Life Imitates Art

The other day, I posted some Friar-O-Lantern cartoons.   One made a reference to 2001 Space Odyssey:

Pod-Bay Cartoon

Well, last night, after the trick-or-treating was done and his kids in bed, Brett came over, and he brought over a real-life version.

Pod Bay Doors_1

Best.    Friar-O-Lantern.  Ever.

Well done, Brett.     (He even got the quote right).  Eyeteaguy will be proud.

It was the perfect accessory to our decadent evening of beer,  Zesty-Mordant Nachos,  left-over candy and a bad Zombie movie.

Pod Bay Beer

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Grab Bag

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

14 Comments on “Life Imitates Art”

  1. Brett Legree Says:

    Geez, I have to be the first to comment :) a bit of back story, one of the kids kicked this particular pumpkin off the steps last week, before I carved it.

    So it had a little “wound” about centre of the elliptical hole I ended up carving in it.

    That part started to soften and rot a bit. I didn’t know how I’d carve it up but then when I saw the Friar-O-Lantern… perfect for a geek like me.

  2. Karen JL Says:

    @ Brett – GEEK! ;)

  3. Brett Legree Says:

    You know it baby… ;)

  4. Eyeteaguy Says:

    I used to have a boss named Dave, he also liked 2001.

    But he used to hate coming into my office to ask me to do somehting. “I’m sorry Dave, but I’m afraid I can’t do that”

    EyeHALguy

    P.S. Nice pumpkin, gib it to me.

  5. Karen JL Says:

    “These are the Daves I know, I know…these are the Daves I know…”

  6. Donald Mills Says:

    Looking forward to more Friar-o-lanterns next year. Hope you had a good halloween

  7. Davina Says:

    Friar… Mmmm Caramilk AND Zesty Nachos.

    @Brett… you’ve done the environment proud, recycling that damaged pumpkin for the good of art. Nicely done! :D

  8. Brett Legree Says:

    @Davina,

    Hey, I have to make up for my dog ownership (I read recently, someone was trying to say owning a dog has a greater footprint than owning an SUV… to which I say “bullshit” but anyway…)

  9. Friar Says:

    @Brett
    That Brett-O-Lantern made my Halloween!

    @Karen
    I thought I was the GEEK!

    Next thing you know, you’ll be calling Brett an Enema Bag.

    @Eyeteaguy
    If you want it, I can mail it to you (though it might get a little smelly).,

    Better yet, how about we put together a few coat-hangers and a plastic man, and sell it as a “2001 Space Odyssey” kit for $29.99.

    @Don
    The trick-or-treating part of the Halloween kind of sucked. Like I commented on your blog, I only had 8 kids, and they were all teenagers. Most of them without costumes.

    But the evening was a lot more fun after Brett showed up with his pumpkin, and we drank beer and watched scary movies.

    Too bad you didn’t live closer. We’d have had you over for a few glasses of rye. I think you’d enjoy an evening chatting with us.

    @Davina

    And you forgot the BEER…Mmmm. Chocolate. Nachos. And Beer. A winning combination.

    And of course, the left-over candy’s half price today.

    @Brett
    Walt does this a lot of little carbon-based piles everywhere. But as much as an SUV? No, somehow I doubt that.

    I bet you the people who say that are the Big Oil Companies, and the Hummer Dealers.

  10. Karen JL Says:

    @ Brett – ENEMA BAG! (Friar made me)

    (Did anyone catch my ‘Kids in the Hall’ reference? I need validation.)

  11. Friar Says:

    @Karen

    Ahh..so THAT’s where I heard that from!

    (Sorry, it’s been a while since I saw that show).

    Now…I’m SQUISHING your HEAD!

  12. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Best version ever!

  13. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy

    AHAHAHAHHAH!

    Oh, Lord.

    That is SO bad.

    And I can identify. I used to be in a really shitty school band too.

    (I played clarinet, if you can believe that). And I was almost as good as the kids in that video.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

