Watercolors: Country Barn

Yep, fishing season is winding down.   So now it’s time for me to start painting again.
Here’s one from my photo session a month ago, when the fall colors were at their best:

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Artwork

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

10 Comments on “Watercolors: Country Barn”

  1. veredd Says:

    I love it. The color of the leaves… wow. I can’t take my eyes off them.

  2. Friar Says:

    @Vered
    I miss the leaves already! (They’re completely gone…actually, it’s snowing outside as I write this…we’re having a very early winter storm!)

  3. Karen JL Says:

    Still looks like this out west. Lots of green but with bursts of red, orange and yellow. Not as vibrant as back east, but I think it lasts longer.

    Nice. 🙂

  4. Friar Says:

    @Karen
    Yeah, barn happened to sit in a field where it was mostly yellow-green, not too many reds. You get pockets of forest here than vary, from one kilometer to the next.

    Woke up this morning, and we have SNOW on the ground. Yuck.

    PS. You don’t find my painting GEEKY, do you? 🙂

  5. Steph Says:

    Lovely! Ah, the colours. And I really like that barn out in the middle of nowhere. It seems secret. like a great hiding place…

    Snow! Oh no!! Our forecast is calling for it, but we don’t have it yet. It is 0 here right now, though. It could happen. I can’t believe how fast this has come. I’m not ready!

  6. Friar Says:

    @Steph

    Yes..yes…The dirty S-Word. I”m looking out the window as we speak. There a bit of the nasty stuff on the ground, not quite covering the grass.

    Well, that barn was right off the main street of a town, but the town itself was WAY out in the middle of Butt-hole Nowhere.

    Have you heard of Quadeville?

    Heh. Their one claim to fame is that’s supposedly where Al Capone had a hide-out. 🙂


  7. SNOW!? Seriously? Sheesh. Brr. Gorgeous color in your piece. Fish season must be over.

  8. Friar Says:

    @Janice

    yep…sigh. Fishing is over. This is why it’s time to paint.

    THEORETICALLY, I can still fish. The season is still open. But I’m not that thrilled in sitting in a canoe on a windy lake, when it’s a few degrees above freezing.

  9. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    Gorgeous as always. The bushes low by the barn grab me. I’d like to put on a big flannel jacket and lie out right there, watching the clouds go by. Looks like heaven.

    Regards,

    Kelly

  10. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    Unfortunately, that nice time year is past now. It’s now cold and damp. If you laid down, you’d be muddy and wet.

    I’m glad I captured that photo, and painted it when I did.


Leave a Reply

