A Christmas Eve Mass to Remember

Okay, normally I don’t often re-hash old posts. 

But it’s 12:30 AM, Dec. 24,  and I’ll be too busy in the coming days to do any significant blogging.

So I’d like to re-post my favorite heart-warming Christmas Tale of the  Gitchi Manitou.

Just click on the link and enjoy. 

 And as Tiny Tim says:  

God help us!  Each and every one of us! 

(Or something like that!)  😉

MERRY CHRISTMAS!

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Grab Bag

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

11 Comments on “A Christmas Eve Mass to Remember”

  1. Betsy Says:

    Oh, that was hilarious! I was sputtering and laughing just reading! It reminded me of why I am going to hell: yes, my brother and I convulsed in uncontrollable laughter in the front row of church…at my mother’s funeral. I will never be saved. Just thinking about it makes me laugh again. The only thing is, the pew was shaking and we were in front of everyone, so they all thought we were overcome with grief. HAHAHAHAHAHAH oh, I am so going to hell. Here I am laughing about it again, almost twenty years later. HAHAHA. Merry Christmas, Friar!

  2. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    MERRY CHRISTMAS, friend. Relax and enjoy yourself.

    And that post is one of your very best. Love it, of course.

    Regards,

    Kelly

    P.S. Stop staying up so late. 🙂

  3. steph Says:

    God, that post brings back so many memories!! And I will never ever be able to hear that song again without thinking of you. I snicker every time.

    Hey Friar, Merry Christmas — to your mom, too (the saint who brought you up!) 🙂

  4. Friar Says:

    @Betsy

    I can TOTALLY relate to your funeral story. If you’re in a situation where you’re gonna bawl your eyes out, or laugh your head off, I’d rather my head off. I’ve cracked a few jokes at my Dad’s funeral myself. And it helped ease the tension.

    As for Church..what do they expect? The solemn environment, the boring repetetive rituals….that’s just ASKING for smart-ass kids to get the giggles.

    Can I join you in Hell? Because that’s probably where the Manitou’s gonna send me, after that Church episode. 🙂

    @Kelly
    MERRY CHRISTMAS TOO!

    I’m glad I’m not the only insomniac. (I bet you Brett was up too).

    @Steph
    Thanks. (It’s one of my favorite stories in my whole blog).

    A lot of people might find it funny, but I think it’s EXTRA funny, for anyone who’s been raised Catholic like yourself. (‘Cause we all know what those masses are like). 😉

  5. Karen JL Says:

    Haven’t read the old post yet, but I will.

    Just wanted to wish you and everyone a Happy, Happy, Merry, Merry!

    Eat, drink and…eat and drink some more. 🙂

    And don’t forget to watch ‘Woodland Critter Christmas’!!!

  6. t.sterling Says:

    I think I cried a little from that story… especially the ending… Here I am thinking of my younger days like when I was 10 or something in the back of church with a few friends after getting several looks of disappointment from the grown ups which either made us shut up and/or laugh harder… but there was a subtle difference between my memory and what happened with you and your brother.

    Anyway, thanks for sharing memories if Friar Christmas Past, and may you have Happy Christmas.

    I think I need to hear this song though… I’ve never even heard of such a thing…

  7. Friar Says:

    @Karen
    My Mom had hardly ever watched Southpark, and she happened to come by the time I was watching the “Woodland Critter Christmas”. Oh, my. She was scarred for LIFE! 🙂

    I will Eat. And Drink. (And probably drink some more!)

    Merry Christmas to you too!

    @T.
    This is actually a Christmas Carol that dates back to the 1600’s. I guess the colonists wanted to find a way to include the Indians in Christmas (and/or try to convert them!)

    I think my memories of that Church episode were more of laugther, because I was in my 20’s when I pulled that stunt wtih my brother. My parents coudlnt’ do much at that point.
    If I was 10, I think the outcome of this story might have been a litte “different”. 😉

    Merry

  8. Beth Partin Says:

    Thanks, Friar, that was a great story. I too have memories of being bored in church. How do people stand it?!

  9. Friar Says:

    @Beth
    …and Christmas is HIGLIGHT of the year. The other masses aren’t quite so “interesting” 😉

  10. Amy Says:

    Hey Friar — just wanted to tell you happy new year. Hope things are going well where you are. 🙂

  11. Friar Says:

    @Amy

    Thanks! Happy New Year too. I’m staying with some friends around Toronto…I’m fighting a bad chest cold. (But that wont stop me from drinking a bit and getting silly tonight!)


Leave a Reply

