Past their Peak

I thought I’d do a repeat from last week, and try to photograph some more fall colors.

But you know what?

It was okayyyy…but not great.

The flaming bright colors have faded to rusty ochre shades.    The trees are noticeably barer.

And the reds.   The beautiful reds are gone!  I could almost cry.

What a difference 8 days makes.  Here’s a photo I took on September 29th:

Here’s the same photo today, October 7th:

Sigh.

Yes, the leaves have definitely peaked.

That’s it for 2008.

It’s a bittersweet time.   I feel like a kid at the mall the day after Christmas, when they start taking down the decorations.

Oh, well, that’s life, I guess.

I’m just SO GLAD I got out last week, and took those photos when I did. 🙂

Explore posts in the same categories: The Outdoor Friar

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

15 Comments on “Past their Peak”


  1. Wow, that IS a big difference.

    And you’re sure light has nothing to do with it, correct?

    I’m glad you got those earlier photos too.

  2. Friar Says:

    @Vered

    No, no, no. It wasn’t just the light. I drove 250 km after work today, looking for snapshots, and it was like this everywhere. A big noticeable difference.

    Compare the two photos of the same maple tree. Look how the pine trees behind it are now visible. Look how the piles of leaves in front of the house is significantly bigger.

    (Though I’m hoping to go to Lake Placid this weekend, which is further south, so I might catch another peak, hopefully!)

  3. Writer Dad Says:

    They may have peaked, but the trees in my town look exactly the same as they did last week, and exactly the same as they will next week, and the week after.

  4. Friar Says:

    @Writer Dad

    Yeah, but in a few months, when we’re in a deep-freeze, you’ll still have nice green trees! 🙂

  5. Kelly Says:

    Writer Dad—ROFLOL!

    Friar,

    Are you trying to worry me?

    I’m not worried. I’m not. I have your cute VT map bookmarked. I will see a colorful leaf this year… I hope.

    Our ugh-brown leaves here are fading to just ugh. Too much effort to be brown anymore. But we did get a cold snap, which has cheered me considerably. Week-end! Week-end! Almost here, right?

    That shot of the tree one week later is so dramatic! The difference, I mean, not the tree obviously. The bend in the road shot is pretty, though I can see it’s past its prime. It’s still eye candy for south-dwellers. 🙂

    Regards,

    Kelly

  6. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    It’s still quite beautiful….lots of yellows and greens. It’s just past the brightest reddest part. (We get so spoiled here…).

  7. davinahaisell Says:

    They’re still great shots, but you sure can tell the difference. Glad you got the earlier shots. Well, it won’t be too long before you are taking down Christmas decorations. I myself don’t bother to put any up anymore. If I had kids and a big family get-together planned I would be motivated.

  8. Friar Says:

    @davina

    I took down my Christmas Decorations in June (It was almost past the half-way point, when I could have said I was putting them up early!)

    Even though I’ve lived here all my life, it still amazes me how I might be shovelling snow in less than two months!

  9. Karen JL Says:

    Wow, such a difference in those photos. Mother nature is on an agenda, man. No time to waste!

    And…no more mention of Christmas till late November OK? O-K?!?


  10. Friar,

    What a great message not to waste our precious moments. Are you sure that this isn’t LLI ? Maybe you should do a guest post. 🙂

    By the way, I promised Rita I would bug you about responding to the book. She is waiting…..Don’t let the leaves change on that…we NEED you!

  11. Amy Derby Says:

    That first photo would make a great painting. 🙂

  12. Friar Says:

    @Karen
    Last week, they forecast WET SNOW FLURRIES (just south of here). But we haven’t had any of the nasty white stuff yet.

    @Wendi
    Well, I admit…there IS a message here. To get out there, and strike while the iron is hot (But I was hoping it would go un-noticed).

    I would certainly not try to compete with LLI.

    (And I don’t think I could, if I tried!) 🙂

    @Amy
    You think?

    I might put that one on my short list. (My Monday nigth painting classes have started again).

  13. Steph Says:

    Holy crap! Where the hell did this post come from? Or, rather, where the hell have I been?? how disorienting. I totally missed this!!

    Your Sept. 29th photo is lovely. But I know what you mean! We’ve had frost a few times so the leaves just didn’t survive. They simply dropped, like rain.

  14. Friar Says:

    @Steph

    Pretty quick, eh? How it changes.

    I’m off to Lake Placid this weekend. Mostly to hike. The leaves are past their peak but I might still find a few pockets of red.

    PS. This was a Ninja post….I wrote it really quick, and snuck it in.


  15. […] Last Hurrah… Last week, I wrote that the leaves had peaked.   And they […]


Leave a Reply

