Lookit what I can do….

I’m constantly hearing about everyone else’s fantastic accomplishments.

“….I’m building a guest house for my cottage….I ran 24 kilometers today with a split time of 1 hour and 25.2376 minutes…My 4 month ski holiday in BC was fanatsitc…I just bought a new bike…We’re taking the kids to Disneyland this year…”    Yadda, yadda, yadda.

Well, I watched 4.5 hours of TV last night.

I bought two shirts on sale for $29.99.

I’ve been to Clontarf, Ontario.

And yesterday I had a really good dump.

 Yep.   I’m UNDERACHIEVING…and Proud of It!

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Grab Bag

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Lookit what I can do….”

  1. Ellen Wilson Says:

    Hey! Now I know how to make millions with my photos!

    I could do:

    Underachievement is Zen. But people wouldn’t get it.

    We used to have tails. But people wouldn’t like it.

    How about:
    Tail less simplicity for over achieving monkeys:
    To get to the fruit you must go out on a limb
    Evolution or death

    I kind of like it. I could turn it into a poem and send it into some unpretentious lit mag with a sense of humor.

    Yeah, we take ourselves too seriously.

  2. Friar Says:

    Ellen

    Your photos are good. If you found the right market, there probably would be a way for you to make some money.

    You’re right, though. Your captions are “too intelligent” for the average management-drone. You’d either have to dummy them down, or pick a smaller market (The minority of us that “get it”).

    Actually I was in a meeting this morning, and I saw a motivational poster on the wall. (I never noticed it before). It was of a frozen tree, with ice covering it’s branches. The caption said “Teamwork”.

    WTF does this have to do with “Teamwork”? (Which only re-inforces what I’ve been saying about these stupid posters).

  3. Ellen Wilson Says:

    The elements gang up to kill the tree by snapping its branches off. Teamwork. But I suppose it is meant to mean something meditative about the seasons all working together in harmony.

    Now I’m going to be on the lookout for these posters. And now I’m going to be thinking of all the socio-political tie-ins for teamwork. Anyway, I got your RSS now, and now I will be investigating the comment feed thing. Thanks. E

  4. Friar Says:

    Ellen

    I think they could have used any word with the frozen tree poster. Serenity. Trust. Motivation. Endurance…etc.

    I think “Death” or “Stagnation” could have worked equally well.

    Uh oh. Is it possible that I’ve planted an idea in your head? It seems your perception about those Motivational Posters has changed slightly.

    It kind of reminds me of the magic goggles in the movie “They Live” (if you’ve seen it). Brett and I think that movie is a classic.


  5. Whoa! 4.5 hours…really?!

    I went digging in your blog to see if I could find an obvious clue about who I’m talking to. I didn’t find what I was looking for, but couldn’t resist commenting on my birthday. 🙂

  6. Friar Says:

    @April

    Happy belated birthday! (I had almost forgotten about this old post).

    Yeah, 4.5 hours of TV.

    I dont’ do it all the time.

    But sometime I’m so active and busy (from the previous weekend, for example). I don’t get much sleep and every so often, I burn out (too tired to do anything else). I just vedge on the couch, and recharge my batteries.


Leave a Reply

