Management Visual Aids for Dummies

(Reprinted from an earlier post)

Step 1.    Assemble a list of management buzzwords (i.e. expectations, commitment, action, achievement, goal, performance…etc. )

Step 2.  Select a common object (i.e. a pyramid, a chair, a ladder,  a circle, a shoe…).  It could be anything.

Step 3.  Hire a graphic artist to randomly combine the words and object from Step 1 and Step 2 into a Powerpoint slide. (Hint:  Use lots of bright colors, your staff will like that).   

Step 4.  Practice your ability to talk about the slide for 30 minutes at any given time. 

Step 5.  Use your slide to repeatedly describe your corporate mission statement, for the next 6 months.

Step 6.  Repeat Steps 1-6, as often as required.

 Practice on this as an example:

cylinder.jpg

 

Got it?…Congratulations!  You could possibly be senior management material. 

Go sign yourself up for the Chip Impant Academy

Explore posts in the same categories: Miss Management

Tags: ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

6 Comments on “Management Visual Aids for Dummies”

  1. Ellen Wilson Says:

    I don’t get it. I am not senior management material.

    Hell, I can’t even unclog my toilet today.

    Why is it managers always have meetings to discuss meetings to discuss meetings? It is a nasty cylinder, isn’t it? Quite like a toilet roll. And we all know where that winds up.


  2. Ick. #1 makes me shudder. #2 is funny, but I have a really good pyramid that works great! #3 I think I found a niche for myself. #4 I am female, no problem to blab. #5 Ack. Where’s my gun? #6 Time to quit.

    This is a good one!

  3. Friar Says:

    Ellen,

    I’m glad you don’t get it. If you did, then I’d know you had been assimilated by the Borg, and I’d have lost all respect for you. 🙂

    What’s funny, is that more than one person has mistaken this cylinder as being legit!

    I should make up a whole bunch of these, and sell it as a book on Advanced Management Tools.

  4. Friar Says:

    @Jaden

    Based on your blog, I can see you’re creative enough to come up with dozens of these.

    I bet you’d be able to give better presentations, too.

  5. Tei Says:

    Never in my life have I been so thrilled by my own ignorance. Well done, my ignorance, for you have saved me from senior management this day. I shall buy you a drink and perhaps give you a name. Hm. Should my ignorance be called . . . Percival?

  6. Friar Says:

    Hi Tei!

    Well, you have made my day!

    For if I have prevented even ONE PERSON from crossing over to the “Dark Side” of Senior Management..well, then I have fulfilled my purpose! 🙂

    Don’t ever cross over! Stay true to yourself!


Leave a Reply

