Inspiring Words to Live By

***************************

Creativity is the glue that binds our ideas together.
- Professor F. Meigh (Chudleigh University, 1973).

***************************

If you’re not amazed by Nature, then you should be.
- Berken Schnauzer (Nobel Prize in Physics, 1930).

***************************

Self-improvement is the whetstone on which we sharpen our characters.
- Anniston Parker (Memoirs of a Scullery Girl, 1834).

***************************

The secret to selling is not to give someone what they want…but to avoid giving them what they don’t want,
- P. J. Woolerston (20th Century Industrialist, 1905).

***************************

The greatest part of a journey is not the beginning, not the end, but the whole process.   The fact that we’re on a journey in the first place gives us hope, and gives us something to strive for.   After all, isn’t that what we’re put on this planet for?
- Stephanie Osterbach,  (Paralympic Decathalon Champion, 2003).

***************************

God may not play dice with the Universe, but he’s been known to go to Vegas for the weekend, and play the slots.
- Brian M. Teister (Professor of Quantum Physics, East Dundas University, 1983).

***************************

It matters little what our desires and needs are…the monsoon will always come, as will waves break on a distant shore.
- Bradha Vardanashaminaran  (Hindu Philosopher,   Quotes from Vishna Krishthar, 1328).

***************************

Saving the planet doesn’t take much effort.   If we each do a small part, together we can make a huge difference.
- Nadia Smith Sherlock (Co-found of Earth-Mother Enterprises, 2002).

***************************

The laughter of a child, the love of a good woman, and sinking a birdie putt.  That’s what life is all about.
- Dick Weede (PGA Champion, 1934).

***************************

I made up all these quotes, just now.
- Friar (The Deep Friar Blog, 2009).

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Grab Bag

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

29 Comments on “Inspiring Words to Live By”

  1. XUP Says:

    Well, F. Meigh! You really put the Deep in the Deep Friar.

  2. Mike Says:

    I cheated.

    I read the last quote fist. ;)

    (I’m not a fan of quotes and famous sayings — that’s why I skipped to the end: To see if there was anything worthwhile ;) )

  3. Mike Says:

    oops! “fist” should be “first.”

  4. Friar's Mom Says:

    @ Wee Friar,
    “There is no such whetstone, to sharpen a good wit and encourage a will to learning, as is praise.” Roger Ascham (1515-1568). He taught Queen Elizabeth I, when she was a young girl.

    Your third quotation is so similar to his. Art thou unaware that thou art brilliant, doth thou plagarize, or do great minds thinketh alike?

  5. Friar Says:

    @XUP
    Professor Meigh is one of my favorite mentors. I’m so glad they finally gave him tenure.

    @Mike
    As you can probably guess, I feel the same way about quotes as you do. If I can write these in my sleep…just how HARD can it be? ;-)

    Bet you know one quotes me 100 years from now, though.

    @Friar’s Mom
    Honest! I had NO IDEA that Roger Ascham said that. (In fact, I never heard of that dude, until you mentioned it, just now!)

    Um…sure….the fact that he and I think alike could be a sign that I’m brilliant.

    Or…it could be a sign that he was also good at making up stuff off the top of his head, like I can. ;-)

  6. Liz Says:

    @Friar
    Can’t hide nuttin’ from mom :grin:

    Professor Meigh and Dick Weede :lol: My fav quote was Brian M. Teister’s.

    I like quotes–particularly from Mark Twain. :shock:

    I hear that Professor Meigh has quite the following. And I’d bet that you’ll be quoted sooner than you think. :wink:

  7. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    You are wicked. As always.

    I love Dr. Schnauzer’s quote. Clearly, he is a genius. ;)

    Regards,

    Kelly

  8. Friar Says:

    @Liz
    Yes, I can never pull a fast one over Friar’s Mom. Even after 44 years. ;-)

    @Kelly
    Maybe Dr. Schnauzer is just stating the blatantly obvious. ;-)

    And by the way, did anyone notice that Nadia Smith’s intials are N. S. Sherlock (as in “No Sh*t”)?

  9. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    You know the funny thing about “the blatantly obvious”?

    It ain’t so obvious to most. That’s why I love that one, even though it was written tongue-in-Schnauzercheek.

    Until later,

    Kelly

  10. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    Oh, definitely. When reading this post, consider that the “author” had his tongue deeply inserted in his cheek. Served with several grains of salt, as well. ;-)

    I really would like to believe I’m brilliant, and that these complex thoughts come to me like second nature. I really would.

    But I think the reality is that (as I’ve said before), it’s just not that HARD to write an insirational phrase.

    Where’s Eyeteaguy? Normally, by this time, he’d be taking me down a few pegs.

  11. Friar's Mom Says:

    @Wee Friar,

    I Googled Roger Ascham. It looks like he too was a bit of a maverick like you.

  12. mehculpa Says:

    I really like the one about God playing slots. I think it is probably true.(Also, it sounds a little like Game Theory. But I majored in English and History so what do I know?)

  13. mehculpa Says:

    Ooops, that was me.

    Mer

  14. Friar Says:

    @Friar’s Mom
    WHERE do you come up with all this info? (Aren’t you too busy cycling and setting your trap lines?)

    @Mer
    “…so what do I know?”.

    Probably more than than me! ;-)

  15. Friar's Mom Says:

    @Wee Friar
    I couldn’t cycle with the Olde Phartes today, because of medical appointment this a.m. I’ll be on my bike within 15 minutes.

    I find time because I multi-task. I Googled the info while eating a very late breakfast. I gotta learn sumthin new each day.

    Just got my Income Tax done. Darn Govmint got a good chunk of my money. Ticks me off. but serves me right for not pre-paying my tax in installments during year.

  16. Friar Says:

    @Friar’s Mom
    What you might call multi-task, other people migth call “avoidance of housework” or “procrastination”.

    But that’s okay…I’m the same way.

    Like Mother, Like Son.

  17. Eyeteaguy Says:

    You had me all inspired to write a novel and run a marathon until I realized that you are still full of manure.

    Now I’m going to sit here and fuze into my chair. If I get nothing done today, its your fault.

    Eyeteaguy

  18. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy

    Aw…c’mon. Then at least go for a jog or something.

  19. Eyeteaguy Says:

    No, its ok, you’ve made your point, there is no point. I’m reverting back to an invertibrate as we speak.

  20. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy

    If it’s any consolation, I won’t train for a marathon today either. Might just sit on the porch, and drink some beer.

  21. davinahaisell Says:

    Oh, Friar… you’re passing over to the dark side I think. You keep me young… for every post of yours I’ve read, I’ve probably added a year to my lifespan. Doesn’t help the wrinkles unfortunately, but oh well.

  22. Friar Says:

    @davina
    Oh, I’m not passing over to the dark side.

    I AM the Dark Side. ;-)

    Strong in you, the Force is. Join us, you must.


  23. Aaaah, you totally got me. I’m such a sucker.

    Your mom is rad.

    I am hooked on this word “whetstone.” Haven’t heard that before. Will have to incorporate it in my daily usage.

    Pardon me for being brief, but I must go and wash my whetstone now.

  24. Friar Says:

    @Jaden

    Heheh. I always inveigle at least one person when I post these!

    Inveigle. That’s another word that needs to see more use in our everyday language.

  25. mehculpa Says:

    Inveigle

    @ Friar

    I had forgotten all about inveigle and had to look it up to remind myself. I used to use it. Might even have done so in front of my kids. I agree it should be within common usage. The more puritanical Americans among us might swoon in horror, however. All that beguiing, you know.

  26. mehculpa Says:

    Darn it.

    * beguiling

    I didn’t sneak that l in fast enough.

    Mer

  27. Friar Says:

    @Mer

    For some reason, I was really into using the word “inveigle” in my senior year of high school.

    I think ‘coz our teacher used it and we always made fun of him.

    Beguiling, isn’t it? :-)

  28. Eyeteaguy Says:

    I dare you to write aa post using common words no longer than 6 characters, I mean letters, I mean type.

    ITguy

  29. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy
    Well, then WHAT fun is THAT?

    Then how am I supposed to appear smart and wordly…if I dont’ used 5-syllable words?


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

