Watercolor #9. Yukon in the Fall

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Artwork

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

25 Comments on “Watercolor #9. Yukon in the Fall”

  1. Mania Says:

    Driving along the Dempster is an incredible experience. We enjoyed the fantastic colourful sea of wild flowers, and constant daylight in July. Wish we could have seen the magnificent colours of autumn, illustrated in your painting.

  2. Friar Says:

    Thanks for stopping by Mania.

    Yeah, these colors are so vibrant, it looks like I made them up. But I did’t. That’s what it actually looked like and it blew my mind.

    Autumn is a very short even in the Arctic. From the beginning of the color change, to peak colors, to everything turning brown and dead took less than 2 weeks.

  3. wendikelly Says:

    Friar,

    That’s cool. I Do watercolors. Someday Ill show you mine.

  4. Friar Says:

    Another painter? Hooray! (I’m not alone!)

    Yeah, I’d love to see them.


  5. Oh, the colors in this painting are absolutely stunning. I’m not much of an artist but this makes me want to break out my watercolor pencils and give it a whirl! Have you ever checked out a site called Etsy? I think it’s a site where artists and crafters sell their wares.

  6. llchrisll Says:

    Excellent watercolor. Very beautiful and inviting. Thanks for sharing your artwork its great

  7. Ellen Wilson Says:

    Friar, it’s Magnifique. The extent of my French. I’m too tired to say anything intelligent today.

    I like the green tones you added to the mountains. It really adds to the color in the foreground.

    Now I have to go hand the computer over to my daughter so she can play Disney games. Oh, she’s an artist too. I think I will have her guest blog at my site. She got all excited when I said I was going to put her picture on the computer. E

  8. Friar Says:

    @Melissa
    No, I didnt’ even know the Etsy site existed! I’m going to have to check it out. Thanks!

    @Chris
    Thanks for the compliment, and drop by anytime 🙂

    @Ellen
    Ohh La La (Tabernack!). That’s my French (but I do know more). You’ve been intelligent enough all week..it’s the weekend, time to turn our brains off and re-charge the batteries.

    Aww..you’re good Mom…I think it’s great to encourage your kids’ creativity like that.

  9. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    What a lovely painting! It reminds me of the area on the New York/Vermont border where my parents live. Cool colors and fiery vegetation at the same time. Wow, I’m homesick for their home and homesick for a season all at once. Thanks for posting it!

    Regards,

    Kelly

  10. Friar Says:

    @Kelly.

    If I had to pick a State to live in, Upstate New York or Vermont would rank right up there. It’s a 6-7 hour drive from Splat Creek but I try to get down there once or twice a year. I love hiking in the Adirondacks and there is some great skiing. Actually, I just spent Easter weekend at Sugarbush and Mad River Glen!

  11. Ellen Wilson Says:

    I’m wondering if my picture will show up now since I uploaded it into Monika’s blog via some kind of yahoo thing. Testing, testing….

  12. Ellen Wilson Says:

    Oh well. I hate being the shadow creature lurking in the bushes. I’ll figure it out eventually.

  13. Friar Says:

    Ellen.

    As a certified computer dummy, I have no clue how these things work. I loaded my own Avatar and WordPress did the rest.

    Brett…!!! Help!

  14. Brett Legree Says:

    @Ellen,

    I used Gravatar http://en.gravatar.com/ since it is supposed to follow you around no matter where you go… well, so far it seems to work.

    @Friar – and that is a kick ass painting. Good show.

  15. Friar Says:

    @Brett.

    That painting was always one of my favorites. I sold it to a relative (so at least I still get to see it).

    I almost regret selling it, but I end up with so many, I can’t just keep them all. They just end up sitting in a box.

  16. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    Bring Brett and we’ll all have coffee sometime. My parents are in Hampton, on the border with little Poultney, VT. (About six hours from me.) It’s lovely there. They own a little motel. I spend about half the summer up with them. Long drive for coffee, though… I’ll have to make muffins.

    🙂

    Until later,

    Kelly

  17. Friar Says:

    Heck, New England isnt’ that far. I’ll probably be going up there at least once between now and Labor day.

    Now, if I can just convince Brett to pry himself away from his litter of kids…

  18. Kelly Says:

    What, six hours in car with four little urchins yelling about needing a potty doesn’t appeal to you? I’ve done it for years and survived, of course I only have one…

    🙂

  19. Friar Says:

    With medication, and/or restraints, it can be done. 🙂

    This is why I’m an “Uncle” and not a Dad.

  20. Kelly Says:

    Who gets medicated, you or them?

    Be true to yourself, but I can tell you, kids only change things for the better. Mostly. 🙂

  21. Friar Says:

    ….both of us would get medicated. I couldnt’ be restrained though (I”d have to drive the car!)

    There are two types of families here in Splat Creek. Double-income married PhD couples (working at the Widget Factory). And local yokels with Grade 10 educations who’ve been married since 17.

    It’s either A or B. Not too many in-between people like me. It dosent’ leave too much available, on the dating front.

    Being single in my early 40’s, if I find a woman my age here, I could end up being an Instant Grand Dad. (Ouch!)

  22. wendikelly Says:

    Friar,

    I just got married in August to John,
    (The one who commented to you last night not to let your head nod forward on my blog)

    He is 42 and had never been married, never had kids. He is NOW the DADof 4 and the GRANDFATHER of 2.
    Zero to sixty in the blink of an I DO.
    Better keep your sense of humor. 🙂

  23. Friar Says:

    Well, I’m not saying I wouldn’ consider going from zero to sixty. …but it would have to be someone very VERY special in order for me to consider that.

    Lucky, John has found that someone. I should be so lucky. 🙂

  24. visionpoints Says:

    Friar,

    So all you have to do is find a single widgeter. If it were that simple, Brett would have hooked you up already. Married guys love to spread the… joy… of marriage to their friends, so you can have more to talk about at the pub.

    Wendi,

    If I were a guy and I got to marry you, I’d take instant great-grandpa. I suspect instant grandpa is scarier when ladies are fishing with less gorgeous bait. 🙂

    Later,

    Kelly

  25. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    Problem with living in Splat Creek is that it’s such a small town. If you start dating someone, you better marry them! Otherwise, when you break up, then the WHOLE TOWN will eventually know who-did-what and who-said-what.

    As for single widgeters…there are a few. A rare few. Some women tried to set me up with one…once. And (sorry to say), they might as well have set me up with a dude. But that’s for another story. 🙂


Leave a Reply

