Motivating Yourself with More Inspirational Quotes

******************************************************************

If you tell me I cannot do something, you are only encouraging me to prove otherwise.
Paulsen Sveblard,  Paralymics Silver Medalist

******************************************************************

A canyon takes millions of years to form, yet each and every raindrop contributes to its creation.
Professor Thurston McDonnel, University of Arizona, (1936).

******************************************************************

Alone, we are defeated.   Together, we win.
Kvele Avaargärd,  Norse King (circa 982 AD).

******************************************************************

The trick is, to let the customer think they’re always right.
P. J. Northrop, Early 20th Century Industrialist.

******************************************************************

Harsh words can cut the soul deeper than a jagged blade will cut the flesh.
Lady Elizabeth Bronte Uppertwait III (1823).

******************************************************************

Gratitude is the basis of all charity.
Bhadda Sivarkhanasrikithsna (circa 1500 BC).

******************************************************************

Negativity is to failure as gasoline is to a grease fire.
Thomas Peabody, 19th Century American Humorist (1889).

******************************************************************

If children are the future, then we are the present.
Maria Marisolivich, Russian Poet (1736)

******************************************************************

You can visit the past, but you can’t stay there.
Dorothy Lemure, The New Yorker (1928).

******************************************************************

Do not wait for hunger.  Hunt now.
Lakota Sioux proverb

******************************************************************

Laughter, like a sparkling fountain, is best when shared by all.
Swedish Proverb

******************************************************************

Showing your enemy compassion is not a sign of weakness, but one of strength.
Hsug Tsi Lao,  Chinese Emperor (215 AD).

*************************************************************************

The bonfires of change are often ignited by a single match of creativity.
Jean-Francois de Couperand, 1782.

******************************************************************

Chocolate has saved more marriages than flowers and kind words have.
Penny McNagg, “How to Save Your Marriage while Saving Yourself”, (1971).

******************************************************************

P.S.   Dear Readers;

In case you’re wondering…

Same as beforeNONE of these quotes are real.

I made them up again, off the top of my head.  😀

– Friar

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Grab Bag

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

33 Comments on “Motivating Yourself with More Inspirational Quotes”

  1. Dan Cheek Says:

    “If children are the future, then we are the present.”

    That makes me laugh and I don’t know why. I like it.

  2. Karen JL Says:

    Your last post was before I was hanging out here.
    You fooled me.

    …Dick.
    🙂
    (I hope we’re at a point in our ‘onlineship’ that I can call you a dick.)

  3. Brett Legree Says:

    @Karen JL,

    You should hear what we call each other “offline”.

    No, wait. Maybe you shouldn’t… 🙂

  4. Friar Says:

    @Dan
    I know…that comment is so LAME, but it sounds like something some tortured intellectual would come up with, doesn’t it? 🙂

    @Karen
    Heh heh heh. GOTCHA!!! 😀

    @Brett
    I dunno…if Karen can take South Park, I’m sure she can take whatever we might dish out.

    “Evil Woodland Critters”. Heh heh heh heh.

  5. Brett Legree Says:

    @Friar,

    True, true…

  6. Karen JL Says:

    @ Friar & Brett – Yes, us animation types are a sick and twisted bunch. 😉

    “Yay! Blood orgy!!”

  7. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    I seem to recall someone mentionning “skulls”. 😉

    @Karen

    OMG…I saw the episode last Friday, where the terrorists took over everyone “Imagination”.

    I forgot how “bad” it was.

    Do you recall what the Evil Imagination guys did to poor Strawberry Shortcake? (And what the Woodland Critters suggested to do to her afterwards?).

    Oh…BRUTAL! 🙂

  8. Karen JL Says:

    @ Friar – Recall? I just bought those DVDs! (And also saw it the same night you did on TV). So bad…in a good way. It’s a 3-parter called ‘Imaginationland’. 🙂

    The best part is when ‘Jason’ says “Yeah, that’s totally hard core” in that lispy voice. Too funny!

    (just replied to your email too)

  9. Writer Dad Says:

    You fooled me for like two and a half.

    Bhadda Sivarkhanasrikithsna: That’s amazing.

  10. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    When I said “bad,” commenting on the last post, I meant, “evil.” These are wicked, wicked quotations.

    Dorothy Lemure—BWAH hahahaha!

    OMG. I have tears on my cheeks from laughing so hard.

    The one from the Bhadda, and the Sioux one, are so painfully possible. Hysterical, yet evil. You are the king of all mockery. What a skill set! I bow.

    I’m tempted to put real drivel up Wednesday just for you. But no, I’ll try to come up with something good, and you can come by and tear it up anyway. 🙂

    Best laugh I’ve had in weeks.

    Regards,

    Kelly

  11. Friar Says:

    @Writer Dad
    To make up names like this, Just take a random assortment of Hindu-sounding yllables (Khan, Sri, Krish, Ana, Than, Van…etc).

    Let’s try:

    Visha Kharashrithnavan

    Sri Bhaddavarathan

    ….see? Easy as pie (or should I say, Nan bread!) 🙂

    @Kelly
    This all fits in very well with my Tortured Intellectual post last week.

    I bet you if I put REAL names, the quotes would seem more legit. (Dorothy Parker, Mark Twain, Voltaire, etc).

    What’s funny, is that my old post of Inspirational Quotes is one of my most popular (It gets 20-40 views a week, I’m now up to over 500 viewings).

    But nobody leaves any comments, though.

    They’re probably ticked off, after finding out that I fooled them and my quotes are bogus. (Hahahah!) 🙂

  12. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    Could they seem any more legit? Nobody does bogus like you do bogus. 🙂

    Until later,

    Kelly

  13. Steph Says:

    I knew it! You had me fooled last time, but I knew this time they weren’t real. The quotes are good, but the names, titles, and dates are totally AWESOME!! It all does sound so legit. Penny McNagg, How to save your marriage while saving yourself”? Perfect combo of name and book!!


  14. I think you just put me off my beloved inspirational quotes for life. Hm.

    😉

  15. Friar Says:

    @Kelly
    My whole blog is bogus (bogus quotes, bogus posters, bogus Hai-ku…).

    @Steph
    Oh, I knew most people would “get it” (after having been fooled last time). But I figured I can always try to inveigle a few more…

    I particularly like the last name of McNagg! (Heheheh)

    @Nicole
    Then my mission is accomplished. 😉

    And I probably ruined motivational posters for a lot of people too…!

    But dont’ be totally put off. Kelly’s Wednesday posts start off with a quote but they’re always followed by a great discussion.

  16. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    88% bogus. Occasionally you go all real on us, and we have to bring hankies because we’re expecting smarmy. I live for that contrast.

    Hey!

    You just made my Wednesday posts sound like they’re a bad thing.

    The posts stink, “… *but* they’re always followed by a great discussion.” LOL.

    I can take it…

    I don’t know what it’s going to be, and nobody but you and I will know (shh!), but tomorrow’s post is just for you, Bucko. (If Karen can say… what Karen said, I get to say Bucko. Yes, I do.)

    I’m going to find a hidden Friar-message in my business quotations file right now.

    Later,

    Kelly

  17. Beth Says:

    “But I figured I can always try to inveigle a few more…”

    And you did! But I enjoyed being fooled.

    That is not always the case.

  18. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    Awww..I didn’t mean it THAT way.

    I mean…it only takes 10 seconds to read the Wednesday quote. It’s the debate afterwards that we come for!

    I was just trying to put in a good word, and tell Nicole about how fun we have at Kelly’s on Wednesdays!

    @Beth

    Well, I this is probably the last post I can do this (before too many people catch on!)


  19. I came on to this and said….uh huh…Friar? Doing Life’s Little Inspirations? Yeah, right.

    Couldn’t fool me. I know the real deal hehehehehee

    you funny funny man.

    seriously though..you can make money from all of this, you know that right? You are going to be rich and leave us all laughing.

  20. Rita Says:

    Friar,

    Quite original. Hmmm…regarding the very first quote: you don’t have the talent to edit what you sent to me. I’ll just do it myself, and try to make you look SOMEWHAT decent. Don’t worry – I’ll take care of it…every little typo, every grammatical error, every word that has been used incorrectly. Nah, you can’t do it. I’ll just have to do it myself, I guess.

    Rita

  21. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    I”d type the ASCII Groucho here, but I’m too tired to figure it out!

    @Wendi
    I can make MONEY from all of this? Please, PLEASE tell me how! (Surely, there’s a way of getting PAID to be a smart-ass!)”

    @Rita
    Well, no I CAN’T do it…(Not until I figure out how to open my Word Files!)

    So you’ll just haveto wait 😉

  22. Cath Lawson Says:

    Hi Friar – I love quotes and I was wondering why I hadn’t heard of any of those people. I like this one best, “You can visit the past, but you can’t stay there.”


  23. Another excellent collection! You should market these as posters and notecards (illustrated with Friar toons, of course).

    I’m with Steph: “Penny McNagg”?!? Classic.

  24. Friar Says:

    @Cath
    Heck. Given that we’re all so much into writing, if I can come up with these, I think almost anyone can! Give it a try…you’ll be suprised to see what you can come up with yourself.

    @Kelly
    Yes! (Groucho made my day!)

    @Rebecca
    Awww….I suspect the market is already flooded with posters of quotations.

    I really liked making up the last names. McNagg. Heh heh. The trick is to make it sound just realistic enough, so that it’s believable.

  25. Karen Swim Says:

    Yes, you got me again but you know what Friar, you’re really good at motivational writing. Tread lightly or your grumpy image will be forever tarnished! 🙂 I love so many of these that I am going to print them. Ha!

  26. Friar Says:

    Karen
    I’m good at motivational writing (??!!). Even if my tongue hurts, from having it in my cheek for so long? 😀

    Well, doesn’t matter where they came from, if words inspire someone, then that’s all that counts.

    If you want to take it one step further, take my quotes, and stick them on some randomly-selected photos of scenery, and VOILA…now you have some motivational posters! 🙂

  27. veredd Says:

    Wow.

    You totally fooled me!

  28. Friar Says:

    @Veredd

    ….THIS time, at least! 🙂


  29. What? These aren’t real?

    You had me! Seriously I though Friar has gone all softy mc soft soft….am I in the right place? I know I ‘ve been busy this week but did have some Epiphany in his canoe?

    NAHHHHH.

  30. Friar Says:

    @Janice

    NAHHHH…I dont’ think there’s any danger in my becoming all soft and new-age and squishy.

    But hey, if a smart-ass like me can come up with quotes that seem “real”, it makes me wonder..

    Just HOW HARD can it be? 🙂


Leave a Reply

