Monday Night Art Class: WHAT…are you DOING?

A few months ago, I was babysitting my neighbors’ dog.

One evening, while I was at my computer, I found things were quiet…TOO quiet.

So I went into the next room and found guess who lying on the couch?

I pretended to be mad, and demanded:   “WHAT….are you DOING? “

Poor dog!  He looked so sheepish and pathetic, I just had to snap this photo.

What IMG_9260

It cracks me up every time I see it.  Especially the tail, which is out of focus, on account of his wagging it.

Tonight, I decided to do a quick portrait.

Carson

Watercolor is so unforgiving when it comes to animals and people.   A few wrong strokes, and you can ruin the whole thing.

A tricky part was the dog’s shape in the photo is was mostly a black blob.   But I couldn’t paint it that way, or it would look two-dimensional.

So I lifted out some of the areas and lightened them with the brown, to hint at the dog’s muscles and shoulders.

I used a knife blade to scrape the shape of the dog chain around his neck, as well as make the white dots of the reflected light in his eyes.  And I opted for a monochrome background (there was no way I was going to paint every stripe on that blanket!)

I”m reasonably please how it turned out.

Though I think I made the dog look happier in the painting than he was in the photo.

PS.  In case you’re worried about the poor critter being traumatized, not to worry.

Uncle Friar is a BIG sucker when it comes to dogs.

So of course I let him stay on the couch.

z

z

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Artwork

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

4 Comments on “Monday Night Art Class: WHAT…are you DOING?”

  1. Momlady Says:

    He looks so real in the painting! Excellent job. And you did a great job of catching the expression on his face.

  2. Dot Says:

    This is a “quick” painting? It’s great! You should paint more animals (and people, too).

  3. Wendi Kelly Says:

    love the dog painting, you should do more animals!

  4. Friar Says:

    @MomLady
    Thanks..! Though I think he looks a bit happier in the painting. :)

    @Dot
    Ooooh…people are HARD. I’ve only done a couple…it’s painfully difficult!

    @Wendi
    Thanks! Dogs are tricky. So far I’m batting about 0.500….I get half of them wrong. But I agree..I should try more animals.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

