Moon Sketches

My recent astronomy post reminded me it’s been a while since I looked at the moon.    

So this past Thursday, before Brett came over for our weekly Beer Counselling Session,  I took the ol’ telescope out,  and did some sketches at 220 Magnification.

(Go ahead, Karen…call me a GEEK!  You know you want to!)    🙂

 


moon-2

moon-3

moon-11

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Artwork, Fried Science

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

28 Comments on “Moon Sketches”

  1. Brett Legree Says:

    Beer Counselling Session, I love it!

  2. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    I don’t know who counsels who, but beer is involved and we both feel better by the end of the evening. So I think that’s a good name for it!

  3. Karen JL Says:

    GEEK? Naw, not for this one.

    More like ‘Artsy-Fartsy- Freak’. How’s that? (Thanks for the link love 🙂 )

    (I too. *love* Beer Counselling Session! Everyone should start their own chapter.)

    And there was a glitch in my Testimonials page. Now with images!

  4. Friar Says:

    @Karen

    Artsy fartsy. Heh heh.

    As long as I”m not a TORTURED INTELLECTUAL.j 🙂

    Now I’ll have to go check out your page! With Images!

  5. veredd Says:

    Being a geek is not a bad thing. I like geeks. I married one. 🙂

  6. Friar Says:

    @vered

    I think Geeks have better job security and better long-term income prospects than tortured intellectuals do! 🙂

  7. Karen JL Says:

    I write ‘GEEK’ with love. Always. 😀

    And I’d probably take a geek *and* a tortured intellectual over a ‘jock’. Ugh.
    (Sorry, Jocks)

  8. Friar Says:

    @Karen

    Well, if it’s any consolation, I am certainly NOT a jock! (But I’m not a pencil-necked geek either).

    Geek perhaps,but not the pencil-necked variety! 😀

  9. Kelly Says:

    Karen,

    Fear not, zero jocks have been spotted reading Friar’s tortured (uh-huh) and intellectual (yessiree) posts. No one to offend here.

    Friar,

    Is there something Rorsachian in the fact that I see faces hiding in all of these sketches or are you messing with me?

    (Little face, smirking, in the second crater from the top of the first sketch… second sketch, the whole group seems to be a big Halloweeny smiley-face… third one looks like a profile sort of looking to the left…)

    More to drink, or less, d’ya think?

    Regards,

    Kelly

  10. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    No, not messing with anyone here…I honestly just took a few craters that looked interesting to sketch, and I sketched them! (The Rorscach test never occurred to me until you pointed this out!)

    Maybe you’ve been messed with by the Friar so long, you’re looking subconciously for these things. (Or maybe I’m been messing with people for so long, that I’m drawing smiley faces without realizing it!) 🙂

  11. steph Says:

    Mooning around, are you, Friar?

    And COOL! Wow, your scope takes you close! I wonder how close mine takes me…

  12. t.sterling Says:

    I’m borderling slacker and geek. Depends on my mood, the time of day, and what needs to be done vs what I want to get done. I embrace my geekiness (with desktop wallpaper to prove it) so long live the geeks!

    And I found some binocculars for moon gazing, but I didn’t make it outside yet. The insides of my eyelids seemed more interesting at the time. But I’ll get out there and I will compare your sketchings to what I see.

  13. Friar Says:

    @Steph
    Yeah, at maximum magnification, the moon is so darned big, I can only fit a small portion of it in my eyepiece. And it drifts by quickly (as the earth’s rotation is magnified too…so I have to keep adjustding the telecope’s position).

    But if I let it drift, I feel like an Apollo astronaut flying over the surface…it’s so cool.

    Your telescope should show comparable stuff…even a modest scope will allow details of craters to be seen.

    @t.sterling.
    Oh, for gosh sakes, just take the binocs, GO OUT and look! It takes 2 minutes! 🙂

    Though, you might be disappointed, if you expect to see what my sketches show.

    My drawings were done at 220X magnification with a decent scope. Typical binocs only go up to 7X or 10X.

    (But even so, the binocs will still show craters and details you can’t see with the eye, and it’s well-worth it)!


  14. Friar

    It is very cool, that you are a very good sketch artist. That makes it easy for you to express yourself. I, on the other hand can’t real draw, I mean if I do draw, no one would know what I am drawing anyway. So I wirte to express my thoughts. Chinglish and all… and that is fine with me. As long as I am expressing. Keep doing your sketches, I stop by often to look at them. I enjoy your work.

    Giovanna Garcia

  15. davinahaisell Says:

    Hi Friar. I like these sketches…. the moon does look like it is made from cheese though. I like geeks too. My favourite “geeky-type” right now is that guy on the tv show Criminal Minds. If you watch the show you’ll know who I mean; that skinny genius, with the long hair.

  16. deepfriar Says:

    @Giovanna

    Thanks for the compliment.

    Not everyone’s a natural-born drawer, but most people can draw quite well, if they work hard enough at it and find a good teacher. It’s practice, practice, practice. I’ve been doing this since I can remember.

    @davina
    I haven’t watched that show yet. I used to watch CSI a lot..where everyone is “supposed” to be a geek. But of course, they all look like glamorous Hollywood stars.


  17. Oooh, Friar, I love your sketches!

    I’m very in tune with the moon, and I find that no matter how many times I look at it, I always see something new and fascinating.

  18. deepfriar Says:

    @Rebecca

    I prefer to sketch….especially since I’m not set up with the fancy camera equipment. (It’s much easier this way!) 😀


  19. You have some skills there. Interesting subject.

  20. Friar Says:

    @Jaden

    One of these days, I’ll put of some sketches of the planets. I’ve got a few good ones of Mars and Jupiter.

  21. Evelyn Lim Says:

    I think I’m quite geeky myself!!

  22. Friar Says:

    Evelyn

    Welcome to the Geek club, then! (Just don’t tell Karen, or she’ll beat us up and steal our lunch money!) 🙂


  23. I never realized my golden retriever’s paw print and the moon had so much in common but I see the similarities!

    Maybe it’s just me, or I’m seeing it to late at night.

    I can’t look at things like this without thinking about my grandfather sneaking me out of bed late at night to show me something he wanted to share with me that he had found in his telescope. My favorite memories of him….

  24. Marelisa Says:

    Is that a humanoid shape in one of the craters? 🙂

  25. Friar Says:

    @Wendi

    When I draw these, I get so focussed on the one crater, I start seeing things myself!

    @Marelisa
    Maybe it’s like that Humanoid Face they say on Mars (in that really BAD Val Kilmer movie!)

  26. Ian Parker Says:

    Cool sketches, Friar. Do you use any other mediums or is sketching your preferred art form?

  27. Friar Says:

    @Ian

    My preferred medium is watercolors, and I’ve been known to sell the odd painting now and than (just not often enough to quit my day job!).

    But I like pencil/pen sketches when I just feel like doing art for quick 10-15 mintue spurts.

  28. svc Says:

    I remember the first time I looked through a telescope – the subject was mars. It was part of my astronomy class; the one natural science credit I needed to get a BA. I certainly was not going to take chem or phy. It made me see a very different reality. Looking outside the box. It gave me a feeling of freedom oddly, a letting go … and to see that the challenges/ worries I knew were so small and that the possibilities were endless.

    Love the sketches, and your mere “draw” to the subject. Great detail.


Leave a Reply

