Inspirational Quotes that Made a Difference in my Life…

Not everything I write is funny.    Sometimes I take a more serious side.

Whenever I feel like I’m going nowhere in life, I like to think of these famous quotes.   They brighten my day, and motivate me to accomplish bigger and better things…

 

Reach for the stars….The worst you can do is fail.    But at least you will have have tried.
Harry Wilkinson, Learning to Fail in Business, 1988

Success knows no bounds.  Failure knows many.
Dung Xi Yio-Pong (circa 2000 B.C)

The flames of ambition will brighten the darkest of nights. 
Leo Andropov  Balachowsky  (Memoirs of Lake Baikal, 1893).

Walk far.   You will go places.
Apache Proverb

 Literature is the ambrosia that feeds the poet’s hungry soul.
Dorothy Effingham (Thoughts and Expectations, 1797).

Taken as one, leaves are nothing.   Taken together, they provide the tree with life.
Bhramavittaan Sandravakinarian  ( circa 800 A.D.)

If you believe you can’t do something…then you can’t. 
Morgan Billings (Early 20th century industrialist)  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 (Snicker)  ….Did I have you going there for a while?

Sorry to disappoint you….but I JUST MADE THESE ALL UP!

Took me about ten minutes. 

(Heh! Heh! Heh!)    Makes you wonder, how hard can it be?  

To quote someone else (for real this time):

“Ain’t I a stinker?”
Bugs Bunny
🙂

  

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Grab Bag

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

31 Comments on “Inspirational Quotes that Made a Difference in my Life…”

  1. Brett Legree Says:

    “Nothing unreal exists.”
    Kiri-Kin-Tha’s first law of metaphysics

  2. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    Who is Kiri-Kin Tha? (Something real, or did you make THAT up?) 🙂


  3. Friar! You rascal! The Apache proverb is my favorite. Hey, maybe you should take up writing quotes for a living.

  4. Friar Says:

    @Melissa

    If I ever get famous, my quote will be:

    “I never said anything quotable”.

    And you can quote me on that! 🙂

  5. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    They are all frighteningly like real things that have been said. I kept thinking, that guy stole his quote…

    You didn’t just make them up, you just became a source!

    Throw out more quotables, O Wise One!

    The difference, O Wise One, is that you are being a Wiseacre. To be truly inspirational, you must be sincere. (Which is why you ARE so often inspirational.)

    Two to inspire you:

    Love is the delightful interval between meeting a beautiful girl and discovering that she looks like a haddock.
    —John Barrymore

    You only live once, but if you do it right, once is enough.
    —Mae West

    Regards,

    Kelly

  6. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    It’s not that hard to come up with these.

    I’ve read so many quotes and inspirational message on the blogosphere lately, that I’ve just borrowed bits and pieces of them, and put them together in random snippets.

    All I did then, was add some fake names from the 18th or 19th century. (or something either Hindu, African or Native-American)

    I dont’ think I could take it upon myself to give “Sincere” quotes. I goes against my nature…I just love being a wise-acre too much.

    (Love John B’s quote…..though. That’s quite original…first time I ever heard of a woman referred to as being ugly as a fish! 🙂

    Mae West was alright too. In my books, best looking octogenarian, ever.

  7. Kelly Says:

    That John Barrymore quote has been making me laugh for years. Every time I read it I crack up all over again. He has a lot of sour-on-marriage quips, which comes from having a lot of marriages.

  8. Ellen Wilson Says:

    Friar,

    You are such an ass.

    I wish you would come and buy some of my junk. E

    @Kelly – I don’t understand why people get married more then once. Okay, two, I get, but after that just have a boy/girl friend. Of course it’s all about the contract I guess. Business.

  9. Friar Says:

    @Ellen

    (LOL!) Oh, I know I’m an ass!….that’s exactly why I write stuff like this! 🙂

    PS. I’ll give you $1.50 for that ceramic Dalmatian, and $1.00 for the rocking chair with the two legs missing.

  10. Ellen Wilson Says:

    I have some Barbies for $1.00. Fully clothed, mind you. I thought of selling them naked and making more money off the clothes, but I thought it seemed kind of risque.

  11. Steph Says:

    Seriously? You made those up? The second and third rock. The guy’s name from circa 800 AD sounded genuine. I swear, if I had time, I’d be looking these up online. You are genius. Wow. I’m impressed and I love that you impress me on a daily basis.

    I mean, you used the oh-so-poetic word ambrosia!! And ersatz, on Kelly’s blog. WHO ARE YOU??

    The last one is like Ford’s: “Whether you think you can or think you can’t, you’re right.”

  12. Friar Says:

    @Ellen
    Naked Barbies!? Oh, dear.

    When I was five, Barbie gave me my first glimpse of what females might look like under their clothes. (Looking back, I must admit it was not the most realistic representation of the female anatomy!) 🙂

    @Steph

    Yeah. I made these up.

    I wanted to show that we can all spout words of wisdom once in a while…we dont’ necessarily always have to rely on others famous people’s words to inspire us.

    I probably sub-conciously plagiarized a few. Like that last one from Henry Ford.

    Hahahah! I’m glad you liked the one about 800 AD. It’s not hard to come up with a name. Just make a bunch of random syllables with “Brama” and “rava” and “kh”. Add a few a’s in a row….

    Vishnararakavan Bramakharmathakaan. There you go….another philosopher you can quote!

  13. Kelly Says:

    Ellen,

    Because you mentioned it, here’s another thought from the past:

    Marriage is a great institution, but I’m not ready for an institution.
    —Mae West

    That’s what Friar says every time a friend mentions Claire.

    Why? My first was an error of epic proportions that I didn’t realize until I was institutionalized. 🙂

    I figure you get to correct that. I also hope to have more kids (Boy am I pie-in-the-sky at this age!), and kids deserve the piece of paper.

    Personally, if my shop closes for business before I find the next “The One,” I’m gonna stop looking. I am too settled in my life. Marriage is work, nevermind the piece of paper. If he comes along then, we can live in separate houses and be like Spencer Tracy and Katherine Hepburn, and keep some privacy and some mystery.

    As cynical as that sounds, I like love and I like marriage. I always thought it was once-and-done. I believe in for life, unless you discover the other guy plans to determine what “for life” means. So I’d give it a second shot, but lordy, not a third.

    Steph,

    Friar is a Magic Man. Like in the Heart song. Beware.

    Friar,

    Naked Barbies cause such body-image problems for boys and girls alike. A friend’s five-year-old just asked her Mom while dressing Barbie, “Mommy, when will I get breasts like that.”

    My friend wisely replied, “Never, unless you want to be filled with plastic, too.”

    The girl didn’t get it but caught the “never” part, and I fell off my chair laughing.

    Later,

    Kelly

  14. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    Aww…GEE WHIZ! You really got me blushing (I’m not used to such praise).

    First Ellen accused me of poetry…now I’m a Magic Man! (Oboy…where did all this suddenly come from?).

    As for Barbies. The G.I Joes are also screwing up kids’ ideas of a perfect body. When the dolls first came out, Joe was average/normal. Now he’s ripped and cut like Ah-Nold. Obviously Joes on roids…Nobody looks like that.

    Mabye Joe and Barbie should get together and make kids. And start a Super-Race of Plastic Men. 🙂

  15. wendikelly Says:

    Oh my gosh, I was still laughing at Friar and then got to the bottom of the comments and fell of my chair at the comment of being filled with plastic like a Barbie.
    No thanks. HAHAHAH.

    Poor kids. My daughters liked stuffed animals. Thank goodness.
    Friar you hoot. Stinker. I have too many real ones to choose from. Like Kelly I collect them.

    Too funny.

  16. Friar Says:

    @Wendi

    You and Kelly collect’ em…I recycle ’em! 🙂

  17. Steph Says:

    I love it here.

  18. Friar Says:

    @Steph
    Glad you like it 🙂

    As they say on the Beverly Hillbillies…

    “Set a spell….take your shoes off….ya’ll come back now, Heah? “>

  19. Ellen Wilson Says:

    @Kelly – You are so honest! I love it.

    Oh, tell me about relationship mistakes! My first was verrrrry bad.

    Marriage is a lot of hardword. It ain’t like Barbie and Ken. Totally agree with that body image idea. Barbie should fall over because if her feet are too small. Seriously, she has boobs like, what? 44D and infant feet! That’s like Helga Geisha. What bullshit!

    Anyway, I can’t believe some sexy guy hasn’t snatched you up yet.

    I will have to watch that Spencer Tracy and Katherine Hepburn movie.

    @Steph – Yeah, I thought so, too. That’s why I said he was an ass. It makes everything, all quotes seem meaningless. Very Zen.

    Thanks for bursting my bubble Friar. Zen altarboy. Very insightful, actually. Now I’m going through spiritual angst.

    According to Mike I should up the Barbie price to 2.00.

    I’ve made less than minimum wage so far. But I’m hoping that tomorrow and Sun will rock! A guy came by and said that I should advertise on Craig’s list. I never even thought of that! I spent 40.00 bucks on an ad. Highway robbery.

  20. Friar Says:

    Ellen

    I realize that Barbie is not real.

    But, being a healthy red-meat-eating knuckle-dragging Neanderthal, part of me would like to have a brief fling with a Barbie Doll girlfriend. Just ONCE,….

    Then, once I get that out of my system, I’ll continue my search for the kind-hearted girl-next-door who’s smart and has great sense of humor that I want to introduce to Mom.

  21. Karen Swim Says:

    Friar, I settled in thinking, “Friar’s going to be sincere and deep,” you schnookered me! You’re funny and you are deep because it takes depth to have humor.

    @Ellen, don’t even get me started on the whole Barbie thing. Not gonna go there, nope! Good luck though on selling everything at a premium price!

  22. Friar Says:

    @Karen

    Awww…I can never take myself to seriously. There’s enough of you guys out there to keep things sincere and deep….I’ll just continue to look on from the side-lines, and throw in the odd wise-acre comment…

    (Sheesh…I used wise-acre in a sentence…..THANKS KELLY!) 🙂

  23. Ellen Wilson Says:

    @Karen – Please, be my guest. I wish you would start on the whole Barbie thing.

  24. Friar Says:

    @Ellen and Karen

    What about poor GI Joe and his Kung-Fu grip?


  25. Friar ,
    You are a stinker. But a good one, with a great front porch to sit on and hang out awhile. We sure do ‘preciate the hospitality. These quotations had me for awhile oddly familiar and yet something…Here’s one for all of us.

    Beware of Friars bearing fish. They are grown up imps who’ll curl right around your heart.- me 2008

  26. Brett Legree Says:

    What scares me is *what* GI Joe intends to do with that Kung-Fu grip…

  27. visionpoints Says:

    Friar,

    When Joe gets a package (do they say that in CAN?) like Barbie has breasts, then I will worry about men’s self-image. For now, I’m worried about men’s images of women, but mostly young ladies’ self-images.

    You used “ersatz” in a sentence yesterday, why is “wise-acre” bothering you? I haven’t used ersatz in a sentence since college, LOL.

    Ellen, not a movie, their real life. They lived in two separate houses on the same property for all their not married lives. Jack Nicholson has done that with women, too, though for him it might be so he can have other women.

    Good luck on the rest of your garage sale. I used to do it once a year. Cleans out the cobwebs. Kind of good for the soul.

    Janice,

    I love your quotation. “Curl right around your heart” is so evocative. Sounds like Friar’s a cat.

    Imp. Another great word. Definitely applies here.

    Brett,

    ROFLOL! Remember, no “package.”

    Until later,

    Kelly

  28. Friar Says:

    @Janice
    Oh, I know I was being a bit of a shit-disturber writing this post..but what the heck? I would be against my nature NOT to do so…!

    Beware Friars bearing fish…I like that one!

    @Brett
    Hahah…you caught on to what I was inferring. Too bad Joe has no package…! 🙂 Mabye that’s why he looks so mad all the time.

    @Kelly
    Wise-acre and ersatz . Those could be two more out-dated words to go in Rebecca’s recent post.

    That’s just the cat’s pajamas, consarn it.


  29. Kelly- I could see separate bungalows like Tracy and Hepburn. Sleepovers would be fun, unless it WAS GI Joe in the other bungalow. Oh, now I want to watch a Tracy/ Hepburn movie, just cause she’s so sassy. What chemistry they had.

    Stirring it up as usual Friar, aren’t you…oh gosh I haven’t seen the Viking today.. oops better go see.


  30. […] Inspirational Quotes That Made A Difference In My Life […]


  31. […] Same as before,  NONE of these quotes are real. […]


Leave a Reply

