Vintage Friar-Toons

Circa 1987-89.

Note:   You can click on the images for sharper resolution.

************************************************************************

friartoon_lemmings

**************************************************************************

friartoon_out-of-mortar

***************************************************************************

friartoons_haybailer

***************************************************************************

friartoon_tidal-effects

***************************************************************************

friartoon_bugs_ooohahhh

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar Toons

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

26 Comments on “Vintage Friar-Toons”

  1. Kelly Says:

    Oh, Friar,

    Your gonna have my neighbors wondering what’s going on over here… again…

    The lemmings—ROFL! And the hay baler! OMG! Ouch, my sides hurt from laughing!

    Neighbors must think I’m a nut. No conversation in here. Utter silence, punctuated by bursts of laughter. Repeat at least once a week, sometimes more. When the kid’s here and you can hear conversation, okay, laughing makes sense, and it’s part of the din, but when it’s completely quiet like today, then hysterical laughter, I can only imagine.

    You have such a delightfully warped perspective, Friar. Love it, as usual.

    Regards,

    Kelly

  2. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    I got hundreds of these cartoons. Literally.

    I think I need to put together an E-book or something.

    (How many potential E-books is that so far now?) 🙂

  3. Neil Says:

    “We’re out of mortar” I love it. Thanks for posting these and please do put that ebook together!

  4. Brett Legree Says:

    Friar,

    All of the toons except for the tidal effects one could have been taken from a typical day at The Factory.

    I think you were predicting your own future when you drew these…

    (cue Twilight Zone music…)

  5. Allison Day Says:

    Hehe, I love them. 😀

  6. Steph Says:

    HAHAHAHAHA!! The last two are my favourite! The first one kind of makes me sad. But all of them are well drawn; you have such a talent, Friar!

  7. Friar Says:

    @Neil
    Thanks! (Lots of people seem to like the mortar one!)

    @Brett
    Yeah, little did I realize, that 20 years later, I’d be living my own cartoons through my workplace. 😮

    @Allison
    Well, I guess I’ll have to post some more of these, then. 🙂

    @Steph
    Heh heh. It’s kinda funny, you’re sad for the retard lemmings, but your favorite is the one where the creepy crawly bugs get fried!

  8. Amy Derby Says:

    Yay!!!!!!! Friar toons!

    They all rock, but I think the first and last ones are my faves. 🙂

  9. Friar Says:

    @Amy

    Thanks!

    (though I’m not sure how popular these cartoons are…hardly anyone’s been looking at this post, except for my few loyal readers!)

  10. Karen Swim Says:

    Friar, I cannot wait to open a book of all your cartoons. These are all side splitting funny! My favorite is the Tidal Effects (hehehehhee). More please! 🙂

  11. Karen JL Says:

    The lemmings aren’t dead, right? Just a little dazed?

    No one really dies in cartoons…

  12. Friar Says:

    @Karen Swim
    Hooray! Another interested party). Mabye I WILL make that E-Book, after all.

    @Karen JL
    Actually they’re not dead…they’re RESTING. 😉

  13. Karen JL Says:

    Hey! I only pressed submit once…honest! Kindly delete one so I don’t look like such a tool.

    Or are they pining for the feeords? (don’t now how to spell that, so it’s phonetic) 😉

  14. Brett Legree Says:

    @Karen JL,

    Of course no one dies in cartoons. That’s why when I grow up, I want to be Wile E. Coyote.

    I mean, think of it… you can strap a rocket on your back, blow a hole through the Earth to China, and live to tell about it… how great is that!

  15. Marelisa Says:

    I like the one with the zapping bugs best of all. Do these have creative commons? You could let people put them on their blogs as long as they give you credit so that you get more exposure; unless you plan to write a book with them.

  16. Friar Says:

    @Karen
    Okay, Tool-Girl. I deleted one of your comments! 🙂

    @Brett
    Didn’t Bugs sorta die in that Opera with Elmer Fudd? (The one with VIKINGS, no less!)

    @Marelisa
    I’m hoping there’s eventually a book in here somewhere. So I have to figure out how much free publicity I might get, versus working for free and giving my stuff away.

    Right now I can’t really advertise much (that’s one of the rules for WordPress). I’ll host my own blog page soon and that will change.

    In the mean time, I frequently collaborate with Brett on his Viking Fridays, providing him with some artwork. Plus, I think you might see my cartoons on someone else’s banner in the very near future. 😉

  17. Karen JL Says:

    @ Friar & Brett – Yes, that’s the only loophole. Cartoon operas. You could die in one of those (damn those Vikings!).

    “Nehhh, what did you expect from an opera? A *happy* ending?”

  18. Friar Says:

    @Karen

    “Oh mighty Warrior, of great fighting stock…

    May I enquire, to ask…Eh, What’s up Doc?”

    🙂

  19. Brett Legree Says:

    My kids run around screaming, “Kill the WABBIT! Kill the WABBIT!” from time to time… I’ve got them well trained, I think.

  20. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    If your kids already know what “Kill the WABBIT” means…then they’ll do all right in Life.

    (It’s the kids that are Sheltered from this kind of thing that are maladjusted).

  21. Kelly Says:

    Ahh! Amy’s new banner looks SO very Amy! You did a great job, Friar!!!

    (Is that enough exclamation points?)

  22. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    Thanks.

    Yeah, I’m happy about it. And I’m flattered that Amy asked me.

    Maybe this is the start of something big. I can be a free-lance blog illustrator.

    Friar for Hire. 🙂


  23. Smiling. Just waiting for some paint to dry..so of course I wandered over here…love these. ;-D

  24. Friar Says:

    @Janice

    Then I assume you’re doing oils (because watercolors dry too quickly to give you time to check out the Deep Friar!) 😉

    I’m in a bit of a grumpy painting mood myself. I spent almost six hours doing what was going to be a wonderful painting of some Cosmos flowers in my garden.

    And (typical of watercolors), I over did it….the in last 30 minutes I ruined the ENTIRE painting. ($%^*#!)

    Sigh. At least I can salvage the other side of the sheet.


  25. Nope ,doing watercolor, but a big patch of slippy slidey watery sky.

    Ooh, a step too far…it happens..It’s like grog drinking and tightrope walking.. ya think you have it.. you think just a little more.. Then whoa, you tumble to the ground…at least that’s what I’ve heard.

    No loss, you have the other side of the paper. Still sucks, but what can you do? Except cuss the little buggers out and start over. ;-p

  26. Friar Says:

    @Janice

    Grr….that’s what I HATE about watercolor. If I’m not in the “right mood”, I almost know I’m going to botch a painting. Yet I do it anyway.

    It’s almost like there’s a policeman’s voice going off in my head:

    “Sir…please…step away from the painting….Step AWAY from the PAINTING, Sir!…”

    …and I have the gun in my hand, cocked and ready to fire at my 300-lb. sheet, and I’m not listening.


Leave a Reply

