Friar-O-Lanters (Part IV)

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar Toons

Tags: , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

33 Comments on “Friar-O-Lanters (Part IV)”

  1. Mike Goad Says:

    Funny.

    I don’t really know much about that Lorenz contraction (and have no need to learn), but I have many times seen the Cherenkov effect in water. Very pretty, especially when all other lighting is turned off.

  2. Friar Says:

    @Mike

    The theory of relativity states that as an object approaches the speed of light, it appears more squished (from the point of view of a stationary observer).

    I dunno why…but it just IS.

    (Plus, I HAD to throw in some science-geek Jack-o-lanterns…it wouldn’t be the same if I didn’t!) πŸ™‚

  3. Steph Says:

    Okay, this series is the funniest!!

    AHAHAHAHAHA!! The Stewie one kills me! Wait! And the Dr. Octopus! And the Fox TV special one! And…BAHAHAHAHA!! The conjoined twins one!! The angle of their faces and their expressions, and the “we lead normal lives”!! AHAHAHAHA!!!

    The expression on the EFF YOU lantern is hilarious! And the science ones are totally cool.

  4. Brett Legree Says:

    Maybe you should do “Splat Creek Old People Lynch Mob Pumpkins at Friar’s house with pitchforks and torches”!

  5. Karen Swim Says:

    Friar, you are hilarious! I like them all! Perk o lantern and spray on hair are my faves, no wait I also like the Fox Reality show and Stewie, although the conjoined twins are twisted fun. Oh never mind, I can’t pick a favorite, they’re all funny!

  6. Friar Says:

    @Steph

    With fans like you, I can’t possibly fail! πŸ˜€

    @Brett
    Three Words: Vikings Versus Pumkins.

    Coming soon, to a blog near you! πŸ™‚

    @Karen
    Ditta, for what I said to Steph! (These aren’t too politically incorrect for you, though?) πŸ˜‰

  7. Brett Legree Says:

    Pumpkin entrails everywhere…

    πŸ™‚


  8. Oh the humanity… Vikings vs. pumpkins, pikes, and entrails everywhere, torches…ooh, monster parts… Uncle Friar could tell a really juicy Halloween tale….and there’s Stewie!!!! And I LOVE the lipstick on the Sarah Palantern. ;-))))) Cool pumkin’ science too perfesser!

    LOVE THESE.

  9. Brett Legree Says:

    Janice,

    Don’t forget brain-eating Zombie Pumpkins…

  10. Friar Says:

    @Janice and Brett

    Oh, I can see the ideas already, in front of me.

    I’m half-tempted to start drawing the Viking Battle this afternoon! πŸ™‚

  11. Karen JL Says:

    @ Friar – I’m sure you have some horribly boring meeting to sit through when you could draw some more.

    Lots of good ones in this batch!

    And as far as the Lorenz contraction one: GEEK.
    πŸ˜‰

  12. Brett Legree Says:

    Friar,

    At least it won’t get lost when the network crashes.

    ‘Nuff said.


  13. Brett- Oh yes! Zombies!!! Mummy pumpkins did he do those? Tut’s in town here..well, not him, but some of his stuff…

    Friar- Hey you have til Friday…..like Karen sez.. a couple of boring meetings, done. Villagers and torches….. and Vikings , a Halloween Berserker Tale for the kiddies….woooo….okay I am creeping myself out…where’s my flashlight?

  14. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    The Mercator Projectionβ€”LOL!! That’s my favorite. The conjoined twins is super funny, too.

    Oh, I’ve missed the Internet the last few days… backing up now to see what you’ve been writing…

    Regards,

    Kelly

  15. Brett Legree Says:

    @Kelly – I’ve been wondering where you were (see, you are loved!)

  16. Friar Says:

    YAYYY!!!

    Kelly’s back! πŸ˜€

  17. Friar Says:

    @Janice

    Oh, I think a berserker is definitely in order…

  18. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    Our network NEVER crashes.

    No sirree. Nuh-uh. No way.

    Rock solid, our network is. πŸ˜‰

  19. Friar Says:

    @Karen JL

    Oops…forgot you there…in the crowd.

    The secret with a boring meeting, is to have enough people so they dont’ notice you doodling. (Unfortunately, I have no such meetings this week!).

    But that STILL wont’ stop the Pumpkin Crusade…!


  20. oooh, rubs her hands in maniacal anticipation…;-)


  21. They just keep getting better! I LOLed (literally) at “when pumpkins go bad.”

    Will you do a “pumpkins gone wild” one too?

  22. Kelly Says:

    *blushes* You’re awesome. Without even being able to check email until yesterdayβ€”believe it or not, I got a thing-like-a-virus (cuz Macs don’t get viruses) on my home laptop when I took it to do a little wifi at the library, where their computers had a wifi virusβ€”anyway, I was wondering if anyone would even notice. Thanks, Friar.

    Pumpkin-art is so much evil fun. Keep up the not-quite-work!

    Later,

    Kelly

  23. Allison Day Says:

    Of COURSE the science themed Friar-O-Lanterns were my favorite. Just wouldn’t be the same if you didn’t have a couple of them in there. πŸ˜€

  24. Friar Says:

    @Janice
    Are you sure you dont’ have Viking ancestry?

    @Rebecca
    Pumpkins gone wild…Hmmm….Hard to draw that. They dont’ have bodies, so how are they supposed to pull up their T-shirts to expose themselves? πŸ™‚

    @Kelly
    Yeah, we MISSED YOU. Glad your Sort-of Virus is fixed now.

    @Allison
    Ahhh..the star pupil. I knew you’d like the science ones…I hand you in mind when I drew them (Despite what Karen JL calls me!) πŸ˜€

  25. Allison Day Says:

    @Friar – Awww, thanks! I feel so special. πŸ˜€ It’s okay, I’ve learned to embrace the title “geek” very proudly. πŸ˜‰


  26. Well the Scot in me does have a fondness for kilts… and I do like boats…blond as a child….hey….

  27. Marelisa Says:

    The Palin pumpkin needs a talk bubble that says: “Oh look, I can see Russia” πŸ™‚ These are great Friar.

  28. Friar Says:

    @Allison
    We geeks gotta stick together! πŸ™‚

    @Janice
    Deep down, you want to pillage and burn something! Admit it! πŸ™‚

    @Marelisa
    Maybe I should have put Joe Six Pack next to her!


  29. πŸ˜‰ Hm, well I was shopping for perfume this weekend…but a pillaging could be fun.

  30. Friar Says:

    @Janice
    Just get your battle-axe, and storm the perfume counter (Don’t take NO for an answer!)

  31. Kelly Says:

    Did I say awww yet?

    Awww.

    πŸ™‚


  32. Ah hah! I like that!

  33. t.sterling Says:

    LOL… Palin–lipstick on pumpkin. The perk-lanturn makes me think of pumpkin flavored coffee I had once. Didn’t like it since it was supposed to be caramel. I dunno how such a thing could be confused, but it happened and punpkin coffee has been ruined forever for me. But this makes me laugh nonetheless.


Leave a Reply

