Travels with the Bear: Poland, this time!

There’s a Paris, Ontario.    There’s a London, Ontario.

But who would have thought there’s a POLAND, Ontario?

Not much of a place, either.    One church, about six houses.    No gas station, no convenience store…nothin’!  It makes Wawa look like a bustling metropolis.

Why this village even merits it’s own road sign, I have no idea.   I don’t even know the history of this place,  You can’t even find anything on Wikipedia.

Has anyone ever heard of this town besides me?

Anyone want to guess where this is?

(Hint:  It’s not too far from Plevna and Flower Station!)

Explore posts in the same categories: Small Town Ontario, The Outdoor Friar

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

32 Comments on “Travels with the Bear: Poland, this time!”


  1. Plevna?! Lordy, there’s nothing there either!

  2. Steph Says:

    Never heard of it! I had no clue we had a Poland! Aw, Bear is so cute in the first photo! I didn’t see him in the other two, is he in them?

    Was this trip recent? It looks like this time of year.


  3. Does bear have eyes? I tried to zoom in on the photo, but I couldn’t tell (just curious).

  4. Writer Dad Says:

    I don’t remember the name of the city, but one time when I was driving up the coast of California, I actually passed a city limit sign that said “Population: 13.”

    Why bother?

  5. Friar Says:

    @Panther
    Not much around Ompah, either!!!

    @Steph
    Heh heh. It’s not that far from you….Lanark County, about 20 klicks from Carleton Place.

    @Rebecca
    Yep, Junior has eyes. But they’re hidden by his shaggy fur. (You can never see them in the photos)

    @Writer Dad
    Hahah! 13 people. Talk about the shallow end of the gene pool.

  6. veredd Says:

    I was born and grew up in a city. I’ve always lived in cities. I can’t even begin to imagine living in a place like that. I would be bored to death. I’m sure it’s peaceful, though. 🙂

  7. Friar Says:

    @veredd

    I agree…I think I’d kill myself if I had to live there.

    It’s funny, though…it’s within an hour’s drive of Ottawa (over 1,000,000 people). And I don’t think many Ottawaans even know Poland exists.

  8. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    Either my comment got eaten last night or it’s sitting in moderation because of the link I put in it. I can redo it if you can’t find it…

    Later,

    Kelly

  9. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    I think your comment got eaten…I don’t see it anywhere :-(.

  10. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    WTF. I redid the comment, it got blasted. I redid again, it got blasted.

    Okay, no link this time. Go to Yahoo (that’s what I used) or Google, type in

    “Poland, Ontario” Wikipedia

    like that. With Poland, Ontario in quotes. You’ll see a link for it halfway down on the right, which I’ve tried to set here in the comments three times now. Little teeny place. A bit of history there, too.

    This comment was NOT worth all the effort I put into it, but I was getting stubborn about it!

    Later,

    Kelly

  11. Kelly Says:

    I meant, when you click on the Wikipedia article that comes up, you’ll see a link for the town halfway down on the right. Good grief. Time to move away from the keyboard!

  12. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    Ohhh….I see.

    I just typed in “Poland Ontario” and got all kinds of useless hits.

    It was the COMMA that was missing.

    Poland, Ontario.

  13. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    From Wikipedia:

    The township comprises the communities of Arklan, Boyds, Brightside, Bullock, California, Cedardale, Clyde Forks, Clydesville, Dalhousie Lake, Elphin, Flower Station, Folger, French Line, Halls Mills, Halpenny, Hood, Hopetown, Joes Lake, Lammermoor, Lanark, Lavant, Lavant Station, Lloyd, Marble Bluff, McDonalds Corners, Middleville, Pine Grove, Poland, Quinn Settlement, Rosetta, Tatlock, Watsons Corners and White, as well as the ghost town of Herrons Mills

    Heheh.

    They must be talking about villages of less than 20 people, or something. Because I don’t know ANY of those towns (and over the years, I have at one point or another driven all through Eastern Ontario…inside and out).

  14. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    Well, with 5,000+ total, and that many to split all the people among, yeah. A lot of them must be just the last oldsters standing, soon to be ghost towns. It cracked me up when I found it. Wikipedia has bloomin’ near everything!

    Later,

    Kelly

  15. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    I’m just wondering, who actually has the free time to write to Wikipedia about Poland. (Or Flower Station, for that matter?)

  16. Kelly Says:

    ‘Xactly what I was thinking.

    Only a resident of Poland could have tie to write about Poland. Nuthin else to do…

  17. Kelly Says:

    … time…

    LOL I just got a message that said “You are posting comments too quickly. Slow down.” when I tried to put this message up.

  18. Ed Says:

    Poland made me think of the village where I now live. I tried to Google “Clarksville”, which I got from my house deed . It was one of the small villages that formed my current village near “Splat Creak”. The hits from Google are all for other places. When my house was first deeded, Clarksville consisted of a few houses, farms, churches and a store. Life must have been really simple then. This was before the railway came through and long before the “factory” was built. But there was four churches then! Probably because there was no TV or internet!

  19. Andrew Says:

    Poland, Ontario was settled not surprisingly by a large population of polish immigrants. Wilno (further north) has a very large Polish population, in fact their tavern/bar serves perogees (i recomend them).

    At the turn of the century the lanark highlands had a large mining and forestry industry and as well as a little farming which was bolstered by the Kingston and Pembroke railway which cut through the area. However the mining and lumbering died down, the rail line was pulled in 1963ish. Very little farming continues sincethe soil was never that great in the area.

    Regardless The area is beautiful and steeped in history.

  20. Friar Says:

    @Andrew
    That whole area in Eastern Ontario had rough soil and a lot of failed farms. (Especially along the Opeongo Road, in the Madawaska highlands to the West). I love the fact that you can still see some of the original 150-year old barns that are still standing, with cross-cut logs.

    I LOVE the town of Wilno, and I’ve often stopped there at the pub. The perogies are unlike anything I’ve seen, they’re huge.

    (In the summer, on Sundays, they have an all-you-can-eat buffet, which is awesome, especially after canoe camping and starving all weekend!)

  21. June Says:

    A fellow genealogist told me that Poland was actually named after early Scottish families with the surname PAUL.

  22. Mel Says:

    Poland is actually a pretty neat place. For those into trekking off the travel guide map, there are campsites there where you can camp for as long as you want, no reservations needed, no fees. Fire pits? Yes. Bathrooms and showers? No.

    It’s down a little road which is hard to describe, so it’s the type of place where someone needs to show you around in order to know all the treasures it keeps.

  23. Friar Says:

    @Mel
    That’s like where I live. Tons of lakes and beautiful areas you can drive to…and it’s on Crown Land..so camping’s free.

    Let the city crowd flock to the Provincial Parks….we know better! 😉

  24. Spartan Says:

    I live here. It’s a great place to grow up. It has a name because it used to be a bustling town, but Perth and Lanark ended up growing instead. From what I’ve heard there used to be at least two hotels and my parents used to run a store, but it went out of business. City people will never understand living in the country. People actually care about each other in the country (for the most part).

  25. Friar Says:

    @Spartan

    That’s why I like going on the back-roads and exploring these small towns. I”m also fascinated with the history of when these towns were booming and in their prime. I;ll check them out on “Ghost Towns of Ontario”.

    I live in a small town too. But with several thousand people, compared to Poland it’s a bustling metropolis.

  26. Spartan Says:

    oh, and I think it got it’s name because someone who walked from Perth to Poland said it was like walking to the north pole. Not sure about that though. They also say it was mistakenly called Poland, but was actually Paul-land, because of the amount of Pauls (surname) that live(d) there.

  27. Spartan Says:

    yeah, Poland’s like population 30.

  28. Spartan Says:

    @Friar

    It’s not a ghost town though. My mother lives in the church, and my father lives across the street.

  29. Friar Says:

    @Spartan

    A population of 30 is about as close as you can get to a ghost town, and still be alive. 🙂

    But I like the historical facts. I tried googling Poland once and there wasnt’ much there. Best to hear it first-hand from people who lived there.

  30. Spartan Says:

    @Friar

    I did the same thing. I wish there were more pictures from when it was booming. If I ever find any I’ll post them here.

  31. Ben Says:

    Poland is a great little town. My ancestors settled there over 150 years ago

  32. Me Says:

    Well I just bought a house here in Poland , I really don’t believe there is 30 people here but what do I know I just moved here. Its quiet and beautiful. And looking forward to the summer to explore the area as I am told so many lakes and trails …


Leave a Reply

