8 Random Friar Facts

Thanks to Brett (who started this) and Sandie, I’ve been “tagged” in some kind of chain letter.  Meaning I have to write down eight random things about myself.   And then I’m supposed to ask eight other people to write eight random things about themselves.

So, without further ado, here goes.

1.  I ate a worm once for five bucks.  It wasn’t that bad, actually.  It was tasteless, like eating a rubber band with sand on it.  It was a fair exchange.  I made a quick 5 bucks.  My buddy said he got his 5 bucks worth of entertainment.  I was 25 at the time.

2.  I can (to some extent) play three musical instruments.  I did piano as a kid up until high school.  I did the clarinet in the school band.   I was really into guitar in my 20’s.  I still strum around a bit.  I’m not too bad at it..just don’t ask me to sing.  I have an awful voice.

3.  As a kid, I was a goody-goody little Catholic.   I was not only an Altar Boy, but I played Jesus Christ in a church play.  “Suffer the children come unto me”.    Hoo Boy.  I bet you never guessed the Friar used to be like this, eh?

4.  My favorite animal is the bear.  That’s what I probably was in a previous life, if there is such a thing as re-incarnation.  Bears are SO cool. They’re versatile, smart, strong, and they eat anything.  You gotta respect that.  Sometimes I like to do my “bear imitation”.  I shake my head from side to side, and growl.   Little kids really love it when I do that.  

5.  I get goose bumps when I hear certain kinds of music.   Mozart’s Theme from Elvira Madigan for example.    Some Beethoven.  Also Bob Dylan’s Tambourine Man and Let it Be by the Beatles.   Some Zepplin and Floyd.   Dunno why I get goosebumps.  I just do.

6.  When I got laid off during the Big high-tech bust in 2001,  I had a good severance pay so I took the entire summer off.  I camped, did motels and lived out of my car for three months.  I drove around the continent, from Arizona to the Arctic Circle, putting 32,000 on my Honda Civic.   Going where I wanted, when I wanted, with no one to answer to.  That was the best three months of my life.

7.  In University, I was “anchorman” on our “Boat Racing Team”.  This is when five guys line up in a row, and each chugs an 8-ounce glass of beer, one after another.  The last guy (the anchorman)  does two glasses in a row, and then you go back down the line again.   The fastest team wins.

Sound stupid to you? (…It was!).  But this was a very BIG DEAL back then.  We had huge competitions with dozens of teams.   I was able to do both 8 ounce glasses in 3 seconds, which in the boat-racing world is the equivalent of the four-minute mile.  You got disqualified if you broke a glass or puked.   But we always won.

8.  I got the nickname “Friar” a few years ago, from the lads in the production area where I worked at the Widget Factory.  I had a bushy beard, and since I’m (ahem) a large guy, they said I reminded them of “Friar Tuck”.   I’m just grateful that I wasn’t named “Jingle Nuts” or something worse (like some other of the guys were).

There.  I’m done.

Now it’s my turn.  I’m tagging:

Jaden

Vimoh

Nicole

Harmony

Cath

Blog Pourri

 (Sorry, I could only think of six).

And, the rules (according to Brett’s blog!):

  1. Each player starts with 8 random facts/habits about themselves.
  2. People who are tagged, write a blog post about their own 8 random things, and post these rules.
  3. At the end of your post you need to tag 8 people and include their names.
  4. Don’t forget to leave them a comment and tell them they’ve been tagged, and to read your blog.  

 

 

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Grab Bag

33 Comments on “8 Random Friar Facts”


  1. I’ll do it, but I will have to make it relevant to screenwriting.

    Nice ones Friar!

  2. Friar Says:

    Hey, what are you doing up so late? (It’s 1:30 AM for me!)

    Yeah, write anything you like. I like your screenwriting stories.

    (I’m going to shoot Brett for this…I just spent an hour cutting and pasting all these links!)

  3. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    Great list. #6 sounds fabulous. How funny that a time that was bad for others turned out so great for you, at least for that summer. My Dad got laid off, too, while he was up in NS on a cruise for his birthday (the cowards sent him a letter), and that’s how he decided to finally go for it and buy the motel they own now. No more techies pushing him around, now he letes guests push him around and likes it just fine.

    Ever see Cary Grant in “Holiday”? I’m not spoiling it but you’d probably like it.

    I suspect “big guy” and “anchorman” are related, in a cause-and-effect way.

    Hopefully “Jingle Nuts” doesn’t apply, which is how you got “Friar.” Oh, did Jingle Nuts give me a horrifically funny picture in my head.

    Regards,

    Kelly

  4. Brett Legree Says:

    Friar,

    Great list, my friend.

    Kelly,

    The lads gave everyone names. I am “The Father” (hmm, 4 kids?), then there’s The Friar, Jingle Nuts, Dr. Xenon, Mother Superior, Virgin Mary, Altar Boy, Farmer, Goo-goo and Ga-ga, Swede…

    Most of them are nice. One fellow is called Dill or Dilby. He thinks it is short for Dilbert… but it isn’t… 🙂

  5. Kelly Says:

    Brett,

    Too funny. Gotta do something to keep from making rogue raccoon removal attempts w/o written permission, eh? “Hey, let’s make up a silly name for the new guy.”

    Later,

    Kelly

  6. CatherineL Says:

    Hi Friar – OMG – I thought mine was bad. But a worm eating, bear imitating Jesus? Just as well you got good taste in music.

  7. Friar Says:

    @Kelly. Yes, that road trip was awesome. I had no house, no girlfriend, no kids, no job…no responsibility for three glorious months. Even then I realized it was a very unique time in my life, that I might not get this kind of freedom again till I retired. I enjoyed ever minute of it.

    @Brett. You forget to tell Kelly about Mr. Freezy. He didn’t like that nickname and asked for anotherh. The lads made it perfectly clear that THEY decide on the nicknames, and that he had no say in the matter. So Mr. Freezy it was….and Mr. Freezy it shall always be.

    @Catherine
    Heh heh heh. I left out some good stuff too. There is only so much you can say with 8 comments.

  8. Sandie Says:

    Great list, Friar. Thanks for sharing with us. I once downed a pint rather quickly to impress the Beef Eaters at the Tower of London. It wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be.

  9. Friar Says:

    @Sandie.

    We also had several ladies’ boat-racing teams. (Except they only chugged one glass, not two). I tell ya, some of those engineering women could drink a guy under the table who was twice their size.

    Chugging a pint. That’s pretty decent. You’re all right in Friar’s books! 🙂


  10. Eww you ate a worm! I love music that gives me goose bumps! It’s nice to lie on the couch with the lights low and listen to those songs and just sort of go into the music.

  11. Friar Says:

    At least I didn’t eat a whole frog. I had a friend do that once.

    And she’s a respected professor now.

  12. Ellen Wilson Says:

    I think you were a medieval monk. Friar the monk. Yeah.

    That sounds very groovy traveling around all over like a vagabond. I’m still trying to do that. Takes a bit o’cash though.

  13. Friar Says:

    @Ellen. If you ever have a chance check out the cartoon “Rocket Robin Hood”.
    That’s partly where my nickname comes from. It’s a cheesy Canadian cartoon from the 1960’s. Brett and I grew up with it. It’s so awful, it’s funny. You can even find clips of it on You-Tube.

    (I wrote a it a couple of month ago…for some reasons, it’s my most popular post!).

    As for driving around the country. Yeah, it did take cash (I used up my severance pay). I’d do it again in a second, if I could.

  14. Mania Says:

    When I was young, I knew a guy who was really gross. He tied a piece of cooked meat to a long string, and swallowed the meat, and most of the string. He let it sit in his stomach for a while and then pulled it back out with the string.

    I still shudder when I think of it. Yuk!

  15. Friar Says:

    Mania;

    Ewwww. That is SO WRONG..on so many levels!

    Okay…you win. That’s the best gross-out story I’ve heard in recent memory.

  16. Ellen Wilson Says:

    Man Mania, I bet you will have nightmares the rest of your life with that one. It reminds me of disembowlment. Uck. Or getting a parasitic worm stuck in your gut.

  17. Nicole Says:

    Love your list! Your trip reminds me of the road trip I took to Montana one summer during my college years. A girlfriend and I picked Montana because I wanted to buy cowboy boots. In my mind that was the only place I would ever get real cowboy boots. Of course when I got there I bought them at some chain boot shop I could have stopped by in almost any state in the country, and yet I was still very proud that MY Tony Lamas were purchased in Big Sky Country. 🙂

    Hm, now to think of 8 things myself.

  18. Friar Says:

    @Nicole

    Yeah, but the important thing is your boots were bought in MONTANA…so you’ll remember them forever (as opposed if you had just bought them in any old mall).

    I heard that there is no speed limit in Montana. Dunno if that’s true or not but when I drove through it, I pushed my little Honda Civic to almost 120 mph on the Interstate. (At least for a few seconds, until I got to nervous and slowed down again).

  19. Nicole Says:

    @Friar LOL! A few seconds, you brave soul you. 😉 Back to working on my 8 things.

  20. Nicole Says:

    Wow, that took awahile, but my 8 things have now been posted. 🙂 Thanks, I enjoyed that!


  21. Friar,
    See now this is why you don’t catch trout. THEY eat the worm. Not you. Silly bear. 🙂

  22. Friar Says:

    @Janice.

    Dont’ worry. I save the best ones for the fish!


  23. Ahh. I am going to look at the bear candy…

  24. Friar Says:

    @Janice

    I tried the candy. It was stale and chewy.

    I guess whoever gave it to me, even their KIDS didn’t want it.


  25. Uncle Friar might need to pack Snickers in his pockets next visit to said Viking’s house…. course that would be so subversive…

  26. Friar Says:

    Yeah..heh heh. Give the little Vik-lings some sugar and get ’em all riled up. Then make a quick exit and leave Daddy to deal with it!


  27. And drums….don’t forget to leave xylophones and drums…maybe a kazoo…:)

  28. Friar Says:

    @Janice

    Hmmmnm…there’s a dollar store in town. Bet you I can buy all kinds of nasty stuff.

    Now you’re giving me all kinds of ideas.


  29. Sneaky grin oh her face…could be highly entertainin’ . 🙂

  30. Friar Says:

    @Janice.

    You know..they have these styrofoam swords and shields you can buy at Toys R Us.

    I gave some to my nephews one Christmas, and they delighted in wailing on each other.

    What better way to teach kids to be Vikings? …hey, BRETT..??


  31. See , now Brett could do the Viking Guide to Parenting, son et lumiere, multimedia teaching series, handbooks, podcasts…. hey, we get a cut of that, right? It would require highly creative input …and of course snickers and beer…ugh.. but not at the same time.

  32. Friar Says:

    There you go, Brett. Another idea for your writing.

    Janice, Olaf would definitely approve

    (NYAAARRRGGH!) 🙂


Leave a Reply

