Cubicle Envy…

NOT that this necessarily has anything to do with where I work.  No, sirree.  This is purely hypothetical.

Pretend you were in an office.  Somewhere.  Anywhere.

What if you sat at your desk, and with your left hand you were able to touch your co-worker’s desk?

What if with your right hand, you could touch boxes of paper and junk piled next to you?

What if there wasn’t a single empty drawer or shelf, where you could put your personal belongings (or work-related documents, for that matter)?

What if this was your work space?

What if you actually ENVIED the people with cubicles, because at least they had WALLS and some semblance of privacy!?

If this was your office (theoretically)…

…wouldn’t that…um…I dunno…REALLY SUCK?

NOT that this has anything to do with where I work.  No, not at all.

I’m just askin’  ...that’s all.

 

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Miss Management

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

7 Comments on “Cubicle Envy…”

  1. vimoh Says:

    Good thing this is not your workplace. That would really suck. Has happened to me before. I feel your pain. 🙂

    PS: Came from Brett’s blog.

  2. Brett Legree Says:

    @Friar,

    Good thing this isn’t my workplace either 😉 because it would really suck…

    @vimoh,

    Glad you jumped over here to see what Friar’s all about… I’m sure you’ll have more than a few laughs!

  3. Ellen Wilson Says:

    Just wanted to let you know that 6 of your comments were askimetted. I decide to turn askimet, the noun, into a verb. I re-installed them all.

    I’ve done this kind of thing before, and it’s not good for productivity. Some people, alpha hissing prick pilot people, sometimes take up all the space because they feel entitled to it.

    Friar, this is one of the reasons I became a wildlife biologist. To get away from people. Now I’m back in the thick of it. Back with my species. Homo Sapien barely erectus.

    Oh, and I did get some pictures of Geese today. One actually hissed at me. The little gosling friends are naive, but seem to have an instinctual sense they might get eaten by the photographer.


  4. Ouch!

    For every job I have interviewed, I always ask, “May I see where I will be working?” If they don’t show me or it is a space like that (which I have seen), I turn down the offer. Boy have I worked in some bad cubicles though! And some good ones — like the ones from where you can see a window through your boss’s door! Those are pretty sweet. *wink*

  5. Friar Says:

    @Vimoh. Yes, GOOD THING it’s not where I work, eh? (PS…Welcome to the Deep Friar! Hope you pop in again soon!)

    @Brett. Yes. Good thing too, eh? (PS. Where is your desk?)

    @Ellen. I work with a sub-species. Homo Knobulis Dickus.

    Watched the Canada Geese land on a pond with my Mom a couple of weeks ago. Hundred buzzing all over the Convervation Area.

    One hissed at you…NO WAY!? 🙂

    @Jaden
    Yes, “ouch”, theoretically. IF that was where I worked 🙂

    That’s a good point. Asking to see your workplace. I’ll have to remember that.

    I’m just an Engineer with 10 years of experience. Mabye if I work hard and keep my nose clean, in a few years I’ll merit the same office space as the junior bean counters and AA’s.


  6. Friar, sounds like you’ve got Red Stapler Disorder in your work space. Check to make sure you haven’t been unknowingly laid off, do not let anyone remove office supplies from your desk under any circumstance, even if you have to lock them up or superglue them down, and watch Office Space three times this weekend. Drink plenty of hops-laden fluids and get lots of rest. 😉

    -MD

  7. Friar Says:

    @Melissa

    🙂 I’m a HUGE FAN of Office Space. Just saw it recently, actually.

    Also, I like the Seinfeld episode where they try to force George out of his office, but he wont’ give up and he keeps breaking in.

    Actually (as of today) I’m pleased to announce I’m being moved yet again. But this time to a significantly better location.

    So all is not lost…


Leave a Reply

