Watercolor #8. Flight over Wrangell St. Elias

This was from a photo I took out of an airplane, on a scenic flight I took over Alaska a few years back…

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Artwork

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

12 Comments on “Watercolor #8. Flight over Wrangell St. Elias”

  1. justwilliams Says:

    This is impressive. Well done!

  2. Friar Says:

    Thanks!

    I find the winter scenes tricky in watercolors. To make white, you have to leave the paper blank, and paint around it.

    But this is one of my favorites. It’s hanging on my wall at home and I’d never sell it.

  3. neyellen Says:

    What? It’s watercolor? Amazing! When will you be coming to an artshow near me? Will you sell me one of your paintings?

  4. neyellen Says:

    It looks more like an acrylic or oil. But yeah, if I look closely I can see the watercolor. Excellent.


  5. Wow, that’s so cool (no pun intended). I’ve always wished I could paint and draw but a girl only has time for so many hobbies!

  6. neyellen Says:

    Check that out! That is interesting how this transferred over here when I posted your link at my site. Learn something new everyday.

  7. Friar Says:

    @ Neyellen. Thanks. I sell my work from time to time, word of mouth. I hang in the odd art gallery or local art show, but nothing too serious.

    I’m toying with the idea of trying this “painting a day” stuff. Mabye eventually get off WordPress and start my own private blog site, and sell some of my stuff on-line. Eventually. When I do, I’ll keep everyone posted.

    @Mellisa. I agree…there is only so much time for hobbies. (For example, I was thinking of painting this weekend, but I ended up writing instead.). It’s hard to manage both.

  8. Ellen Says:

    That sounds like a great idea Friar. Melissa is right, it is hard to manage both. I have a hard time with photography and writing.

  9. Friar Says:

    I’m just imagining if I didnt’ have a day job. I’d paint, write, fish and hike..and STILL have time left over.

    Wouldnt’ it be AWESOME if we could all do what we loved (while still earning a living)?


  10. You are very talented Friar. I’m into painting myself but I use acrylics. This is soo cool, looks like a photo really.

  11. Friar Says:

    @Monika

    Hooray! Another painter! Cool!

    I always considered toying with acrylics. But there are only so many hours in the day….In fact, blogging is starting to cut into my painting time. Wish I didnt have to go to work…


Leave a Reply

