Watercolors: Oregon Dunes

At Oregon Dunes National Recreational Area…

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Artwork

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

27 Comments on “Watercolors: Oregon Dunes”

  1. steph Says:

    Oh, Friar! It’s so lovely! I love watercolour! The sky and…everything…WOW! I feel transported there.

  2. Friar Says:

    @Steph

    Thanks!

    I gave the painting away (as a wedding gift to one of my favorite cousins).

    I almost regret parting with it,…but he’s a good cousin, and I can’t keep everything I paint, can I?

  3. steph Says:

    Nope. You have to make room for more. 🙂

  4. Karen JL Says:

    Your paintings are really nice guy!

    I admire those that can handle watercolors like that…it can be a tricky medium. Is that great texture from the board you painted on? How big was it?
    Love it. 🙂

  5. Matt Tuley Says:

    Wow, Friar, that’s really good. Quite a talent you’ve got there.

  6. Friar Says:

    @Karen

    The texture is from the 300-lb. Arches paper I used. But the scanner I have isnt’ the greatest so it tends to exaggerate the shadows, and the bumpiness. The painting is about 6 x 8 inches….mabye a bit bigger.

    I really dont’ know why I like watercolor because it takes a lot of patience, which goes totally against my personality! 🙂

  7. Friar Says:

    @Matt

    Thanks for the compliment. (I just hope I keep painting…it’s hard in the summer, I get to distracted with fishing and caoneing and all the other outdoor stuff).


  8. Ah, very zen. Excellent eye. It is truly difficult to take a huge outdoor experience and articulate it in it’s essential form. Bravo. You might like watercolor because it flows. It’s like exploring a creek playing in rivulets of color. Moving a sable brush across untouched paper and leaving a bit of yourself there. Very nice Friar.

  9. steph Says:

    @Janice: “Moving a sable brush across untouched paper and leaving a bit of yourself there.”

    WOW. Goosebumps! Makes me want to paint, now, but I leave that to my sister. I haven’t such talent!


  10. Wow — it’s absolutely beautiful! I wish I was hiking there right now …

  11. Friar Says:

    @Janice

    Thanks! I agree…there is something really fun about making water and pigment move on paper. …but I must admit it’s not a sable brush. I use the cheapest $4 nylon brushes in the store! (I tend to break and lose things, so it’s easier this way)

    @steph
    Go grab a brush..and GO FOR IT.

    @Rebecca
    I thought hiking there would be awesome…but it actually wasn’t. Once you got off the boardwalk, it was at least a mile, before you even approached the water. It was really hard walking….one foot forward, too feet backward in loose sand.


  12. @ Steph- Thanks. Go for it.

    @ Friar- Sable is awfully nice, I use them. Have some synthetic blends as well. But I would make a brush out of a frayed twig or a feather, if I had to, just to play in the puddles. I have also used iced tea or beer for water when I had no water within reach. 🙂

  13. Friar Says:

    @Janice

    I had a watercolor teacher who once told me if he hiked in the mountains and had no water, he’d use his own PEE!

    (Ugh!). I’m not THAT keen to paint.


  14. Good call, Friar. Sand hiking = not very fun. I should know this; I grew up in Rhode Island!

  15. Brett Legree Says:

    As long as the sand is wet, it isn’t too bad (think, near the ocean).

    You’ve told me about this part of the world and shared some of your photos and other work – I’d love to go visit.

    Nice artwork, my friend.

    -Brett


  16. Eee-yew That’s when you take a frigging photo!!!! Ack ack, ackkk…..that is beyond gross!!!! And it so not archival !!!! 🙂

    Yuck. He was so putting you on. Ugh,and double yuck..ee-yew

  17. Ann Onymouse Says:

    I have one of Friar’s paintings of the bay at Kennebunkport, Maine. He painted it on sight with sea water.


  18. Ann- Oh thank you. That is such a better image. 🙂 ahhh.

  19. Karen Swim Says:

    Friar, this is beautiful. When I was a kid my mom bought me one of those paint by number watercolor kits. It had a really nice canvas and you were supposed to follow the numbers to paint. I got too impatient and just added the colors where I wanted. They were still good pictures though and my mom hung them both up proudly. I thought it was funny that she was proud like I’d really done something special. I would love to take an art class though and learn to paint without numbers. 🙂

  20. Friar Says:

    @Brett
    When I saw Oregon Sand Dunes National Monument, I thought great, I can just walk up to the beach. But when I got there, all I saw was sand…dry dry sand…the water was nowhere in sight. It was literally miles away, and there were huge dunes hundreds of feet high. Just like those desert movies. The only way for people to get around is if they were yahoos with dune buggies.

    Oregon is great..but hey, you’ve been to New Zealand. That place rocks!

    @Janice
    Well, I dunno if that teacher was putting me on. He was this eccentric 80 year old German guy…who the F. knows when he was serious or not? (He wasn’t a very good teacher either…I didnt’ stay with him too long).

    Images of Urine-soaked paintings…UGH!

    @Ann Onymous.
    Yeah, I think I know the painting you’re talking about. That was a while ago. Salt water is a much better medium that others (mentionned above), don’t you think?

    @Karen
    Hey, I did paint by numbers…well into my teens! I loved ’em.

    Painting isnt’ that hard…if you find the right teacher. You don’t even have to take it too serious…it could just be an evening art class held at the local library or at the community center. That’s how I started (after my paint by numbers!) 🙂

    You know what’s funny? You can buy completed paint by numbers on Ebay (that somebody ELSE did!)

    Why, for the life of me, anyone would want to buy this, I dont’ know. But it’s there to buy, if people want.


  21. I loved paint by numbers! They are considered genre pieces now. Go figure.

    I know Friar, the price of being visual…too much sometimes…do you have pieces from all your travels?

  22. Friar Says:

    @Janice

    I seriously started painting about 9 years ago, and I paint mostly (but not all the time) from my own vacation photos.

    So yes, most of my travels are commemorated by my paintings…from about 1999 and ownwards.

  23. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    Beautiful. The deep shadow in the dunes is lovely, it really catches my eye. The subtle variations in the trees at center work best for me. Just peaceful and beautiful.

    Show more, show more!

    Regards,

    Kelly


  24. wonderful!!!!!!

  25. Friar Says:

    @Kelly
    I have to “ration” my paintings. If I show too many at once, I’ll run out of material.

    There is so much a Friar can do. (I do paint a lot, but not all of them turn out)

    Heh heh heh. Or mabye I should show my “Bad Art” as well. So everyone can learn from it.

    @Darren
    Thanks! (By the way, I think your stuff is pretty damned good too!)

  26. Kathryn Wolfard Says:

    Can you paint another watercolor of the dunes?
    Can I buy it? How much?

  27. Friar Says:

    @Kathryn

    Ohh…sorry! That painting is gone! It was given to my cousin as a wedding gift.

    Though I do occasionally repaint some scenes. If I redo this one, I’ll keep you in mind, I have your email.

    My paintings typically go for ~$75-250, unframed. This one would have been somewhere in the mid-range.

    But of course, we’re not supposed to sell things here, it’s “against the rules” for WordPress.

    If you are interested, you can pop me an email at deepfryar@gmail.com and we can discuss it off-line.


Leave a Reply

