Friar’s Best and Worst Christmas List

christmas-list

Best Christmas cartoons

  • A Charlie Brown Christmas.  This has become such an integral part of our culture that they even sell “Charlie Brown Christmas Trees“.
  • The Grinch Who Stole Christmas.  A timeless masterpiece combining the genius of Dr. Seuss, Chuck Jones and Boris Karlof.
  • Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer. How can you go wrong with Burl Ives, misfit toys, Yukon Cornelius, Bumbles and Elf dentists?
  • The Polar Express .  This one will still be a favorite decades from now…I love those awesome scenes from Santa’s workshop.

Lamest Christmas cartoons

  • Frosty Returns (Shittiest.  Christmas Sequel.  Ever.)   It’s a far cry form the original Frosty.  Jimmy Durante is rolling over in his grave.
  • The Little Drummer Boy (I never liked that wuss, or his stupid song).  I felt sorry for the lamb that died, though.  Even though Baby Jesus later brought it back to life.
  • The Grinch Who Stole Christmas (the movie version).   Seriously.   WTF?    (Note to Hollywood:   Just because you CAN make feature movie based on a 25 minute cartoon, doesn’t mean you SHOULD.)

Christmas movies I have to see every year

  • National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation (The exploding cat, the killer squirrel, and Chevy Chase’s Gigawatt Christmas lights are the best!)
  • A Trailer Park Boys Christmas (especially Ricky’s heart-warming speech in church!)  It brings tears to your eyes.  🙂
  • It’s a Wonderful Life  (goes without saying.)

I never could get this one right:

  • Who were the Three Kings?   (Balthazar…?   Moltar…?  Shabaz…?)

Religious Christmas carols that make me nostalgic and give me goosebumps

  • Hark the Herald Angels Sing
  • O Holy Night
  • O Come all Ye Faithful
  • Angles We Have Heard on High

Fun Christmas songs that put me in a good mood for the holidays

  • Grandma Got Run over by a Reindeer
  • Linus and Lucy’s Theme (from a Charlie Brown Christmas).    Actually, it’s worth buying the entire CD.
  • Blue Christmas (the Elvis Version, of course!)

Christmas carols that make me cringe and want to drive into oncoming traffic

  • The Little Drummer Boy (any version, any artist).  Parum-pah-pum DUMB!
  • Earl, Earl, the Christmas Squirrel. (No, I am NOT making this up).   “He is nuts for coconuts, and macadamias too…”.
  • Up On the Housetop (by the Jackson Five, sung by a pre-pubescent Michael).  You’ll want to gouge your eardrums out.

I never could understand this:

  • A virgin giving birth.   (…REALLY?)   Even as a kid, I sensed the priests didn’t like discussing this one.

New Christmas trends I’m not too crazy about

  • Christmas crap in the stores the day after Halloween.   (There oughta be a law:   As long as there are still leaves on the trees, NO CHRISTMAS merchadise!)
  • Political Correctness trying to remove all reference to the word “Christmas”, lest anyone get offended.  (Wah!)   I’m sorry, it’s Christmas…Deal with it!
  • Those cheap0 6-foot inflatable snow globes that have rotating Merry-Go-Rounds inside  (They’re abominations!…burn them!  BURN THEM!)
  • LED Christmas Lights.  (Yes, I know they save energy, but for crying out loud, my WATCH gives off more light!)

Gifts guaranteed to make a man happy

  • Food.
  • Toys (radio-controlled things, and/or  power tools)
  • S-E-X (Like, duh.)

The Golden Rule of what NOT to get a woman

  • Anything that can be plugged in (i.e. toaster ovens, irons, vacuum cleaners).   Unless you enjoy sleeping on the couch.

Gifts that will make your nephews love you (or their parents hate you)

  • Toy guns with obnoxious sound effects.
  • Toys that encourage aggression (i.e. foam swords and shields..BAM! BAM! BAM!)
  • Musical instruments (especially from the percussion group).
  • Chocolate anything (watch them gobble it down and get all wired).
  • Toys with 1,000 pieces that Daddy gets stuck putting together.

Lamest christmas gifts ever

  • Clothes (for any boy under 15).
  • Donations to a charity in your name. (Hey, if I’m not getting anything, fine.  But do you have to rub it in and remind me why?)
  • Fruit-cake (seriously…who ever actually EATS this shit?)
  • Oranges in the stocking.  (Hello…the year 1903 just called…they’d like their novelty gift idea back).
  • A lump of coal (seriously…has anyone actually ever received this?)

My favorite holiday foods

  • Egg Nog (Endorsed by the American Association of Cardiologists).
  • Anything to do with melted cheese and/or smoked salmon.
  • Turkey with stuffing (on Christmas Day only, NOT for the next  29 days of leftovers).  And don’t forget the mashed potatoes shaped into a volcano so you can pour in the gravy.
  • Chocolate ANYTHING. (Bonus points for Toblerone!)

My least favorite holiday foods

  • Vegetable trays with raw broccoli and raw cauliflower.  (Come ON…!!  That’s the equivalent of giving out toothbrushes on Halloween!)
  • Mincemeat pies (I have a phobia against squishy raisins in any food).
  • Turkey stuffing with RAISINS in it (see above).  Gagggggg.
  • Trifle.  (For a similar texture, why don’t I just take angel-food cake and pour water on it?)
  • Cheap Dollar-Store Christmas chocolate that tastes like wax.   (Watch out for melanine and lead!)

Most over-stated Christmas cliches

  • If only we’d act like it was Christmas all year long, instead of just one day a year“.  (Gee, I never heard THAT one before!)
  • At this time of year, let us not forget those less fortunate than us.” (As opposed to the OTHER 11.5 months?)
  • It’s better to give than to receive“. (Okay, tell you what.   YOU give, I’LL receive.  And we’ll compare notes afterward.)   🙂
Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Grab Bag

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

48 Comments on “Friar’s Best and Worst Christmas List”

  1. Karen JL Says:

    The Polar Express? Seriously?? That 3D Tom Hanks one? In the same list as those other classics? Seriously??

    I will admit to not having watched the whole thing. That’s because I can’t get past the ‘realistic’ humans with the creepy-as-hell ZOMBIE eyes.

    *shiver*

  2. Karen JL Says:

    Oh, and I’ll just give some S-E-X to my guy this year and save a few bucks.

    I didn’t realize it was an option.

    Thanks for the tip. 😉


  3. OMG, this is one of your funniest posts ever. I laughed out loud almost the whole way through. Hm, I think you should turn this into a meme. I’m not a fan of memes, but this one, I’d totally take on.

    “A virgin giving birth.” – I’m totally with you on that one Friar.

    But there’s one thing I just can’t figure out. Why don’t you mention the movie “A Christmas Story” here? You must have seen it? Loved it?

    Rudolph is my favorite 😉

  4. Friar's Mom Says:

    Dearest Friar,

    The Three Wise Guys are Caspar, Melchior and Balthasar.

    Where would you list the Chipmunk Song with Alvin, Simon, and Theodore?

    @Karen
    My 6-year old grandson has seen the Polar Express a number of times. He asked me to watch it with him. It’s his most favourite movie ever.

  5. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    BWAH ha ha.

    I feel I may have been an inspiration for at least part of this. Naturally, I love that.

    Have to argue on The Little Drummer Boy. Makes me cry every time. The song and the movie. Giving. Yup That’s what it’s all about.

    Me: Anything by Bing Crosby but especially White Christmas (I think of the guys overseas hearing it during WWII and I get all… ‘scuse me, must go get a tissue). The movie White Christmas is awesome too. Gets me every time.

    Love Nat King Cole, Perry Como, and Andy Williams at Christmas.

    But would somebody explain to me why there are “scary ghost stories” mentioned in “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year”?

    Friar’s Mom,

    I’ve always wanted to ask: In real life, when you aren’t trying to protect his identity, do you call your dearest “Friar,” or do you call him that other thing?

    Regards,

    Kelly

  6. Betsy Says:

    Pete was informed early in our relationship that a true gift does not come with a plug, unless it’s attached to the block heater on a Mercedes Benz.

    @Kelly – How about “I’ll Be Home for Christmas”? Man, that’s a tearjerker song. The movie with Claudette Colbert, Jennifer Jones and Shirley Temple braving it out at home, taking in a roomer, etc. is a good one, too. I’m too old to think of the title. And we love the Judy Garland one that has “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas” – it’s in “Meet Me in St. Louis.” Pete loves Andy Williams and cries during “It’s a Wonderful Life.”

    When we go to church at Christmas time, I have to sit in the back because I start to cry with the music. Every time.

    And I love “A Christmas Carol.” The real one, with Basil Rathbone.

  7. Friar Says:

    @Karen
    I really got creeped out with the scene in Polar Express with in the railway car with the broken and abandonned puppets.

    Aside from that, the movie was okay. I didn’t find they were Zombie eyes. Though I admit the human faces were a bit awkard (they never can animate realistic-looking humans properly).

    PS. If your boyfriend gets a “Special Gift” from you, he’ll have ME to thank! 😉

    @Melissa

    OMG! The Christmas Story!!! I can’t believe I forgot that!

    I’m going to have to edit this and add it to the list. (I love the scene with the terrified kids being kicked down the slide after seeing Santa!)

    @Kelly
    YES…after our big discussion last week, you got me thinking about Christmas…you indirectly were the inspiration for this post.

    I love Nat King Cole’s “Chestnuts roasting on an open fire”. That should be added up there.

    I also remember Andy Williams Christmas Specials on TV, in the early 70’s. But I think he’s the ONLY ONE who tells “Scary ghost stories”.

    Hey, Andy. Mabye you’re thinking of Halloween?

    Though Andy seems to be a bit obsessed over Christmas. I saw him talk about it on the Tonight Show (or Letterman) years ago. He actually named his kids “Noel” and “Manger”.

    @Betsy
    It’s amazing how Christmas songs and movies make us all emotional. It find it gets worse as we get older. (I won’t admit which shows get me misty-eyed, lest I lose my reputation as a Grumpy Friar).

    @Friar’s Mom
    I put the Chipmunk song as average/adequate. It was fun the first 1000 times I heard it…but the novelty’s kinda worn off. But I’ll still listen to it if it’s played.

  8. Peter Says:

    No coal, but I did get a (well-deserved) stocking full of sticks and stones. You probably remember it better than I do.

  9. Friar Says:

    @Peter

    Oh, yeah….I remember THAT!!! 😦

    Admittedly, we kids were little shits that year.

    We still got our real gifts afterwards…but obviously, Santa had a point to make.

  10. Amyellyn Says:

    My siblings and I have all received lumps of coal on Christmas. I think my dad just wanted to get some use out of the coal bin in the basement of our very old house.

  11. Karen JL Says:

    @ Friar’s Mom – Really? Well, he’s a brave little guy. I guess he isn’t bothered by zombie eyes! 🙂 (If the kids love it, then that’s great.)

    @ Friar – That’s what’s wrong with the humans. They can’t get the eyes perfectly realistic so we pick up on that. They would have been better off stylizing the characters a bit more, then we’re not bothered by it so much (like the Incredibles…no zombie eyes). The 3D guys have finally figured that out I think. Realistic 3D humans=zombies. 🙂

    @ Peter and Friar – Your parents did that one year?? OMG! I can’t see too many parents teaching their little darlings such a lesson these days. Maybe some should. 😉

  12. Friar Says:

    @Amyellyn

    I grew up in the suburbs, with oil or gas heated houses. You know, I don’t remember EVER seeing a piece of coal. 😉

    @Karen
    You’re right….the characters in Toy Story (Buzz and Woody) were cartoony, but they looked more “human” than the “real people” did in The Polar Express.

    And yes…my parents did that to us. Sticks and stones. But it was one gift, among the many real gifts. Mom and dad just wanted to send us a message.

    And one year, Dad wrote a letter to Santa Claus that he read out loud to us (basically to encourage/scare us into smartening up and behaving).

    No doubt we deserved it. Kids can be little shits at times. 😉

  13. feefifoto Says:

    If you think Elvis’s Blue Christmas was the best then you’ve obviously never experienced Porky Pig’s version: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MUELu8o5KJg. Enjoy.


  14. What a great list! I laughed the whole way through. I agree with most everything (especially the food items – LOVE Toblerone), but I have to argue with the Rudolph movie.

    I just saw it for the millionth time the other day and realized how cruel and awful Clarisse (is it Clarisse?) and Rudolph’s dads are. And Santa is a mean, mean dude in that movie. I was horrified!

  15. Friar's Mom Says:

    @Kelly

    I’m one of the few people who use his full Christian name. He is known to everyone else by the shortened form.

    @Karen

    Friar neglected to mention that the stones were at the bottom of a full Christmas stocking. Our youngest said he appreciated his stick for chasing the lions and tigers hiding under his bed.

    Dearest Friar,

    You forgot to mention that you kids found a gift-wrapped a box of junk cereal under the tree. It was your Christmas breakfast treat. I seem to remember you liked Count Chocula. It was against my motherly religion to purchase it at any other time of the year.

    My apologies for the Mandarin orange. If you recall, we weren’t well off, and I considered those sweet juicy oranges an annual treat. What about the traditional Creamy Icy melt-in-your-mouth chocolates?

  16. veredd Says:

    “Christmas crap in the stores the day after Halloween.” AMEN. It really emphasizes the commercial aspect of Christmas. It’s totally inappropriate. I’m curious to know if it actually increases sales.

  17. veredd Says:

    Oh, and I LOVE your blog’s new header.

  18. Karen JL Says:

    @ Friar’s Mom – Oh, don’t worry, I’m sure they had plenty of wonderful prezzies. I just think it’s awesome you gave sticks and stones too, to smarten them up! Bravo. 🙂

  19. Allison Day Says:

    “As long as there are still leaves on the trees, NO CHRISTMAS merchandise!”

    Erm, we would never get Christmas merchandise in that case. 😉

    Heh I’m certainly not the typical woman… my family knows if they get me anything for the kitchen (including that which can be plugged in!), I’m a happy camper. Of course, this is also the girl who got excited when her boyfriend got her programming books for their anniversary… so I suppose I’m a bit of a freak. 😛

    Wait… you mean I didn’t actually have to get something for my boyfriend for Christmas? I could just cook for him and… yeah… and he’d be happy? Well gee, NOW you tell me… 😉

  20. Friar's Seestor Says:

    If I recall correctly … you two BOYZ got the sticks and stones. I got candy. 🙂

    Girls rule!

    Seestor- J

  21. Kelly Says:

    Betsy—Of course, I’ll Be Home for Christmas is a killer. And yes—we just watched Meet Me in St. Louis last week. Love that scene with Judy Garland singing to her little sister.

    Friar’s Mom—that happens to be my all-time favorite boy’s name. Which I think I’ve told Friar before. If you’re going to name him, you might as well get some use out of it, right?

    Allison—Us, either. Some will hang on until the new leaves push them off next spring. Not many, but enough to remind me that it’s a whole ‘nother world here.

    Friar—I like how you spelled out s-e-x so your Mom wouldn’t hear you saying it. Actually, it appears most of your clan showed up for this one, so good job on keepin’ it clean. 🙂

    I thought I knew as much as necessary about Andy Williams, but I didn’t know he named his kids Christmassy things. So weird kid-naming has been around longer than Frank Zappa, then. Who knew?

    Until later,

    Kelly

  22. Friar Says:

    @feefifoto
    Oh, NOW I’m gonna HAVE to check out that link!!! (I’ll have to wait till I get to another computer, though!)

    @Rebecca
    Yep…I agree…the two stags and Santa were jerks.

    But later in the show, where Rudolph returned, Rudolph’s Dad and even Santa were contrite, and realized they had been too hard on Rudolph (Or so was narrated by Burl Ives). So at least there was some sense of redemption there.

    But you wanna talk about cruel? How about Herbie removing all of the Bumble’s teeth, (without any anasthetic?). What a little shit! 😦

    @Mom
    Well, we weren’t too traumatized by oranges…but it kinda lost a bit of the fun of it, when there are also the exact same oranges, sitting in a bowl on a table, 10 feet away.

    Count Chocula. Hah hah. Glad you brought that up….Actually, I just bought a box LAST WEEK…I was eating some just a few days ago. 🙂

    @vered
    And notice how Halloween is starting to get just as commercial and cheesy as Christmas?

    Glad you like the new banner, though. 🙂

    @Karen
    Obviously, YOU never got sticks or stones.

    @Allison
    Okay, I should qualify that. Mabye as long as there are no leaves on the trees, above latitude 40 deg. or something. (So the folks in Florida and Hawaii don’t feel left out!)

    @Seestor
    Wow…the whole Friar clan is here.

    And if I remember correctly…I think we ALL got included in the sticks and stones.

    @Kelly
    Oh, yes….God Forbid, should I mention S-E-X around my Mom. (She’s very Catholic, you know!) 🙂

  23. Neil Says:

    Great list Friar!

    I forgot to put SEX on my list, what was I thinking…

    I have yet to see the Polar Express, I’ll take your word for it and check it out some time.

    Things you should add to your list:

    Christmas decorations up BEFORE Hallowe’en, yes I witnessed this.
    Giant snow globes that show Santa with Penguins, there ain’t no Penguins at the north pole!

  24. Marelisa Says:

    I agree with almost everything here, but I have the Jim Carey version of “How the Grinch Stole Christmas” and I looooove it.

  25. Friar's Mom Says:

    Dearest Friar,

    Re: Parental S -E-X, which is so gross. Remember when you asked me how often we did it. I answered “Not as much as we’d like. You guys stay up too late.”

    We conceived three kids, so that meant at least three times.

  26. Friar Says:

    @Neil

    Ahahahahah! Good point. Penguins…WRONG HEMISPHERE! 😀

    @Marelisa
    Maybe I’m just older and I don’t appreciate those “New fangled” movie remakes of old classics. 😉

    @Mom
    (*Holding my hands to my ears*). La-La-La-La-Lah! I can’t hear you! I’m not listening! La-La-La-La-Lah! 😮

  27. Steph Says:

    Friar’s mom: EWWW. My parents never had sex. They were very strict Catholics (still are!). So we were all immaculately conceived. I have no problem whatsoever with a virgin giving birth.

    Did no one else watch the Sound of Music every Christmas? And we saw the Alistair Sim version of A Christmas Carol every year, too. Without fail. We all own it now. And we read it every year, too, out loud, and listened to the record…I wish I could find that same recording. Dad got it from the Albion Library every year.

    My parents had the Andy Williams Christmas record and the Julie Andrews one. I haven’t heard them in years, but I can still hear them perfectly in my head. And I still carry on the tradition of playing Handel’s Messiah, especially at Christmas and Easter time. But I grew up listening to it every single Sunday after Mass.

    And all those Christmas specials…awww. Now I’m even more homesick. It’s been something like 15 years since my family has been all together for Christmas.

    In general, my family was big on tradition, and now I miss most of it.

  28. Friar Says:

    @Steph

    Hahahah! The Sound of Music.

    It’s so GAY! (not in the same-sex kind of way..but in the oh-my-god-how-lame-can-this-be? kind of way!)

    But it’s like a car crash. I can’t help but watch….I’m mesmerized. It’s on TV either Christmas or Easter, and I always end up seeing a chunk of it at least once a year.

    My favorite parts are when the Von Trapp kid goes “Adieu, Adieu, to Yieu and Yieu and Yieu”.

    And when the maggot-children clasp their hands and stand at attention singing rondos of “Jam and Bread, Jam and Bread” 😀 😀

    My Grandma reminds me of Mother Superior. Really serious and never laughs. She lived right through the Nazi Occupation of Poland.

    We were watching the Sound of Music once, and I asked if she hung out with the Von Trapp kids when she was young. That made her break out laughing! 😀

  29. Kelly Says:

    Steph,

    Yes, I have the Sound of Music on video and we adore it. We watch it a few times a year. The Reginald Owen version of A Christmas Carol is my fave. That dude is crankier than Friar, LOL.

    I have 2 Andy Williams Christmas albums on CD. Bought them a couple of years ago after not hearing them since I was about 12… wow. They are perfect memory-triggers.

    Friar,

    You would hate our collection of delightfully schlocky movie musicals. The Sound of Music always gets me! Will she or won’t she? What about that darned Baronness? The invasion is on! etc.

    Love it.

    Speaking of the von Trapps, Maria and her children built an inn in Stowe, Vermont after they came to the U.S. and did singing tours. My parents had tea there on the first day of their honeymoon, on their way to Niagara Falls. That’s my big non-connection to the von Trapps. Nah nah.

    BTW the inn is still there, and still run by the family.

    Later,

    Kelly

  30. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    I’ve skied at Smuggler’s Notch (Stowe was the next ski-slope just over).

    Though I heard that recently the Von Trapp offspring/descendants are in a feud over who owns the lodge and who gets to run what.

  31. t.sterling Says:

    What a mighty list that was. And I agree with most of it. However I will stand by my belief that the live action Grinch was a good movie. I enjoyed it and I too own it. I haven’t watched it this year yet, nor have I watched the original cartoon either. One year I tried to commit the entire story to memory, but I didn’t succeed. I remember parts of my favorite section around the end: It came without ribbons! It came without tags! It came without packages, boxes or bag. Then he puzzled and puzzed, til his puzzler was sore. Then the Grinch thought of something he hadn’t before. Maybe Christmas, doesn’t come from a store. Maybe Christmas–perhaps–means a little bit more.

    Gives me warm flufflies thinking about it. I apologized if I misquoted and ruined it, but that’s one of my favorite parts in the story, and when his heart grew 3 sizes that day and had the strength of 10 Grinches, plus 2!

    The Polar Express I never read when I was wee, and never cared too much for the movie. But I have to agree with Karen, those eyes are a little freaky.

    Are Foreman grills acceptable gifts for women? I bought my mom and sister one. One year my dad went out in the yard and gave us rocks for Christmas. We all had a heart laugh about it but he got that we were serious when we wouldn’t let him back in the house with our real gifts. I’ve never had fruitcake, but the way it looks frightens me. It doesn’t look edible and I don’t know anyone who has eaten it. And when I worked retail, I did the stocking. The Christmas stuff arrived in the store at the end of the summer and wouldn’t stop until Thanksgiving.

    Lastly, Charlie Brown is awesome. Linus and Lucy was my ring back tone for a few months and it’s one of the few songs I used to know how to play on the piano.

    Great post.


  32. @Friar, I’m so relieved! I was like “Friar’s gotta mention A Christmas Story – that movie is just so Deep Friar“. Hee hee. Show mommy how the piggies eat! heheheee

  33. Friar Says:

    @T.

    Actually I just watched the Grinch last night. And it gave me the warm fuzzies. I can never get tired of that cartoon.

    My favorite scene is when Max the dog jumps on the sleigh, all excited, thinking that he’s going for a ride. And then the Grinch looks at the camera, not impresed, as if to say “Yeahhh, Right”, and the top of his toque suddenly flops down to emphasize the point.

    I like the singer (“You’re a mean one, Mr. Grinch”). Did you know that was the same voice as Tony the Tiger?

    And I like in the end, when he discovers the meaning of Christmas, and he gets the strenght of TEN GRINCHES (plus two!)

    @Melissa
    There are so many parts of that movie that are awesome! Like when the kid loses his temper and beats up the big bully.

    Or when they drop the nuts while changing the car tire, and he says “Fuuuuuudge”.

    Or the Dad cursing and swearing while fighting the furnace in the basement.

    Or “Fa-ra-ra-ra-rah, rah-rah-rah-RAH”. 🙂

  34. Karen Swim Says:

    Friar, I have to agree with Melissa, I was laughing the entire way through. I share your likes and dislikes about the season. Grandma Got Run over by a Reindeer sends me into hysterics. My favorite nostalgic Christmas song is Nat King Cole. My mom played it every year and it kind of marked the start of the season at our house. It always makes me smile as I think of my dad singing the baritone parts dancing around and my mom cheerily joining in. I heard on the tv today that a woman sued a school for singing Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer at public school holiday show. For pete’s sake, now Rudolph is a politically incorrect religious symbol? Bah, humbug!


  35. Friar: The little dentist’s name is Hermey — not Herbie.
    😉

  36. Friar Says:

    @Karen
    I love Nat King Cole’s song (but it has to be sung by HIM!!)

    Sueing someone for singing Rudolph? OMG….that’s just so wrong…so MALICIOUS!!!

    I hope Rudolph and his buddies all poop on that woman’s house when Santa flies over!!!

    @Rebecca

    Hermie. I stand corrected. (You mean, I’ve been getting his name wrong for the past four decades?)

  37. Steph Says:

    Kelly: You can get Andy Williams on CD???!

    I have to look!

  38. Friar Says:

    @Steph

    Maybe you can buy the CD with your bonus $10! 🙂

  39. Kelly Says:

    Steph,

    Yep. One’s called The Andy Williams Christmas Album and the other is called Merry Christmas. I think they were the only two he did, or at least they were the only two we had when I was a kid. I love having them on CD, being able to share them with the kid, being able to transport myself with them.. so nice.

    Later…

  40. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    I always liked “Moon River”,

    Even though it’s way before my time. Even though it’s not Christmassy.


  41. […] Friar’s Best and Worst Christmas List at The Deep Friar […]

  42. Brad Shorr Says:

    I’m with you all the way on smoked salmon. Movie-wise, we’ve taken a liking to “Jingle All the Way”, a relatively obscure and absolutely mediocre film that nevertheless makes me giddy every time I see it. Sinbad’s finest role!

  43. Friar Says:

    @Brad

    People often say that was one of Arnold crummier flicks, but I didn’t mind it. It was all right for a Christmas movie.

    Better than some of the made-for-TV garbage they’ll show this time of year. 😉


  44. wow, what a list! Is there really anything more to say? Let’s see…

    Christmas stuff before thanksgiving…Bah HUmbug on that!
    After the play, JOhn and I came home and watched three Christmas movies in a row in front of a roaring fire. We had to get caught up! We watched-It’s a wonderful Life, and a Christmas Carol in two diffrent versions. ( John’s all time favorite )

    WHere do you stand on Miracle on 34th Street?

  45. Friar Says:

    @Wendi

    So far, I’ve seen the Grinch. Charlie Brown (Twice). And Rudolph. And Frosty.

    Miracle on 34th is pretty good (the original black-and-white movie). I like it, but there are more that I like even better.

    I STILL have yet to see “National Lampoons Christmas Vacation”, “A Christmas Story”, and “It’s a Wonderful Life” (which is usually shown Christmas Eve).

    Those are my “A-List” movies. But I’ll watch all the others just the same.


  46. I may be stepping over my bounds by adding a comment since I am not part of your little “group” but I just wanted to say that this is a cool post.
    I had the same opinions on most all topics you covered!
    I too love BLUE CHRISTMAS by ELVIS, love him so much I named my daughter Presley.
    Has anyone ever heard that Christmas tune “All I want for Christmas is you?” by Vince Vance and the Valiants? I think that one is a forgotten classic, along with “Santa Baby” LOL!
    I love how everyone on here goes back and forth with each other…..I just started following but find myself smitten with this Blog!!

  47. Friar Says:

    @Mommie Dearest

    Welcome to The Deep Friar!

    Hey, there is no “stepping over bounds” here, I’m not into cliques or there is no little “Group”. Everyone’s welcome to hang out here.

    I love Elvis’ Blue Christmas. It’s so over-the-top Elvis, it’s classic! Actually, I pretty much like his entire Christmas album.

    Dunno about the other tune you mention, though.

    Nice to see you. Come back any time.


  48. Thanks Friar, I will be following along!!!


Leave a Reply

