Friar-O-Lanterns (Part III)

It’s Friday, and it’s been a really SERIOUS week.

And I’m tired.

So today, I’m not going to discuss who should be the Elf-Leader of the Middle Kingdom.  Nor will I take out my Magical Lute and sing whale-songs to save Mother Earth.

Today, I don’t care how we’re going to rescue little Timmy and Bhupinder who both fell down the well.

Today, I won’t ponder the existence of the Gitchi Manitou.  Nor will I attend a Morality Play teaching our children to respect their Play-Doh.

Today, I won’t read that inspirational passage that someone wrote.   Even if it could change my life.  I’m willing to take that risk.

Today, I don’t even want to talk about RSS or SEO.   Or PBS or NBC or Ee-Eye-Ee-Eye-Oh.

Nope.   It’s Friday, and I’m tired.

Today, I just want to draw cartoon pumpkins.

Stupid, silly pumpkins.

Happy Friday!  😀

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Grab Bag

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

32 Comments on “Friar-O-Lanterns (Part III)”


  1. You will enjoy my latest post MY FRIEND. After seeing one of your pumpkins, I think it will make you smile. Love the paralympics pumpkins. 🙂


  2. Friar, I love how the pumpkin book is coming along. By next October, it will be a best-seller! AND big…at this rate! I love the suicidal one…Pumpkin smoothies anyone?

    Oh, don’t stop by LLI today, I wouldn’t accidently want to inspire you and change your life or anything…or..if you do come by…just scrolll quickly to the bottom…DON’T READ!

  3. Friar Says:

    @Harmony

    Heh heh. That was a pretty good post.

    It makes me want to eat a donut.

    @Wendi
    Oh, I just won’t read LLI….TODAY.

    But I figure your message will still be up there tomorrow…:-)

  4. Brett Legree Says:

    Friar,

    As a follow-on to the Canadian Pumpkin, you should do Ugly Bob, with the paper bag hiding the fact that he’s hideously deformed… (but of course looks exactly the same as everyone else…)

    Now that you did the McCain-O-Lantern, you’ll be on the “no fly list”… 🙂

  5. Sal Says:

    Space Invaders had to be the best one by far! Oh, the memories.

  6. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    I could also do an Obama-Lantern. Mabye next week.

    @Sal
    I googled “Space Invaders” last night to remember how to draw them.

    Did you know there’s tons of Space Invader on-line games, for FREE?

    (Call me lame, but sometimes I prefer these ancient video games to the newer ones!)

  7. Steph Says:

    Friar, that was actually a really awesome post. I LOVED what you said, because I can totally relate to how you feel.

    AND THE PUMPKINS!! AHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!

    I can’t pick a favourite!! I laughed out loud at all of them! This series is the BEST!!!

    AHAHAHAHAHAAHAHAHA!!!!

    Talibantern!! MmffHA! Suicidal!! Hahaha! Canadian pumpkin…BAHAHAHAHAHAHA!! I could go on! Every single one is funny!! You’re on your game today.


  8. Suicidal – ROFL….oh dear, that makes me rather morbid doesn’t it. Oh well…ROFL!

  9. Karen JL Says:

    And here I was ready to launch into a deep discussion about Ee-Eye-Ee-Eye-Oh.

    Oh well, another day perhaps.

    Yay for Canadian pumpkins! 🙂 (Was the Bleah! one a puke-kin?)

  10. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    I love your cynicism. It’s always put to good use here. Photographic negative, MRI (bwah ha ha), Alas poor Jack (Shakespearean pumpkins! yahoo!), all great, but the Talibantern–OMG. The name alone is hysterical. Your stream-of-consciousness on these pumpkins totally scares me. 🙂

    Regards,

    Kelly

  11. Friar Says:

    @Steph

    hahah! YESSSS! You can see where I was coming from….!! (I hope I don’t lose too many readers for being a grumpy Friar).

    Glad I could make your day with these cartoons. (Looks like I’ll still hafta do more next week!)

    @Panther
    You’re not alone. I think quite a few people (including Steph) prefer the gory pumkins.

    @Karen

    PUKE-IN!!! AHAHAHAH! 😀

    Oh, I wish I had thought of that!

    PS. I was thinking of you when I drew the South Park Canadian one.

    @Kelly
    You know, I think that is the FIRST TIME I quote Shakespeare on this blog (well, SORTA quoted him!)

    Don’t anyone ever say the Deep Friar isn’t cultured! 😉

    My stream of conciousness somewhat alarms me too (My brain doesn’t know what to do next).


  12. LOL Canadian pumpkin. “Kick the baby.”

    Thanks for an amusing, brainless post. It’s been a really long week …

  13. Friar Says:

    @Rebecca

    Brainless fits my mood today!!!

    Kick the baby. Heh heh heh! I remember that one! 🙂

  14. Allison Day Says:

    Hehe I love the quantum pumpkin. 😀

    The Canadian pumpkin definitely makes me giggle as well! 😛


  15. Here, here.
    Hear, hear.

    There, there dear Friar. Its past beer o’clock do you know where ale is?

    Francis

  16. Friar Says:

    @Allison

    The quantum pumpkin is one of my favorite, (along with the Talibantern). ALALALALALA!!!!

    @Francis
    Well, I WAS supposed to have ale with Brett yesterday, but his kids have come down with the plague. (Leprosy, or Ebola, I dunno what…)

    But we plan on trying again, tomorrow night. Ale and a bonfire!

  17. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    Quoting the man proves at some point you read a little Shakespeare, unless you watched Laurence Olivier or Kenneth Branagh do him…

    The Friar is not cultured. The Friar is Deep. 🙂

    Later,

    Kelly

    P.S. Brett: Sorry to hear about the leprosy…

  18. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    Well, like I said, I read maybe 3-4 Shakespeare Plays in High-School English.

    And I think I saw a Shakespeare spoof on Gilligan’s Island once.

    So I know just enough to fake it. 😉

  19. Brett Legree Says:

    Friar, you grumpy bastard 🙂

    The world needs Achmed the Dead Pumpkin…

  20. davinahaisell Says:

    Hi Friar. I liked the Paralympics one. Reminds me of Cinderella’s carriage.

  21. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    Hmm….another idea for next week! 🙂

    @Davina
    I made sure to get the Pumpkin wheels diagonal, for extra stability, like the real Paralympians have!

  22. t.sterling Says:

    I wish I could pick a favorite… they are all so random and hilarious which feeds into my sense of absurd humor. Or my absurd sense of humor. Whichever fits. Nevertheless, it brought back tender memories of when I was wee and drew on the back of my tests in school. I’m not sure what the teachers thought of them, but I don’t think they cared as long as I attempted to answer the questions.

    It’s odd that when I’m tired, I tend to write a lot more and it just becomes babblings about random things that amuse me in my near unconscious mind. Good times. More pumpkins!


  23. HAH. I LOVE these. Love them. 🙂 Best pumkins ever award.


  24. I really do know how to spell pumpkins… haven’t had coffee yet.

  25. Friar Says:

    @t.sterling and Janice

    If you liked these, have you checked out my earlier pumpkins from last week?

    (See my October 7 and October 8 posts)


  26. Your drawings remind me of a halloween instructional drawing book I had when I was a kid… it was my favorite! I used to draw pumpkins all the time. I love your youthful spirit. Maybe it is time someone put out a new edition, hmmm Friar?????

  27. Friar Says:

    @Jaden

    You’re not the first to suggest this. I’m seriously considering doing this on a larger scale and seeing if I can put out a book.

    In the mean time, I’ll have some more later this week.

  28. Rita Says:

    Friar,

    HOW DID I MISS THIS? Could you please add the following to my past order:
    1. Octolantern
    1. Fred-o-Lantern

    Any chance you could make a turd-o-lantern? I KNOW my husband would want a dozen of those!

    Hopefully. I’ll stop laughing my ass off until the delivery arrives!

    Rita

  29. Friar Says:

    @Rita

    Well, hopefully I’ll have some more lanterns within the next week or so! 🙂

    You guys keep giving me such good ideas!


  30. I saw the others and loved them as well….. 2 Hoots.and a Heinken for you.


  31. My favorite is Space Invaders. Man, I used to love that game on Atari. In fact, I have it on my cell phone. What can I say? I’m a child of the 80s!

  32. Friar Says:

    @Janice

    There will be another pumpkin installment before the 31st.

    @Melissa
    Ohhh!!! ATARI!

    Oh, man, I remember that one. My best friend was one of the few I knew who actualy had one. They were something like $200 (back in 1982).

    We were so thrilled with Space Invaders and Asteroids…even though the resolution was so bad you could see individual pixels!

    But in some ways, those games are MORE fun than the newer ones.


Leave a Reply

