel free to let me know. ;-)

    @Patricia
    Oh, don’t worry. There are no fish runs where I live.

    @Steph
    Um…I don’t think you eat red meat, either! ;-)

  27. Patricia Says:

    When I spend my 16th summer in Ottawa and Kenora, Ontario I had such yummy pickerel and pickerel cheeks…and we canoed all over the place – portaging the canoe…and I baked the bread on rocks with a small camp stove.
    When I went back for my Uncle’s memorial service and we hiked in the area there was no pickerel to buy, a forest fire had damaged the area and his cabin, and the problem in the hiking we were doing was plastic bags..and garbage – no people around but what a mess.

    You may not have fish runs but you got plastic bag garbage

  28. Friar Says:

    @Patricia
    I’m lucky…sometimes I can pop my canoe in the water right outside of town, and catch a pickerel for supper.

    We got no garbage bags were I live.

    Probably a few beer cans. There is a River Patrol that cleans them up.

  29. Patricia Says:

    Our lake lost it’s pet pooh clean up patrol due to budget cuts this week..

    Oh pickerel is so good particularly when you are out canoing

  30. Friar Says:

    @Patricia
    I went to a fishing lodge last summer, I caught 25 pickerel in 2 hours! It was awesome. (I only kept a few for a snack, though)

  31. Duane Says:

    I think this blog has has lost control. It is all over the place. Excellent, well done.

  32. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Lost control? It was never in control!

    Of course control is a state of mind. Like insanity.

    And we are a lttle nuts here at a minimum.

  33. Friar Says:

    @Duane
    I never did have control over this damn blog anyway.

    @Eyeteaguy
    See my comment, above.

  34. t. sterling Says:

    It’s been a while since I visited, but I’m glad I did. It was a great read and it kept me occupied as I enjoyed a delicious steak. And before I was done reading the post, I almost verbally said “Preach Friar, Preach!” to no one in particular. But I’m saying it here so I will be “heard.”

    I even feel like commenting towards the comments! Times are definitely changing, and I’m guilty of using my phone mostly for texting. I have one of those phones with the full keyboard and thumb-less gloves.

    But I sorta feel like I’m in your (and Karen and Brett) group remembering the pre-Internet day but also knowing a great deal about it. I literally grew up with computers and specifically the Internet. I don’t know everything, just enough to get by. I should probably write an eBook and be the very devil you speak of. But I won’t because I actually leave my computer for great portions of the day. Anyway, just agreeing to mostly everything you wrote, so you won’t be too lonely.

    And I don’t like anything granola.

  35. Friar Says:

    @t

    Hey, long time no see!(well, actually I bump into you on Twitter a lot).

    Yeah, people our age are old enough to know what it was like BEFORE the Internet. (I was almost 30 when Netscape Explorer came out). Life in the 80’s was reasonably similar to today’s, it wasn’t that primitive.

    As for technology, like I only need to know what I need to know. I don’t have the latest gadgets and stuff.

    For example, I don’t have an Ipod. Not because I’m afraid of one. But I already went through that phase in my life where I needed constant music (It was called a Sony Walkman).

    But I blog, occasionally waste time on Twitter, and I have a digital camera (just a camera, not a camera-cell phone). And that’s good enough for me right now.

  36. davinahaisell Says:

    What’s a life coach? ;-)

  37. Friar Says:

    @Davina

    I dunno…but seems you can’t shake a tree without a dozen falling out… ;-)


  38. The world would be a better place if more individuals were either planting their own gardens to grow their own food OR supporting their local CSA (consumer supported agriculture). Very few humans are currently involved in “farming the fields” and most of what is now grown is of poor nutritional quality compared to what homeowners or small farmers can grow.

    I honestly don’t know why so many think there is a difference between exchanging ideas on the Internet or phone versus doing it in person. I never feel the need to meet in person and have had many clients perfectly happy to hire me without having ever met me.

    Love your posts and your humor – and also love great quotes. I think of them as concise bits of wisdom. They only change those who think enough to understand them.

  39. Friar Says:

    @Internet Strategist
    Yeah…compare a fresh tomato you grow in your own garden, versus the pulpy tasteless kind you buy in the supermarket.

    Never used to care about gardening till I got a house with my own back yard. Now I love it.

    I’m glad you love my quotes. Just don’t take me too seriously…I certainly don’t! :-)

  40. Lisis Says:

    Where have you been all my life? Do you know how much saner I would feel right now had I discovered you sooner?!

    This is brilliant: “…don’t understand the appeal of quitting a well-paid 9-to-5 cubicle job, in exchange to being being your own boss, working 70-hour weeks and starving?”

    AMEN!

  41. Friar Says:

    @Lisis

    Problem is…if you question the status quo, and offer a different point of view on some comment discussions, the other bloggers tend to crucify you.

    This is why I’m not one of the “Cool Kids”. And I’m glad I’m not! ;-)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 71 other followers

