Watercolors: Too Many Tulips

Once in a while (not too often), I’ll paint flowers.

Here’s one I did, when I decided to try tulips.

Oboy.   By the time that painting was done, I never wanted to see a tulip again.

That was five years ago.  I haven’t painted tulips since.

But I think I’m ready again.

Wonder if I should try any of these?  …(or am I just asking to drive myself INSANE?)

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Artwork

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

9 Comments on “Watercolors: Too Many Tulips”

  1. Steph Says:

    Oh Friar!! your painting is totally one I’d hang. Especially given my in-laws’ and hubby’s Dutch background. They’re all about the tulips. Me, I love ’em, too!!

    That bottom pic is my fave. It almost already looks like a painting. Have at ‘er!! 🙂 But maybe do it in winter, when the flowers will be desires of your dreams.

  2. Friar Says:

    @Steph
    Some paintings take so much work, and I know I’d never do them again, that I hang them in my own house and keep them. This tulip painting is one of them.

    I’ll probably do another one of these paintings, within the next 6 months. (But probably not until October….I take the summer off).

    Right now, the bass and walleye are the desires of my dreams! 🙂

  3. wendikelly Says:

    Nice tulip painting Friar. I don’t know why, but I’ve never painted a tulip. Now I might have to go try it.

  4. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    Aww. It’s very lovely. The whites, especially, have that luminous quality of the real thing. I love how they become little bowls of light when they’re in full bloom and the sun is strong.

    I adore the last photo. That would be a beautiful painting. Go for it.

    Regards,

    Kelly

  5. Friar Says:

    @Wendi
    Thanks!

    Well, my advice for painting tulips is to pick a simpler painting that has maybe 3 or 4 flowers. Don’t try to go OCD and paint 20 like I did here (not for your first painting, at least!) 🙂

    @Kelly
    Again, thanks. I found the whites really tricky to do with watercolor….This painting was so tense, I could have gotten 9 blossoms right, but if I ruined the 10th, the whole painting would be ruined. That’s why I’m keeping this painting for myself (I don’t know if I could ever duplicate this).

    People seem partial to the last photo. I might paint that one….but I might make it a bit more abstract and not try to get every blossom in detail.

  6. Amy Says:

    Fried One — I like your tulips. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a real tulip, as in right in front of my face and not a photo.

  7. Friar Says:

    Really? They dont’ grow tulips where you live? (I’ve always had them around, ever since I was a kid…). It never occurred to me that someone might not have seen them.

    They’re a really nice flower. But they’re only out for 2-3 weeks of the year, in May, and then they’re finished.

    Maybe you gotta be in a certain temperate zone or something.

  8. Amy Says:

    They may sell them in a flower shop, I don’t know. I never go in those shops. Maybe folks do grow them here and I just miss them. Anything that only lives that long would be easy to miss around here. Besides, there is often still snow here in May. 🙂

  9. Friar Says:

    @Amy

    Yeah, I hardly ever go into flower shops (except 1-2 times a year, for my Mom).

    Snow in May? Sounds like Splat Creek! (I’ve seen Tulip blooms poking through the snow in Ontario).


Leave a Reply

