Motivational Posters for Dummies

I never understood the appeal of those motivational posters that people pay big bucks for.  Do these pictures actually inspire anyone?  Or do the office-keeners just hang them on their cubicle wall, because that’s what they’re expected to do, to demonstrate “leadership” and to impress others?

Because frankly, I think these posters are bullshit.  In my opinion, almost idiot can make up a motivational poster, and I’ll prove it right now. 

Pick any photo you like, put it on Abode Photoshop, and add some touchy-feely words in italics.  

That’s it.  That’s the secret. 

For example, here’s a vacation snapshot I took of the Oregon coast, to which I’ve added some words which I made up on the spur of the moment:

 

Ooooh…now isn’t that DEEP?    If you were my boss and I put this up on my wall, wouldn’t you think I was a pro-active motivated team player? 

Now remember, people, I’ve been making these up on the spot.  There was little or no thought put into this.  

Let’s try another.  Something a bit more inspirational, for the spiritually-minded:

 

You know, I surprise even myself that I’ve been able to come up with these so quickly. (In fact, it’s taking longer to enter everything onto my Blog than it was to Photo-shop these pictures).

Wheeee!  I’m having fun.  This is too easy!   Let’s try another:

 

 Sniff, sniff.  (Okay, I know there is a grammar mistake, but I’m still getting all choked up.)   Oprah herself would be reduced to tears.

Notice how I’ve been using the same photo.    That’s what’s great about motivational posters.   The relationship between the pictures and the words is totally irrelevant.  Anything works.   See?….

 

Now tell me that isnt’ just as good as something you’d order from expensive office supply store.  (Geez, I should be a consultant, and get paid big bucks for this!)

I can also have a bit of fun and make a smart-ass poster like they do in Despair Inc. (which is actually a hilarious site worth checking out). 

Heh heh heh.  Personally, I like this last one the best.   At least it’s honest.

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Miss Management

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “Motivational Posters for Dummies”

  1. Brett Legree Says:

    Friar,

    Thanks for the track back (and the beer) – I’m thinking I might print out and put up the second last one in my office today…

  2. Friar Says:

    I can send you a better resolution picture from home.

    (Actually, I might want to put up one of these myself).

    Franklin Covey would be proud. So would Oprah.

  3. PJ Says:

    Bud (er Friar)
    You used the wrong greatful – that’s what happens when you drink and type.

    What also works is to take lines from a Beatles song (one that Ringo didn’t write) and put them on the picture – just make sure that Yoko doesn’t sue your ass.

    Pictures of children and dogs also work well – always motivates me to see a drooling Newfie!

    I think you should make some and distribute to the old folks in Splattsville to make up for all of the problems you’ve caused in town.

  4. Friar Says:

    Heh heh…Hi, “PJ”. Welcome to my blog.

    Ooops…a grammar mistake on one of my posters. (Oh, well, I was half-drunk at the time).

    Well, Ringo wrote “Octopus’ Garden”, and “Don’t pass me by”. Those lyrics arent’ any more weird than “I am the Walrus”.

    If Yoko had a poster, it woud say “AI AI AI EEEEEEEE”.

    The kids pictures that inpsire me is when I ask them to scream really loud (till you can see their tonsils) and then I snap the photo. Those go right into the “Treasured Moments” album.

    As for the old folks in Splat Creek, I ain’t done with them yet. I’ve already planned my next editorial (I’ll have to wait a week to see if it gets published).


  5. Hehehe…I see that I seriously need to subscribe to your funny wisdom. I came by to check out your blog (finally) yes I know you can kick me some and now I’m going to hit that orange button…

    I’ll be back!

  6. Friar Says:

    Hi Monika

    Welcome to the world of Friar. Glad I’m providing amusement to some of you out there.

    This blogging thing is quite new to me, I have no idea where it’s going….but I know that I’m having a lot of fun.

  7. tharani Says:

    IF SOME ONE CAN DO, WHY WE CAN’T DO?


Leave a Reply

