Vikings Versus Pumpkins

Our drakkar set shore on the Cursed Land of the Yäck-O-Lantern.   The enemy had already spotted us.

They amassed in formidable numbers.   We prepared to do battle.

Our casualties were heavy at first.  Many of our brethren were sent to Valhalla.

Our Chieftain, Olaf ThunderFröck, blew the Sacred Hörn of Thunder to give us courage.

This excited the Berserker, and he inflicted much damage on the Orange Demon-Gourds.

The battle turned in our favor, and victory was imminent.

We made pies of their dead, and ate them on the feast of Samhain.

And there was much rejoicing.

***********************

HAPPY HALLOWEEN! 😀

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar Toons, Those Vikings...

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

35 Comments on “Vikings Versus Pumpkins”

  1. Amy Derby Says:

    Vikings and Friar-o-lanterns: does Halloween get any better? 😉

  2. Friar Says:

    @Amy

    Well, I know I’m pretty happy about it!!! (And glad the Vikings won!) 🙂

  3. davinahaisell Says:

    Ok, Friar… let me guess; you don’t like pumpkins??? Am I even close?


  4. Hi Friar – I love that “the cursed land of Yäck-O-Lantern”. Pumpkin pie. Yum!

  5. Brett Legree Says:

    Comic Store Guy sez:

    “Best. Battle scene. Evar.”

  6. Friar Says:

    @Davina

    Pumkins are okay….I just don’t like the EVIL Yack-O-Lanterns! 😀

    @Barbara
    There was a lot of tension building up over the past few weeks, between the Yack-O-Lanterns and the Vikings. It was bound to happen!

    @Brett
    It’s pretty hard to impress Comic Book Guy, so I take that as a huge compliment! 🙂

  7. 6 Weeks Says:

    […] of my good friend, the Friar – if you want some more Viking – pumpkin mayhem, go check out his post today, I’m still […]


  8. What a great Halloween story! I’ll never make a pumpkin pie again without thinking of this tale.

    (Death by pumpkin looks painful!)

  9. Brett Legree Says:

    The way the pumpkins attack reminds me of the head crabs in Half Life… where’s my crowbar?

  10. Steph Says:

    Oh my God what a hilarious way to start off the morning!! AHAHAHAHA!! We made pies of their dead!! AHAHAHAHAHA!!! Oh man, the drawings are priceless.

    This rocks, Friar. You have to do more like this.

  11. Steph Says:

    I really, really appreciate your mind. I can’t stop looking at the drawings. Just too funny! And awesome.

  12. Betsy Says:

    FABULOUS!!!!! I will never look at pies again in the same way! LOL


  13. Goofy little brother, add comic books to your list of things to do busy man…

    But in the meantime, I brought you a present..courtesy of Christine Kane. She had this link on her website and its so much fun I had to bring it to you. It’s a pumpkin for halloween. Just because I love my little bro…

    http://www.coasttocoastam.com/timages/page/pumpkin_sim.html

    P.s. There is one in your real email in case this link doesn’t work.


  14. Dear Friar, please know that I am not ignoring your posts. Who could stay away from the Deep Friar? However, something wonky has happened and I cannot read your posts from work (ON MY BREAKS!) anymore, because there is a black border running down the left hand margin, hiding your wit and charm. Signed, The Panther

  15. Karen JL Says:

    “And there was much rejoicing.”

    I see a little flag waving a hear a little voice going, “Yaaaay…”

    You know what I’m talking about. 🙂

    Great battle. (Careful…Hollywood may steal it and make a cheesy feature film.)

  16. Friar Says:

    @Rebecca and Betsy
    Oh, please don’t tell me I’ve turned the both of you off pumpkin pie! 🙂

    @Brett
    I dont’ know that one. But Head Crabs..that sounds EVIL.

    @Steph
    Oh, I knew you’d burst out laughing the loudest! I was waiting for your response! 😀

    @Wendi
    That’s an AWESOME link. Especially why you click “Done” and the candle inside lights up.

    @Panther
    Uh-oh. Is Uncle Big Brother screening the Deep Friar from your workplace? (Maybe I”m no a No-Fly list!)

    And of course, it’s on YOUR BREAKS. (Naturally!) ;-0

    @Karen
    You must like this post because it’s the first time you havent’ called me a GEEK in a while!

    And there was much rejoicing.

    Yayyy. 🙂


  17. @Friar – well, at least I can access your site, albeit not your entire site. I am completely blocked from accessing Brett’s site. He must have done something very very unFactory-like!

  18. Karen JL Says:

    @ Urban Panther – It’s all Brett’s talk of axes and chopping off heads. They don’t want the employees getting any ideas!

  19. Friar Says:

    @Urban

    Brett probably used a few “choice words” that Big Brother’s security filter picked up on.

    Zombies in the reactor core,and such. 😉

  20. bethpart Says:

    I love the way the pumpkins attack too. That is priceless.

  21. Friar Says:

    @beth

    Heh heh. There is only so much a pumpkin can do, when attacking.

    But they still put up a good fight.

  22. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    Darn, that was funny. I haven’t laughed so much in weeks!

    Leave it to you to end the pumpkin cartoons with carnage. “Many of our brethren were sent to Valhalla.” BWAH ha ha!

    Brilliant, as always, just brilliant.

    Regards,

    Kelly

  23. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    Uh-oh . Am I making you get in trouble with your neighbor (as he hears your guffaws through the walls?) 🙂

    I just got an email from my Mom. Apparently my 6-year old nephew was so impressed with this post, he’s starting to draw Viking Pumkins himself.

    Uncle Friar: Corrupting kids since 2002.


  24. We made pies of their dead….ROFLOL !!! Yipppeee, Uncle Friar! Best halloween treat so far!!!! Way coool.. love it, ooh little squishy ones, argh. Pas me some grog! Priceless.

    Ooh Wendi, I had fun drawing on the punkin” thanks. :~)

  25. Friar Says:

    @Janice

    Well, you better act quickly…it looks like the Berserker is going to finish off the grog in no time! 🙂

  26. Kelly Says:

    Wendi,

    I spent too much time with that silly link! Thanks!

    Friar,

    I suspect you’ve been a corrupting influence far longer than you’ve been an uncle. 🙂

    & I was home but the neighbor probably wasn’t at that hour, so no problems so far.

    Though I am still laughing…

    Later,

    Kelly

  27. BrettHead Says:

    Dude! I will absolutely start visiting regularly. Nice.

  28. Friar Says:

    @BrettHead

    Welcome! Drop by any time! 🙂

  29. Steven Says:

    Great stuff…I like the previous science article too. I once live in the Great MN, so I’m a Vikings fan. I’ll be back.

  30. Captain Push Says:

    Hey Friar! Marti and I really loved this cartoon!
    Can’t wait to see what you do for Easter! LMAO!

  31. Friar Says:

    @Steven

    Thanks. And I’m glad I’ve got a new fan!

    I don’t follow the NFL very much, but it goes without saying that I root for the Vikings as well! 😀

    @Captain

    Hey, I’m glad you guys are dropping in and checking me out! (I’ll have to pop you an email and give you an update about what’s going on here, its been a while!).

  32. Evelyn Lim Says:

    Hahaha…this is so funny!! I showed it to my girl and she was really amused!

  33. Friar Says:

    @Evelyn

    Yeah, I don’t think you necessarily have to know what Halloween is to appreciate these cartoons! My nephew loved them and he’s six. (Is that the same age as your daughter?)

  34. t.sterling Says:

    Wow, that was awesome on some level of awesomeness I can’t even comprehend. “And there was much rejoicing.”–A line that sounds like some my friends and I would shout at any opportune time. Surely, this is land I would not want to visit, if there are anymore of these even pumpkins left. So much violence. It’s great though.

  35. Friar Says:

    @t.sterling

    Don’t worry. The Vikings conquered the Demon-Gourds and their grandchildren grew crops and prospered. 🙂


Leave a Reply

