Travels with the Bear: Where the buffalo roam (or fly).

Any guesses as to how they traditionally hunted buffalo hundreds of years ago?

I think the sign pretty much explains it. 😉

For more information, check out www.head-smashed-in.com.

It’s a UNESCO World Heritage Site, no less.

(Regardless of what happened to the poor buffalo, it’s still a pretty cool name for a web page, you gotta admit).

…………………………………….

Never let it be said, that I don’t take the Bear to “interesting” places.

(Can you spot him?)

Explore posts in the same categories: The Outdoor Friar

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

15 Comments on “Travels with the Bear: Where the buffalo roam (or fly).”


  1. Chuckle.. clubbed- to- death.com I guess is for baby seals.

    I see bear, the cutie.. 🙂

    Your tour book reads like MAD magazine.

  2. Friar Says:

    @Janice

    …that’s because my LIFE is like MAD Magazine! 🙂


  3. Hehehe….it kind of looks that way.

  4. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    Love the new tagline.

    Where’s Bear? Am I Saturday-stupid? No, I can’t see him, and I even opened the picture large in another window to help my aching, aged eyes. *sigh*

    The buffalo sign and site fall under the category of truth is stranger than fiction. You wouldn’t think they’d want to go the celebrating-violence route, no matter how honest it may be. Kind of a turn-off to people who can’t get a chuckle out of it, eh? I did get a chuckle, but a small, eeew kind of a chuckle…

    Regards,

    Kelly

  5. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    Hint: Bottom-right corner of the sign. On the 2nd white stripe…

    We have that archetypal image of Indian Braves chasing buffalo on horseback. But I didnt’ realize until recently that they only did that from ~1700 to 1850.

    Before that, there were no horses and they had to hunt the buffalo herds on foot. I guess running them off cliffs was one of the ways to do it.

    Kinda takes away from the Hollywood image of Noble Savage, doesn’t it?

    (Oh well…that’s what they did back then, you can’t undo the past!)

  6. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    OMG. I stared until I turned blue before and didn’t see him. The little fella looks like a clump of grass. Even with the hint I had to stare and stare. Very funny.

    Can’t undo the past, but you can come up with a better marketing angle, LOL. I’m all for historical accuracy, but… eew.

    When you’ve got to eat, you’ve got to eat. No shame in that.

    Until later,

    Kelly

  7. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    Yeah…The sign is is a bit over the top.

    Apparently, it wasn’t sufficient to just have the words say “Head Smashed In”. They had to emphasize it with the graphics of falling buffalo.

    NOT the best marketing in the world, I must admit! 🙂

  8. Brett Legree Says:

    I feel like a head-smashed in buffalo today.

  9. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    Ugh. So do I.

    The way I feel right now, I almost WANT to jump off a cliff.

  10. Ulla Hennig Says:

    Well at least the people who hunted the buffalo in these times did use everything of it – whereas in later times the whites shot them down in hundreds just to make the Indians starve (if you don’t mind adding me just these 2cents!)
    Ulla

  11. Friar Says:

    @Ulla

    Oh, I know. I agree, it was a pretty shitty thing what happened to the buffalo and plains Indians.

    I don’t’ want to get into politics too much. Just that it is kind of a funny sign….not your typical tourist attraction.


  12. I couldn’t find bear until I read your hint to Kelly. Then I still had to enlarge the photo! Very nice camouflage bear has in this picture!

  13. Friar Says:

    @Melissa

    I think the Bear wanted to hide…it was a pretty lame photo! 🙂


  14. It is also a great SNFU song

  15. Friar Says:

    @mylesfromnowhere

    I did not know that!


Leave a Reply

