New Year’s Resolutions I Plan to Keep

I will give up smoking.  (Not that I ever smoked before, but that’s besides the point.)

I resolve to eat when I’m hungry, and sleep when I’m tired.  (If it’s good enough for the Inuit, it’s good enough for me!) 

I promise to lose weight.   Or gain weight.  Or stay the same.    (Depends on how much I eat.)

I promise to watch more South Park and Family Guy.

I will do just enough work at the office to keep the boss happy so that I stay employed.   But not ONE  iota more. 

I promise to continue to rant and make fun of bad TV,  Celine Dion, Corporate Retards,  Chick Flicks,  Caillou, Granola-Crunchers, the CBC, Cirque de Soleil, the Status Quo, and Lima Beans.  

I promise it won’t be the end of the world if I procrastinate, slack off, and don’t self-actualize and earn six figures this year.      

I promise to keep drinking beer with Brett

 I promise to keep blogging.    If and when I feel like it.

I promise to inhale oxygen to metabolize carbohydrates and proteins.  I promise to exhale carbon dioxide and water vapour.

Other than the above-mentionned, I resolve to make no more New Year’s Resolutions.   😉

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Grab Bag

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

14 Comments on “New Year’s Resolutions I Plan to Keep”

  1. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    Oh, goody! A patented Friar-rant to keep me from work on New Year’s Day! (I had the email on in the background.)

    And firsties!

    I love your weight resolution. Women never make that one, but hm, it’s tempting.

    I resolve to be a Deep, deep Friar-devotee.

    🙂

    Happy New Year!

    Regards,

    Kelly

  2. Brett Legree Says:

    Did somebody say beer?

  3. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    Hey, you got firsties for 2009. How awesome is THAT? 🙂

    @Brett
    Yes. Beer!

    See? You inspire me. You’re the source of one of my New Years Resolutions!

  4. Karen JL Says:

    Beer, food, South Park…it all sounds good to me.

    Happy 2009, guy. Should be a good one. 🙂

  5. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    I didn’t even think of that. Very cool. Did Brett get firsties ever?

  6. Friar Says:

    @Karen
    I knew you’d like the South Park thing.

    Hope you have a good New Year too! (And I’m looking forward to your critiques on all the new cartoons coming out !)

    @Kelly
    Brett and I have only started blogging less than a year ago. So I think you have the honor of getting the first “New Year Firsties”.

  7. Amy Says:

    Yay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You did it. 😀

  8. pcunix Says:

    And we in turn promise to keep reading. With or without beer.


  9. You can add: I will continue to cause inside jokes in the WildCat household.

    BECAUSE ever since you asked that stupid question “When was the last time you used paprika?” and I had to ask the Lion when that was, he makes a point of telling me, and whomever will listen, EACH AND EVERY TIME he uses paprika.

  10. Friar Says:

    @Amy
    Glad to oblige. You just had to egg me on a bit. 😀

    @Tony
    I think it helps if you read my blog WITH beer.

    @Panther
    AHAHAH! That MAKES my day! 😀

    Every time I hear that my stupid comments/vocabulary have infiltrated another household, I feel I’ve accomplished my mission!

  11. veredd Says:

    I try to avoid New Year’s resolutions but this is actually a good list.

    Looking forward to your 2009 rants. 🙂

  12. Friar Says:

    @vered

    Feel free to borrow some of these resolutions, if you want. 😉

  13. t.sterling Says:

    I hope you stick to these. And for support I will join along in a few of them like quitting smoking, that was one of mine last year. I never touched a cigarette in my life, but I’m hoping to never touch one this year either.

  14. Friar Says:

    @t

    The secret is to set the expectations low…so that we can feel good about ourselves if we succeed!

    I think I’ve already accomplished half of these resolutions, and it’s only Jan. 3rd.


Leave a Reply

