One Last Hurrah…

Last week, I wrote that the leaves had peaked.   And they have.

But they’re not totally done.

We’re not out of the woods yet! (Insert groan here.)

Actually, it’s a strange year, because the fall colors seem to have gotten a second wind, and there was  another peak.

Especially in Upstate New  York, where I was hiking last weekend.   There were still a few pockets of nice color, here and there.   Even some lingering red.


And yellow!

Well, yellow came back with a vengeance!

Thanks, Whoever is in Charge.

It was nice to get one last hurrah, before everything gets covered in snow.

(And at least now, I have some landscapes to paint during the winter!).

Explore posts in the same categories: The Outdoor Friar

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

26 Comments on “One Last Hurrah…”

  1. Brett Legree Says:

    Those are still pretty nice, considering how late in the year it is. You should go back on your first circuit on or about Valentine’s Day, take some pictures and call it “Frozen Hell”… 🙂

  2. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    It will be “Frozen Hell” in another 5-6 weeks!

  3. Brett Legree Says:

    I didn’t think it became hell until after New Years when we are all hung over!

  4. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    Why wait till New Years to get hung over?

  5. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    The top one is unbelievable. The way the sun’s hitting the reds, they’re almost pink, and with the yellows, ooh. That will make a nice painting. I love the last one, too. Very peaceful looking. Hooray for last hurrahs!

    🙂

    Regards,

    Kelly

  6. Brett Legree Says:

    @Friar,

    True enough, never stopped us before…

    On a serious note, the second last one is my favorite.

  7. Amy Derby Says:

    These are beautiful Friar. 🙂

    (insert something sarcastic here. I’m having an off day.)

  8. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    It was a productive weekend. I got a lot of painting ideas from that weekend.

    @Brett
    I admit, the 2nd last one is my favorite too.

    PS. Beerz on Saturday, I hope (with a bonfire!)

    @Amy
    Thanks, Amy.

    (But did you want to add something sarcastic of your own? Or did you want ME to add something sarcastic?). I’m okay with both 😉


  9. These are gorgeous. It’s all green here in California, but those fall colors should be setting in soon.

  10. Friar Says:

    @Melissa

    I see this every year, but I NEVER get tired of it.

    (Do you get many fall colors in California?).

  11. Writer Dad Says:

    I know I say this every time, but SERIOUSLY… beautiful. We have no color in my neck of the woods. Well, actually we have the brilliant blue of the Pacific Ocean so I suppose I’m being spoiled, but those are still absolutely majestic.

  12. Friar Says:

    @Writer Dad

    Well, like I told Melissa, it still amazes ME..and I see this every year.

    It’s like the brain is incapable of remembering such brilliant colors…each year, it’s like a Control-Alt-Delete and I start fresh and see things with eyes wide open.

  13. Steph Says:

    Oooh, beautiful. Makes me wish it would last forever. I can’t believe the reds we’re seeing this year. I haven’t seen colour like this in a long time.

    What are those marks on the rock in that one photo? And is that the moon I see in that picture, too? WOW.

  14. Friar Says:

    @Steph

    I dunno what those marks are. (Viking Runes, perhaps?).

    Yes…that WAS the moon. I finished the hike in the dark, and the moon lit up the trail…it was AWESOME.


  15. Leaves should be green. Fin

  16. Friar Says:

    @Francis

    But they AIN’T.

    At least, not right now.

  17. davinahaisell Says:

    Hi Friar. The last one is gorgeous. I wonder if the colours just seem brighter because the sky is greyer?

  18. Friar Says:

    @Davina
    Seems the trees almost give off their own light, eh?

    Actually, I think if the sun was out, it would have been even brighter!


  19. Gorgeous! Absolutely fantastical. I can hear the crunching beneath my feet. What a place to hike.

  20. Friar Says:

    @Janice

    I’m going to start painting a few of these photos, too! (Probably within the next few weeks).

    I have my eye on the last one!

  21. Mike Goad Says:

    Very nice pictures. I just hope that our peak is a pretty as your second one. Trees are starting to turn here, but, unfortunately, leaves seem to be dropping from some trees as fast as the colors are changing.

  22. Friar Says:

    @Mike

    It’s so precarious, isn’t it? All it takes is one night of high winds, and it could be finished.

    Right now, where I am..it definitely IS finished. (What a difference from last week)

    A few straggling trees have leaves, but 3/4 of the leaves have fallen. It makes for very monochrome boring landscapes.


  23. GORGEOUS!! Ah! Breathtaking.

  24. Friar Says:

    @Jaden

    Thanks!

    And now…the leaves are done. Completely.

    It’s amazing how the scenery can go from breathtaking to “blah” in just one week.

    Well, we have 2 months of “blah”, before everything is covered in snow at it all looks fresh and white again.

  25. bethpart Says:

    That road through the yellow trees…beautiful.

  26. Friar Says:

    @beth

    That was in upstate NY. Just outside of Odgensburg.


Leave a Reply

