Quadrupling your Effectiveness with S.E.O.

If any of you Über-Bloggers out there expected this post to be about Search Engine Optimization, sorry to disappoint you.    I just wanted to see if adding “SEO” in the title could generate some more blog traffic. 

(Heh heh..ain’t I a stinker?)  🙂

But if you’re still interested in increasing your productivity and effectiveness, I suggest you my patented Friar-Brand of of S.E.O. :  

SKIING  and  EXERCISING OUTDOORS.!!

Seriously.   Unplug your computers.  Stop Twittering 9 hours a day.  Get OFF the G-damned grid.  

Just go OUTSIDE and SKI. 

Or if you don’t  ski,  just go OUTSIDE and do SOMETHING to get some fresh air!

It will make you feel better.  And you’ll be more effective.

I guar-ron-TEE it !

Anyway, enough with the BlogoLand Lessons.   Here are are some photos from MY recent SEO adventures:

 

****************************************************************************

This is the view just outside my window, at dawn.

sunrise-outside

 

Here’s Friar’s  Mom (the tiny red dot far, FAR below).   As usual, she’s waiting for me to catch up to her.  She KICKS my BUTT going down the slopes.  (Dammit.)

friars-mom-waiting

 

Going up the chairlift (reasonably steep, but not the hardest run there is).

chairlift

Here’s a black-diamond steep pitch.  The photo doesn’t really do it justice. steep-shit

Heading down…

waitin-on-the-pitch2

I love these majeestic spruce trees near the top. (This will be a watercolor painting in the near future).

top-of-chair

Finally, the sun setting over the Monashees at the end of a great day.

sunset-monashees

Explore posts in the same categories: The Outdoor Friar

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

23 Comments on “Quadrupling your Effectiveness with S.E.O.”

  1. Brett Legree Says:

    No SEO for me tonight (freezing rain), so instead, I’m having a little R&C (rum & Coke) – just a little bit of that increases my effectiveness by relaxing my brain and making all the annoying thoughts go away… 🙂

    (a little bit of retro music on YouTube doesn’t hurt either…)

  2. Brett Legree Says:

    PS – I like the one you’re going to paint, the best too.

  3. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    The first photo—that hint of palest coral, hitting just a few of the trees—breathtaking!!!

    The one you’re going to paint is nice, too, but the first and the last are my faves.

    The last photo just told me something essential. I haven’t been that far west—and I haven’t seen *real* mountains. Holy moly. I’ve been through every mountain range in the east and that puts them all to shame. Spectacular. Paint that one, too. It’s so beautiful it’ll look fake. 🙂

    Regards,

    Kelly


  4. Oh, that is beautiful! Wish I could be there.

    Soon. Soon. Soon. Probably just hit the California slopes though.

  5. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    Ugh. Freezing rain. Glad I’m missing THAT one.

    But it’s pretty mild here. The coldest it’s been in minus 10C. It’s usually only hovering a few degrees below zero. None if this minus 30C crap we have to deal with in Ontario.

    Yet one MORE reason to move to BC.

    @Kelly
    I remember the first time I saw the Rockies. It totally blew me away…to see those moutains we grew up reading out in National Geographic, but in real life.

    When you DO go, try to see the Alberta/BC Rockies. In terms of rockiness and dramatic scenery, they totally blow away Colorado, or even Glacier National Park in Montana. (Plus with the exchange rate, it would be cheaper!) 😉

    @Jaden
    “…JUST hit the California slopes, though”?

    I dunno. You guys have some pretty decent moutains and ski resorts. Nothing to sneeze at, over there. I’d love to try Lake Tahoe one of these days!

  6. Karen JL Says:

    The last one is my fave too. Gorgeous!

    Here’s me feeling oh-so-grateful that I live here. I see mountains and ocean from my living room window. (And I have yet to ski here. Label me an idiot.)

    Mild enough that I went bike riding this week too. Can’t beat that.

    So glad you’re having an awesome time! Whoosh, whoosh… 🙂

  7. XUP Says:

    SEO – 100%. I blogged about this too. I don’t know why people who live in this part of the world lock themselves indoors for 5 months of the year and then wonder why they’re sick with colds and flu the whole winter making them even more miserable. It’s positively unnatural. No matter how cold or nasty it is out there, you should strive for at least 20 minutes of some sort of outdoor activity every day. (Okay maybe if there’s a raging blizzard and it’s 50 below you can skip a day) It looks daunting when you peer through the crack in your curtains, but with the appropriate clothing, it’s great. And addictive.

  8. Brett Legree Says:

    I don’t wonder why I’m sick with colds and flu the whole winter at all. I know exactly why I’m sick with colds and flu the whole winter.

    It’s because of the assholes who insist on coming to work every fracking day instead of using sick leave…

    For dog’s sakes stay home when you’ve got fluids leaking from every orifice… bloody walking Ebola cases.

  9. Friar Says:

    @Karen JL
    (Banging my head against the table). Oh…GO SKI!!! 🙂
    (Even go try the North Shore moutains…they’re pretty decent!)

    But bike riding in February? (Unheard of, for Ontario!)

    @XUP
    There are two types of Canadians, I find. The ones that stay indoors and try to avoid winter at all costs. They’re ones who are miserable for 5 months a year.
    And there are those that embrace it, and go outdoors, or mabye take up some winter sports. If you do that, it makes winter much more enjoyable.

    Between cross country skiing and downhill, I find the winter flies by way too fast.

    @Brett
    Yeah…the workplace martyrs, who refuse to stay home. Thanks for infecting me and making me miserable….jerk.

    Doesn’t help that you have three kids in daycare. Those places are a cauldron of disease…chances are, at least one kid is sniffling, which all the other kids catch and bring home.


  10. Again, an unfunny post.

    Shall I just read every other post?

    I think you should ski less, work more. It sparks you humour.

    If I wanted nice pictures of trees and mountains… I’d fly to BC and take my own. Sheesh.

    You’re sure you didn’t hit your head while doing one of those runs?

    Eyeteaguy

  11. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy

    Well, who said my blog is supposed to be funny?

    You want funny, go read cracked.com


  12. Your brush will trace those shadows cast by spruce, and give them room to breathe … exhilarate you all over again.

    These are beautiful.

    Deep Friar’s SEO Guidebooks, at an outfitter near you. 😉


  13. Hmmm, tried to go to cracked.com , brought me right back here. Strange.

    I read your post backwards. It was much funnier.

  14. Brett Legree Says:

    That’s funny, I read Friar’s post backwards and it sounded like a bunch of drunken Vikings in a bar fight.


  15. Drunken Vikings, bar fight. Now that’s funny.

  16. Friar Says:

    @Janice
    Yeah..I can see that becoming a nice watercolor.

    You should see the photos I took today…sunrise, and sunset (with the full moon rising over the rockies). I have a years’ supply of painting material just based on this week.

    @Eyeteaguy
    Try reading my post in Mandarin. It’s even FUNNIER.

    @Brett
    Maybe you’re thinking of your Techno-Viking Punk Rock.

    @Eyeteaguy
    Just make sure if the Vikings fight, nobody gets hurt with the horns on their helmet (you can put an eye out).

  17. t.sterling Says:

    I know it’s only been a day… but how’s the traffic coming along?

    I don’t mind being outside, I just don’t like outsiding too much when it’s cold. It’s better now because my car has heat, so I’ll go for long drives to nowhere in particular taking in city lights and foodery places where I can stop and have Seinfeldian conversations over breakfast foods. Hey, at least I’m not at the computer and outside (from the door to the car). What more do you want?!

  18. Friar Says:

    @t

    Traffic is mediocre. Hmph.

    (Don’t tell Kelly I’m disappointed with my blog stats…I don’t want to further disillusion her!) 😉

    But hey, at least you’re unplugging from the computer and getting out into the real world! (That’s more than a lot of other people do!)

    Wish we had more IHOP’s in Canada. I’m in BC right now, I think there’s one in Vancouver, but I that’s about a half-day drive from where I’m staying.

  19. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Dancing Vikings and a bar fight and you are worried about putting an eye out? Maybe an eyeteaguy out would be more worrysome.

    While you are out there taking pictures of snow. Can you find a pristine snowbank and take a picture of it at sunset for me? The lights and colour up there are like no other place and the white snow adds texture and reflects the colour beautiufully. I was never able to capture it just right when I was there but you may have the right equipemnt for the job (heh heh heh he said equipment…job).

    If you get the chance….

    Eyeteaguy

  20. Karen JL Says:

    @ Friar – That IHOP is out near Richmond (or on the way to the ferry or something) I think. Still want to take the drive one day and scoff on pancakes. Yummy.

  21. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy
    It’s kind of partly cloudy for the next few days. If we have a good sunset, I might see if I can come up with something.

    @Karen
    Ohhh….too far to drive.

    But I know there is a Denny’s in Revelstoke, and I might be heading there in a few days.


  22. Yeah, Lake Tahoe is beautiful. Nice in the summer for kayaking, hiking, and camping too. I did a river rafting camp when I was a kid down several rivers. Was fun. Utah is the most amazing place I have ever skied though — stony steep and majestic. Tahoe is beautiful for its lake and trees and cabins… maybe a little gambling too.

  23. Friar Says:

    @Jaden
    I drove across lots of California, but the Lake Tahoe area is one that I missed. But I’ve seen photos…it looks awesome.

    Utah is a magical wonderful place…That State has everything…ski hills, fishing, moutains, desert, canyons…There are parts that actually DO look like the Bugs Bunny Road Runner Cartoons. 🙂


Leave a Reply

