Friar versus the Gray Heads (Part V)…A Possible Truce?

Since my last report  about  my on-going battle with the local grey-heads, nothing much has happened.  Three consecutive issues of the Splat Creek Chronicle have been printed, and nothing has been said about me.

It looks like some people might have finally gotten a life, and/or have found something else to bitch about in the paper.

So is this major kerfuffle over?   Has a truce been declared?   I can only hope….

But I think the damage has been done.   My reputation has apparently been tainted.   Dear me.    

The other day, in a bar/restaurant, I wanted to buy a beer.  The bartender pointed me out as “The Letter Writer”.

The “LETTER WRITER”….

The way he said it, it might as well have been “Baby-Seal Killer”.    

“Oh, that’s the Letter Writer!”  he said. “Hey, Lenny, that’s him…Come and check him out!”.    And then the cook came to see who I was.  And started to make snarky jokes with me.   We both chatted politely, but I could tell he was pissed off at me.   

Whatever.

Several times that evening, whenever I went up to the bar, the cook made a point to look back at me and make another snarky comment.

You really gotta love this town.  

That same day, I was also told by someone else that I shouldn’t write any more letters.  They’re tired of pointing me out to other people.  

And a colleague from the office warned me to never write a letter to the editor about the golf course.   Because a lot of the managers golf here, and if I upset them, it could affect my career. 

Nice to see that Freedom of Speech is alive and well in the Splat Creek Valley.

All this, because I dared question the customer service of some of this town’s merchants.

One sympathetic friend told me that this will stick with me for years.    He also had written some letters to the paper, years ago, and he went througth the same thing.

Oh well.  I guess I’ll just have to wait till the next person pisses off the town even more, before this blows over. 

In the meantime, I’m going to breakfast at the local restaurarant. 

Now if you’ll excuse me, I must change into sack-cloth and ashes.

Explore posts in the same categories: Small Town Ontario

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

18 Comments on “Friar versus the Gray Heads (Part V)…A Possible Truce?”

  1. wendikelly Says:

    Friar,
    I am the President of our Homeowners association. We have 654 people in our neighborhood. Of those homes, 100 of them are a little bit bigger, so the sign to their entrance is MUCH bigger and makes them feel MUCH more important. 4 years ago, it was time to change all the signs to all the entrances and the board agreed that their MUCH BIGGER sign needed to have the same name on it as the rest of us did, while still keeping on it the part that had their specific section on it. THEY WENT NUTS.
    Mind you, the part that had the neighborhood name on it was in tiny letters on their huge sign and was barely noticeable.

    As the president, I was subjected to a nightmere, threatened to be sued, had a riot on my hands and was told I was ruining peoples lives by 100 people. But if we didn’t do it the other 554 people were going to riot, TO this day I am pointed at, whispered about, and stared at. Welcome to my world.


  2. Ahh, the saga continues…enjoy your “individuality”. Chuckling here..

  3. Friar Says:

    Wendi

    OUCH!!!….Way harsh! That sounds like more than a kerfuffle.

    What I’m experiencing is a minor annoyance. But nothing like what you had to go through.

    All this…for some signs? (Sheesh!). You gotta love small-town mentality, eh?

    Dont’ worry. I’ll still speak to you (despite your “questionable” past!) 🙂

  4. Friar Says:

    @Janice

    Heh heh heh. I’m chuckling too.

    It’s too easy, when they just keep providing me with fresh comedy material to write about. 🙂


  5. Yes. So ya kind of have to oblige. It’s just so easy.

    You could adopt a Friar’s service rating system. In the Lagniappe ( a newspaper supplement) at home, we had the 4 bean scale for restaurants. Like stars only red beans. Hmm. What would be good for Splatt Creek ….
    I was sketching during my lunch at the Highland Inn overlooking the Pacific once. No matter how much I tried to persuade the sommelier that I was NOT a critic, they fell all over themselves waiting on me, even sent wine on the house. :)))) They are already tops in my book but boy are they ever now.

  6. Brett Legree Says:

    Friar,

    Holy crapola, I didn’t know that happened to you (and I know exactly where that was, too)… the Letter Writer’s Friend has a suggestion.

    Maybe on Thursdays, the Letter Writer, the Letter Writer’s Friend, and the Letter Writer’s Other Friend can go to this bar and if heckled, heckle back. Sounds like you need some reinforcements of the Viking kind…

  7. Friar Says:

    @Janice
    That sounds like a good idea…in theory. But I don’t think that would work here. Knowing this place, they’d probably single out the critic and ride them out of town on a rail! 🙂

    @Brett
    That just happened to me very recently (like last night). It might not be the establishment you’re thinking of.

    I think that’s a good idea, though. The Letter Writer and his friends should go down to that place and act like Vikings. Lord knows, I can use all the help I can get. 🙂

  8. Ellen Wilson Says:

    “The Letter Writer.” Great title for a story.

    Doesn’t it drive you nuts living in a small town? I’ve lived in a few and it bothers me when people know all my business. Of course they do here too, I have a next door neighbor that is right on top of me.

  9. Friar Says:

    @Ellen

    If this was a normal city, my Mickey Mouse letters would have been forgotten about months ago. But not here…I’ve established my reputation for God knows how many years.

    Ahhh..I don’t care. Most people dont’ really mind and/or support me. Let the vocal minority bitch all they want. (Bring it ONNNN!!! 🙂 )

    This is why I’m relatively candid with my Deep Friar Blog. I try to keep things pretty generic…..though it would be tempting to just let loose one of these days…! 🙂

  10. neyellen Says:

    @Friar – Yeah, I know what you mean. Everyone around here knows me as me, so I really can’t hide. Search my name and it’s relatively easy to find me.

    Well, I enjoy your stories. This is the normal everday stuff that art is created from you know?

    I like the dog story, too. I hope you weren’t offended when I called you an ass for being so honest. It just made me sad. I was trying to be complimentary. Like “ass” is rough and raw, not mamby pamby. I’m a writer and supposed to be concise and clear!

    Somedays I just get hot (I mean literally, it is hotter than hell here lately) and can’t think too clearly.

    Hope you’re having a good weekend.

  11. Friar Says:

    @Ellen
    I liked your comment! It was honest, and I knew where you were coming from!

    It’s stinking humid here today. We have a bunch of severe thunderstorms supposedly coming (on their way from Michigan…where you probably were).

    Too hot to be outside (and the water is still too cold to swim in…). But it made for good fishin’, anyway. 🙂

  12. neyellen Says:

    Yeah, I figured you knew where I was coming from, but I thought I’d check to make sure!

    I still AM in Michigan. Haven’t left for some months now. I am itching to travel!

    Tonight I am playing around with “monetizing” my blog. I’m trying to make it look nice while I find some damn plugins that work.

  13. Ellen Wilson Says:

    Must be meetings at the widget factory. All is quiet with the Canadians.

  14. Friar Says:

    Yeah…it’s kinda quiet this week. I haven’t written much the past few days. It comes in fits and starts.

    I think Uncle Brett has a big deadline due at the Widget Factory…I havent’ heard too much from him today either.

  15. Ellen Wilson Says:

    That’s what I figured. The man is sticking it to him. What a drag.


  16. Friar, You could always offset the problem by writing another letter — a glowing review of something you like in Splat Creek. Then they’ll just think you’re fair and balanced 😉

  17. Friar Says:

    @Melissa

    I think the damage has already been done. My name is MUD…!! 🙂

    Though if I find something good worth writing about, I’ll gladly tell the town about it.


  18. […] To be honest, I don’t know. I too judge people at times and then I punish myself for doing so. Sometimes though it is hard to not judge others because they really do act like idiots. […]


Leave a Reply

