Random Stupidity at 12,095 Feet

I have been known at times…

…for reasons I can’t fully explain…

…to jump into very cold water.

Β It feels good when I get out, though.

Explore posts in the same categories: The Outdoor Friar

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

34 Comments on “Random Stupidity at 12,095 Feet”

  1. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    Wow, what a shot. Nature at its finest. (And a frigid Friar.)

    Beautiful. My screen is cold just looking at it.

    Regards,

    Kelly

  2. jebber Says:

    That’s freakin’ ridiculous! Beautiful … but ridiculous.

    J

  3. steph Says:

    I SO wish I had the guts to do that! As it is, now that I’m older, I find the water too cold in the summer! Of course, when we were kids we swam in any temperature.

  4. Peter Says:

    Never in my life …

  5. Friar Says:

    @Kelly
    You should try it one day. (It might cool your jets…especially if you’ve just read one of my fishing posts!) πŸ™‚

    @jebber
    During all your travels, I’m sure you’ve done something like this before…haven’t you?

    @Steph
    It’s not as bad as it looks (if you only spend a microsecond under water like I did0

    @Peter
    Never…EVER in my whole life. Bzzzzzzzz. TILT.

  6. steph Says:

    Friar: Yeah, that’s what they ALL say!

  7. Friar Says:

    @Steph
    Actually, that water was no worse than me jumping into Lake Superior in June.

  8. Ellen Wilson Says:

    Friar, is your butt crack showing? Man, you are one serious Canuck.

    Carolyn did stuff like that in Lake Superior because she was acclimated to the weather up there. I never could. Ugh! And your right about Lake Superior in June. Is this the lake full of brown trout? No, they aren’t a separate species. That is the common name we use down here.

  9. Friar Says:

    Yes, I reluctantly admit that is probably my butt crack (Damn!). I didn’t look that closely at the photo..maybe I should have photo-shopped it out.

    This was a small lake on top of Independence Pass (Colorado). I dont’ think it would have fish..it was pretty shallow and is probably frozen solid 10 months a year (actually, that photo was taken in late June..the road had just opened up for the season).

    As for trout. I disgree.

    Brook trout = Salvenius Fontinalis
    Brown trout = Salmo Trutta

    Different species (I looked it up on Wikipedia).


  10. White water rafting in the Roaring Fork …then camping just outside Aspen beside the coldest water I have ever waded into to bathe….phew…..still shiver…. don’t get me started again Friar…this is one hellava gorgeous photo…

    ( You know Randy is an editor of Outside Magazine. Methinks the Friar should consider a couple of short stories with photos of course…. )

  11. Ellen Wilson Says:

    @Janice – Yeah, they do go for this sort of photo essay stuff in Outside Magazine. That is a good idea Friar, you can call it, “Freezing my Ass Off in …..” Butt Crack included.

    @Friar – Sorry. I meant brook trout, not brown trout. It adds to the photo. Your butt crack that is. I’m sure you wanted some meat after this. Oh, you naughty readers you know what I mean.

  12. Friar Says:

    @Janice
    I love Outside magazine. I never thought I’d be qualified enough to contribute to it…they must have thousands of wannabee writers and photographers who send their stuff in.

    Hmmm….?? Someething to think about.

    @Ellen
    Okay…brook trout. Yeah..that makes more sense.

    Oh..no…the “crack” and “meat” comments have started. πŸ™‚

    Seems to me this type of thing coincides with the precise moment that Janice shows up!

  13. Kelly Says:

    Ellen, it is not. It is a shadow at that lovely place low on a man’s spine… oh, you’ve got one. stand him out in some sun shirtless and you’ll see. Look at where his waist is, it can’t be. It’s been a while, but I think I still remember this stuff…

    Friar, get a full-length mirror and have a look.

    (Nice back. Not what I was expecting.)

    And I like my jets nice and toasty, thanks. You must have had to use a hair drier for a month to get yours functioning again.

    I’m with Steph, the water’s never warm enough for me in the summer.

  14. Karen Swim Says:

    I think this would be great after a long run, better than the ice bath I typically indulge in. Although I would jump in clothed. πŸ™‚


  15. Friar,
    It’s so lovely being a muse… if you will notice I have so far been all that is subtle… will not be lured by manly Canadian pheremones and near nakedness in nature…I am just admiring the muscular mountains and tickling ripples of the water…. πŸ™‚

  16. Friar Says:

    @Kelly
    Aw…you got me blushing. πŸ™‚

    @Karen
    Oh, no. Don’t tell me you do ice baths? (I know people who do them after they go running). Argh . Not for me. I know they’re supposed to be good for you and reduce stiffness But all I will do is plunge in for a few seconds, but that’s about it.

    @Janice
    I deliberately kept this photo tame (notice that I’m far away and only occupy a small space on the photo). Plus I’m partly in shadow.

    Despite my outspokeness in my writing, I’m often a shy retiring Friar, if you would believe it.

  17. Brett Legree Says:

    Friar,

    If you’re going to Photoshop anything, put a shark in there. You know, the singing shark… πŸ™‚

    @Ladies,

    Yes, Friar’s a manly man, a true Viking if you will.

  18. Friar Says:

    @Brett
    I’m a shaaaaark….I’m a shaaaark! πŸ™‚


  19. I did notice that. Right away. Very finely done…really…my comment was in no way a criticism NOT AT ALL ….the photo is even more…uh… powerful because of that….course now you’re going to have really serious problems with the ladies with this talk of being the” shy retiring Friar” . Get a large club and an unlisted number…that’s like dangling magical fish in front of us.

    Seriously love this post Friar. Tell me some more stories…like these. Pretty please. πŸ™‚

  20. Kelly Says:

    A dude who blushes?

    Cool.

  21. Ellen Wilson Says:

    @Janice – “dangling magical fish in front of us.” Man, I’m not going to even touch that one. Okay, my mind is in the gutter: butt cracks, meat, etc.

    I do think Kelly is right. It does look like your spine, and it is a good picture.

  22. Kelly Says:

    Ellen,

    Many “life drawing” classes, and much life, have taught me to recognize that lovely shadow.

  23. Friar Says:

    I must admit, this the most attention anyone has paid to my spine.

    Ever.

  24. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    Then you should stop dating Claire immediately, and find someone who will pay proper attention to your spine, because that ain’t right.

    It is all Ellen’s fault that I came to a lovely, lovely Colorado photo this morning, spent moments completely enraptured by the grandeur, and now all I can see is one shadow.


  25. @Friar-Getting out sketch book now …:) Nothing like fine muscular articulation, huh , Kelly?

    @ Ellen- how could I not say it?

    @ All the women in Splat Creek- are you idiots!!! Or is the Friar an agile slippery Viking?

  26. Ellen Wilson Says:

    @Janice – you are just going to get me going. “agile slippery viking, with a magic dangling fish.” Haaaa! I can’t wait to see the drawing when you’re done. Please post it on your site! Renditions are always nice.

    I think we are objectifying Friar. Let us now focus on the totality of the picture and not on the…crack.

    Poor Friar. I guess we can find out tomorrow on the ANGRY VIKING BLOG!

  27. Mania Says:

    Friar,

    You seem experienced. Which is worse?

    A dip into an icy cold lake? or

    Hot tub, a snow roll, and then back into the hot tub?

  28. Friar Says:

    @Janice
    Oh…Be-HAVE! ! πŸ™‚

    @Ellen
    I don’t mind being objectified. This is a novelty for me.

    @Mania
    Jumping in snow is better. Deep icy water seems to suck the body heat out of you much faster than a layer of snow.


  29. Now what would be the fun in that?

    G’night.

    : )

  30. 6 Weeks Says:

    […] the Friar isn’t showing off his best ASS-ets, he’s whipping up great cartoons like this one […]

  31. wendikelly Says:

    Wendi has visited…looked…read…and left the building.
    Closing the door quietly behind her, reminding herself that she is a very happily married woman.

  32. Friar Says:

    @Wendi

    Wise choice.

    Don’t let the other naughty women drag you down to their level πŸ™‚

  33. svc Says:

    Great living Friar. In our community there was a rule that no matter the temperature, one must take the first dip of the year on the May 24 weekend. At times the lake was open, other times not. We did learn that when there is a skiffin of ice on the lake, do not dive but jump in. If you dive, not only may you get cuts, and scrapes about the face and neck but also it will happen twice, once going in, and once coming up on other side… And then, you have to swim through the ice to get back to the dock. Not advised. Love the photo… its perfect.


Leave a Reply

