Watercolor #2: Colorado Aspen

colorado_aspen_df.jpg

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Artwork

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “Watercolor #2: Colorado Aspen”

  1. Nancy Says:

    You painting again?? Still?? Very nice!!

  2. Peter Says:

    Too many trees 🙂

  3. Friar Says:

    Thanks Nancy.

    Yep, I’m painting, still. (Except during the summer, when I’m fishing).

    And Thank You, Peter. I would have also accepted “too green” or “too straight”


  4. Just this afternoon I tried to paint these type of trees in watercolour, I have great trouble getting the trunk colouring to look realistic. I loved your picture. Was the foliage shades of sap green?

  5. Friar Says:

    Thanks for the compliment! This painting’s a “keeper” that I dont’ think I’ll ever want to sell.

    Yep…everything was done mostly with Sap Green. With touches of Van Dyke Brown, Cobalt Blue, Paynes Grey and (probably) Cadmium Yellow. I find if you mix in those shades with Sap Green, you can get the whole range of colors you see in a forest.

    As for the tree trunks, I left them mostly white. To get the 3-D effect, I made the shadow part (on the right of the trunks) with a light wash of Paynes gray/Van Dyke Brown.


  6. Thankyou for helping Friar,it gives me the initiative to try again.

  7. svc Says:

    I really like this painting; I can see why it is a keeper for you.


Leave a Reply

