Guest Blogger: Friar’s Mom

Okay, I’ve been known to kid around before, and use fake names in my blog. But I assure you, this time I’m serious.  YES, this is ACTUALLY MY MOM!


Mom enjoys writing.   I suggested she try blogging, but she’s not not really interested. (Probably because it would take time away from her socializing, grandkids, and her 80-mile bike rides).


She does lurk around my blog regularly, but she’s too shy to leave comments.    But I have convinced her to write a guest post.

So without any further ado, may I present:  FRIAR’S MOM.

P.S. Be gentle, it’s her first post…EVER!


– Friar

***************************************************************************************************

Wee Friar and His Art

Wee Friar was a very active child. However, when he had a Crayola, colouring pencil or felt pen in hand, and a stack of paper, he was quiet for a long period of time.

Children love to draw the typical house, with windows, door, chimney, tree, and sunshine. Some children draw curtains in the window, smoke out of the chimney, a pathway, and clouds in the sky.

Wee Friar did one better. He enjoyed setting the house on fire, with flames shooting out of the windows and roof.

He blew up airplanes in the sky. He crashed cars on the ground. These elaborate collisions showed car tires, steering wheels, car seats, fenders and various car parts flung into the air.

We knew he had some artistic potential and a vivid imagination.

Four-year old Wee Friar lived on a quiet crescent in the suburbs. Mrs. Larch (two houses away) held art classes in her home for preschoolers. We decided to enroll him in his first art class, so he could develop his artistic talent.

I waited anxiously for him to arrive with his first masterpiece.

He came to the front door with outstretched arms holding his first painting.

“Hi Wee Friar. Did you have fun at art class?”

“Yah.”

I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry when I saw his work of art. It was an 18” x 24” piece of paper, every inch of it covered with black poster paint. Black? Why black? Doesn’t he have any colour sense? What happened to all the creativity he had shown? What’s wrong with my son? Is he depressed?

“Mom, don’t touch it, it’s still wet.”

“Wee Friar, what did you paint?”

“I made Air Pollution.”

Phew! Clever kid! And thus began Wee Friar’s encounter with art.

Explore posts in the same categories: Guest Bloggers

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

40 Comments on “Guest Blogger: Friar’s Mom”

  1. veredd Says:

    Fascinating!

    This explains SO MUCH about you, Friar. 🙂

    But how do we know this was written by your mom? It would be a tad hard to prove. Do we just TRUST you??

  2. Friar Says:

    @veredd

    You’ll have to trust me on this one…! 🙂

    (After all, would I REALLY write a cute kids story like this about myself?).

    That’s something only a Mom could do.

  3. Karen JL Says:

    Hi Friar’s Mom! (I’m gonna believe it was her Friar…don’t mess with me)

    That was great!

    Anxiously awaiting installment number two: Wee Friar’s first day at school and chaos ensues…
    😀

  4. Kelly Says:

    Hello, Friar’s Mom!

    Thanks for writing this post. It’s the beginnings of his art and his wicked ability to skewer society all rolled into one. What a perfect window into the Wee, Deeo One’s world.

    You wrote it so nicely—you had me laughing out loud at “What’s wrong with my son? Is he depressed?” I know that mom-paranoia all too well. 🙂

    (Friar, was this already in the works Thursday or does your Mom just write cool stories that fast?)

    Regards,

    Kelly

  5. goldenzen Says:

    I am embarrassed. I blushed.
    I thought…well…that when he said he made air pollution…
    it was …
    ah….
    AIR POLLUTION. (you know the kind you need matches to light!)
    Wee Friar and his art. :-)))))
    But after rereading a few times, I see that I am wrong.
    Thank goodness – and mum.


  6. Hello Friar’s mom! Sure is nice to meet you (sort of). That’s quite a story and now we know that Friar was born clever 😉


  7. Great story, Friar’s mom! It’s great to read about the origins of Friar’s artistry, love for nature, and, of course, his trademark cynicism 😉

  8. 6 Weeks Says:

    […] to push little old ladies out of the way to get to the food… you can bet that’s not Friar’s mom, because she’d probably have some words for our Viking […]

  9. Writer Dad Says:

    That’s awesome Friar. A guest post from your mom. I couldn’t let my mom guest post, she’d leave my blog way too messy.

  10. Steph Says:

    Hilarious!! Hi Friar’s mom! This was totally great! I laughed out loud at his rebel painting. It sounds just like him to do the unexpected, probably on purpose. I hope you’ll be a regular here, because we totally want to hear about your fishing trips together. And any clues as to why Friar still takes Bear with him on trips (which is very endearing, btw – we all dig it). I want more! I want to hear more funny stories!

    PS. Now might be a good time for me to apologize, since you’re apparently here a lot, for any of my potty mouth comments. Um…it’s Friar’s fault…? If you don’t believe that one, I was raised Catholic. It might explain a few things. I hope you’re not Catholic. Are you Catholic? If you are, I take it back. The devil made me do it.


  11. AIR POLLUTION!!!
    Friar!!! I just spewed my cup of coffee!!! Dang it.

    Hello Friar’s Mom, Well done….That was a great story.

    I love your son. If I wasn’t already madly in love with the man of my dreams and very content, I would come up there and take the goof ball off of your hands. So instead, I have adopted him as my little brother. I hope that is OK with you.

  12. Rita Says:

    Friar’s Mom,

    First of all – you need to blog more often! I see where Big Friar gets his sense of humor.

    Thank you for ENCOURAGING wee Friar’s art. A lot of parents freak out when the “kiddies” don’t color in the lines. Your encouragement helped to created an artistic and overall genius, who has the ability to touch raw nerves, and keep people coming back for more…and more…and more.

    If you ever want to do another “guest blog,” let me know! I’d be delighted to have you.

    Thanks – for writing, and for being a great mom to Friar and his view of the world!

    Rita

  13. Nicole Says:

    HA! That was well done, Mom! Air pollution indeed. You’ve definitely had a handful, haven’t you? *waggles a finger at Friar* You haven’t changed a whole helluva lot, mister. 🙂

  14. Mike Goad Says:

    Very interesting post — but was that really your mom?

  15. Evelyn Lim Says:

    Hahaha…this is so fascinating! To Friar’s mom, you sure have a talented boy with you!

  16. Amy Derby Says:

    Dear Friar’s Mom,

    It’s nice to know your son was twisted from the start. Er, I mean artistic. Yes, that’s what I meant. 🙂

    You’re a nice mom, really. My mom would have showed up with photos of Wee Me naked in a tub or something equally embarrassing. Hehe.

  17. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    Do you ever have a thought you can’t complete for, say, twelve hours, and it plagues you until you think of it?

    Abstract Expressionism. I couldn’t think of the term at nearly two a.m., but that’s what I wanted to say. You were a four-year-old Abstract Expressionist painter. So very hip!

    Until later,

    Kelly


  18. And color field painter…Wee Friar, sigh…you were South Park before there was even a South Park, explosions, car parts, animated drawings…hm, if you were a tortured intellectual, you could do more of those pollution paintings . Naming them would be the fun.

    Love Mom’s post. Very much. Hope she is an ongoing guest feature. The Wee Friar…..chases crows….puzzles at old folks…refuses to eat biscuits shaped like cute little Berenstein Bears….

  19. Kelly Says:

    Janice,

    Named for no reason anyone else can figure out, like Barnett Newman’s Zip paintings (which are my favorite things in the Entire Universe). Perfect!

    A series of black canvasses: Pollution, Claire, Travels With Bear, Unicorns and Fairies, Baby Formula at the Kwick-e-Mart, Bass Fishing in Autumn…

    Oh, I’m cracking myself up too much. Must go.

    Until later,

    Kelly

  20. Friar Says:

    To everyone (who wrote to Friar’s Mom)

    Thanks! I”m sure Mom will appreciate all the nice things you’ve said. (I think she might be away this weekend, so it might be a few days till she reads this)

    And REST ASSURED…YES!!! This WAS REALLY my MOM!!!

    (I know I can’t prove it…but look at the writing style…that’s quite dissimilar to mine, isn’t it?)

  21. Friar Says:

    @Mike Goad and Karen JL

    YES…! This is really my Mom (Notice there are no emoticons, and I’m not winking?)

    @Kelly
    Actually, Mom wrote this in July, I wasn’t sure when to post it, and I had almost forgotten about it).

    @Writer Dad
    Well, I hope I didn’t come across as a “Mommy’s Boy”, but I don’t think so. Everyone seemed to enjoy this post.

    @Kelly
    I could also have called the drawing “Post-Modernism” or something. (If it ends in “ism”, it’s a valid artsie term).

    @Janice
    I think there are some of those explosion drawings hidden in the Mom’s basement somewhere.

    I should dig them out and compare them to my present drawings!

  22. Brett Legree Says:

    Not only did Friar’s Mom write her first guest post today, but she got her first pingback (I couldn’t resist) – my question for Friar’s Mom is:

    “When did Friar start drawing Vikings?”

  23. steph Says:

    Brett: You mean it wasn’t after he met you??

  24. Friar Says:

    @Steph

    Since I was a kid, I drew cartoons of EVERYTHING.

    But it’s only within the last 6 months that I started focussing on Vikings.

    Guess who’s fault THAT is…? 😉

  25. Brett Legree Says:

    Now don’t go blaming Olaf Thunderfrak… 😉

  26. Rita Says:

    Friar,
    Found this on google and it scared the crap out of me:

    http://www.museumstuff.com/zg.cgi?ln=Friar&fn=Rita

    Rita

  27. Friar Says:

    @Rita

    Rita Friar. OH MAN…!!! 😮

    Monika was saying she might be my long-lost sibling…..is it possible you’re ANOTHER ONE?

  28. Friar's Mom Says:

    To All,

    I’m both flattered and surprised re all your comments. It was just a simple everyday anecdote. There are so many moms out there who have important fantastic stories to tell about their accomplished children. It’s not like my Wee Friar was a child prodigy.

    Wow! It doesn’t take much to get your guys rolling.

    Glad that my offspring provides you with a source of entertainment.

    @Brett

    Should I be excited about a pingback? Dunno what it is. Is it something good or bad? Does it hurt? Will it scar me for life?

    @Steph

    Yes I am Catholic, and when I have time I attend morning Mass during the week. Afterwards, some of us Seniors get together at MacDonald’s for the “$1.39 coffee/muffin deal” which includes endless coffee refills. And no, $1.39 is not the Senior’s rate, this deal is for anyone.

    Friar’s Mom

    p.s. Hmmm! You’ll never really know whether this is Friar or Friar’s Mom. Friar has lost his credibility, he cried “Wolf” too many times.

  29. Brett Legree Says:

    @Friar’s Mom,

    It just means I referred to this post at my blog and specifically to you (which is hopefully painless!) – generally a good thing, hence will not scar you for life. However, it will be out here forever thanks to Google 😉

    -Brett

  30. Friar Says:

    @Friar’s Mom

    Gee, MOM…THANKS a lot! You just HAD to add that last sentence in your comments, didn’t you?

    (See folks? This is how I learned my quirkly sense of humor, and how to mess with people….from Mom herself!)

    I can’t prove Mom wrote this. I can’t disprove it. I can do NOTHING.

    Oh well, let the Chips fall where they may. But my Mom DID ACTUALLY write this post.

  31. Avital Says:

    Hilarious 🙂 It makes me miss my nephews and niece some more. Sounds like you have a clever little guy on your hands (and a very creative one).

  32. Avital Says:

    Coming to think of it, the wee Friar must be not-so-very-wee at the moment…

  33. Karen Swim Says:

    Hi Friar’s Mom! Thank you so much for sharing about Wee Friar. Wee Friar sounds delightful and quite a handful. I’m pretty fond of the adult Friar too, and awfully glad I met him. 🙂

  34. Steph Says:

    Friar’s mom: Of *course* you’re Catholic! Because I’m great at putting my foot in my mouth, or at saying something about someone and then going, “They’re right behind me, aren’t they?” and sure enough they are.

    Friar’s done some hilarious posts on going to mass, and some of us, including me, added some more good stories. You should ask him to show you.

    I love that image of a bunch of you going for coffee afterward! I grew up in a small town, and everyone used to do that too. We went to mass on weekdays when we could while I was growing up, and had catchism lessons, and so on. My dad really wanted us four girls all to be nuns. Of course our favourite movies were The Bells of St. Mary’s, and The Sound of Music.

    My parents were very involved. And then I spent a year in France co-founding a centre for Regnum Christi (http://www.regnumchristi.org/english/) when I was 20 (when I was there, we went to mass every single morning, whether in a convent or whichever church we picked. It was actually pretty cool.)

    We said the rosary every night at my house and my dad had the basement set up like a holy place, statues everywhere. It used to totally freak out my friends…and me!! It was a bit much. I still do go to mass every now and then, and I have to admit, I sometimes miss the traditions my family and I had when we were all together. It’s just that our church here, more so the congregation, leaves much to be desired, which makes me too upset when I’m there. It’s tough to overlook. Plus, admittedly, many of my views have changed.

  35. Friar's Mom Says:

    @ Steph

    Bishop Sheen’s TV Program promoted the following “The family that prays together, stays together”. My parents decided to give prayer a try. I guess it worked because we were a close family.

    Although we didn’t have a makeshift shrine like you had in your home, we too knelt down every night and prayed the Rosary. This was followed by a lengthy Litany. One night I didn’t feel like praying and told my mom I wasn’t feeling well. She suggested I could lie in bed. Then she asked the family to kneel at the foot of my bed and to pray for my speedy recovery. Did I ever feel sheepish. I recovered quickly.

    When Wee Friar was an altar boy, I was Chairman of the Children’s Liturgy in our Parish. (Yes we had chairmen in those days.) I encouraged him to try out for an acting part in the Easter Pageant, and he acquired the lead role of Jesus Christ.

    So Wee Friar, your acting debut in front of the entire parish was indirectly my fault, because I suggested the Pageant. The cake and MacDonald’s orange drink, which the youngsters enjoyed afterwards, was also my fault.

  36. Steph Says:

    Friar’s mom: I so know Fulton Sheen!! My parents used to have tapes of him. And they ALWAYS said, the family that prays together, stays together. 🙂 We also had to listen to James Dobson, the Focus on the Family guy.

    And each one of us girls had to memorize the litany — yup, the entire long thing. We each led it after the rosary on alternate nights! I still remember some of it.

    LOL! Smart mom you have! I faked sick to skip mass once and my dad made sure that not only did I have the mass on TV, but he came home after to deliver the host to me (yup, he was a Eucharistic minister)!!

    Wee Friar was Jesus?! Awesome!! Let’s hear that story! I’m sure there’s something hilarious about it!

  37. Ellen Wilson Says:

    Friar you crazy f***! this was the funniest damn thing. Haaa!

    Give your mom my regards. E

    PS Interesting rendition of air pollution for someone who lives in Canada. It shows empathy for those who do not have clean air in less fortunate parts of the world.

  38. Friar Says:

    @Avital

    That “Wee Friar” story took place 40 years ago. So yes, I’m not so “Wee” anymore

    @Mom and Steph
    Oh, you guys are hilarious, having an on-line conversation while I was away on training all day!

    @Karen
    Well, shucks, I’m fond of you too! 🙂

    @Ellen
    I don’t think I was very empathic about those less fortunate than me, Not at age four.

    I probably just wanted to paint lots of BLACK 🙂


  39. Dear Friar’s Mom,

    Ah the insights we gain from the mother. I am sure you have naked baby photos that you are holding onto for just the right moment. I highly recommend a Wee Friar’s Life series, including said photographs. It will be a great hit amongst Friar readers, and would likely make his stats go through the roof. Just be sure to include words like Bob Dylan and……oh…um, never mind.

    Sincerely,

    Urban Panther

  40. Friar Says:

    @Panther

    Oh…no! Don’t give my Mom any crazy ideas!

    (There will be NO baby pictures!)


Leave a Reply

