This is my Brain in Neutral

When my mind wanders, I tend to doodle.   I don’t know why…my brain just feels “right” when it draws certain shapes.

I’ve been doodling since Elementary school.  I’ve done it all the way through High School and ten years of University degrees.   And I still do it today.

Especially during boring conferences or meetings.   The more bored I am…the better the artwork.

I recently came across these in my old files.    I don’t’ know exactly when I did them.    Years ago.

But looking at the quality of the sketches,  you can only guess how STIMULATING it was to be there, at the time.

obsessive-doodle-3

obsessive-doodle-1

obsessive-doodle-4

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Artwork

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

14 Comments on “This is my Brain in Neutral”

  1. Liz Says:

    Hmmmm…a snake blowing bubbles through a pipe, a singing dog, hearts with hands,lips with legs, a hand, a foot, and an eyeball hot air balloon; I wonder what Freud would say. :lol:

    I find that second one intriguing. I wonder what that says about my mind or my taste in art.

  2. Friar Says:

    @Liz
    I have lots of doodles like that. Don’t ask me WHY my brain draws those things. It just does. Like a random thought generator.


  3. These are the answers to life! Organized chaos.
    Love ‘em. Thanks for sharing.
    I am a doodler too; get a little embarrassed when they are left around work, they must look weird next to the phone, eh?

  4. Friar Says:

    @Jaden

    I’m pretty blatant about it…I’ll scribble in meetings. But I still listen and ask pertinent questions, so nobody’s called me on it

    (…yet!)

  5. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Man you are one uck-fayed dude. Geez, think of what you could have accomplished instead. And of course the earth is screaming, wasted paper, ink that can’t be recycled. Shameful really.

    But the sad part is you felt the need to inflict it upon the rest of u. S’matter? Couldn’t think of anything intelligent to write about.

    Eyeteaguy

  6. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy

    You’re right, of course.

    Shame on me for displaying my art.

    I should strive to write more frequently, and post what I write. At least as often as you and Brett do.

  7. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Oh yeah! We’re such excellent examples! I don’t even believe half the crap I write. I believe 3/4 of the stuff you do so you’re 25% better than me.

  8. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy

    I think we should look at it from the opposite point of view, and our numbers would look more positive.

    For example, you and I are both 100% full of crap.

  9. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Actually I am full of shit. You are full of crap and Brett is just full.

    I guess its better than some folks who are just full of themselves.

    Eyeshitguy

  10. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy
    I actually prefer to be full of “guvna”. (The Polish word for shit). To honor my heritage.

  11. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Ok, name all the words for shit. I’ll start.
    Pooh
    crap
    manure
    doo-doo
    cah-cah
    feces

    Your turn.

  12. Friar Says:

    Doodie
    Boom-boom
    Hershey Squirts
    Merde
    Loaf (as in pinching one off)
    Number Two
    Fudge

    Wet Farts (well, that last one is kind of on the verge of being shit).

  13. louise Says:

    Ha. Glad to see someone else who doodles to this extreme during meetings. I think it helps occupy the part of our brains that wants to wander and daydream (or perhaps nap) so that we can actually pay attention to what’s being said. I call mine “mood abstracts” as you can tell what the mood of the meeting was by what I drew.

  14. Friar Says:

    @Louise

    I think it’s my brain’s defense mechanism. If I don’t’ distract myself from what’s being said at meetings and lectures, I think I’ll want to gouge my eyes out or something.

    Nice to meet a fellow doodler who “gets it”, though. ;-)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

