A Wonder of Nature

An interesting…er…”ice column” that formed outside the front door, from a dripping water tap.

ice-column

 

No comment.     😉

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Grab Bag

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

22 Comments on “A Wonder of Nature”

  1. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Now that’s funny, snort snort.

    Ah, nature. Infintite variations in infitite ways. All leading to a phallic icicle.

    Eyeteaguy

  2. XUP Says:

    Ah, yes. It looks just like a spoon. Very amusing

  3. Karen Swim Says:

    ROFL! No comment here either, but YOU would notice it. LOL!

  4. Hannah Says:

    It looks like evil, alien ice! Stop it before its too late! LOL


  5. a)”That’s Hot”

    b) Is that a frozen veggie?… PETA girls inside.

    c) How long did you laugh before you took the shot?

    d) Got to love the internets..we’re having ALMOST as much fun as you on your vacation.

  6. Beth Partin Says:

    Bears a scary resemblance to the “formation” at Carlsbad Caverns that visitors were encouraged to touch. That way, the staff was thinking, they wouldn’t go touch the formations in the caves.

  7. Mer Says:

    One thing guaranteed to scare a guy: “It’s melting, it’s melting!” 😮

    –Evil Mer

  8. Steph Says:

    AHAHAHAHAHA!!

    That’s pretty cool, actually.

  9. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy
    Yeah…ain’t it great when nature makes something obnxiously phallic…and we had nothing to do with it?

    @XUP
    Yeah…that’s it. A Spoon. 🙂

    @Karen
    Actually, it’s my Mom that first pointed it out to me!

    @Hannah
    And the scary thing is…it’s growing a bit…every day.

    @Janice
    Ohhh…DON’T give the nasty Peta girls any bad ideas. 😉

    @Beth
    I saw something similar in the Luray Caverns in Virginia. A stalgmite that everyone was allowed to touch. And it was polished smooth.

    @Mer
    Like that Seinfeld episode, about “shrinkage”. 🙂

    @Steph
    Glad I can brighten you day! (The “Ice Column” keeps growing, too!)

  10. Brett Legree Says:

    Admit it. You took this picture at The Factory, didn’t you…

    What?!? No Wonder Twins jokes?

    “Form of an ice weiner!”

  11. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    AHAHAH! That’s priceless!

    Wonder Twins….Activate!

    FORM OF…in ICE Weiner! 😀 😀 😀

    (But what would the other Wonder Twin change into? )

  12. Brett Legree Says:

    @Friar,

    Well, Zan can transform into things made of some kind of water, so that covers the ice weiner.

    Jayna can turn into any kind of animal… hmm, what kind of animal might go with a phallic ice weiner?

  13. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    A horny polar bear…?? 😉

  14. Captain Push Says:

    Why isn’t Teddy placed next to it for scale?
    I mean, I’m sure it’s a tiny thing. Maybe almost
    like a snowflake?
    Damn! Fanny paid good money for one of those in
    red plastic! It’s obviously uh…Art.

  15. Friar Says:

    @Captain
    Oh, Junior Bear was too scared to pose next to that ice…thing.

  16. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    BWAH ha ha ha ha.

    & that Friar’s Mom noticed it first… ROFL again.

    Regards,

    Kelly

  17. Friar's Mom Says:

    @Kelly

    Yes, I was the first to notice the wonder of nature.

    I live in a basement suite and have kept an eye on the water tap outside my door. When the temperature warms up the tap begins to drip ever so slowly. Normally, the water spreads and when the temperature drops it produces an icy surface down the concrete step in front of my dwelling. My concern is not to slip on the ice. However, with the recent fluctuation of warm and cold temperatures the dripping water began to form into an icy stalagmite.

    Mother Nature can be so creative.

  18. t.sterling Says:

    @Brett
    LOL @ Wonder Twins…

    @Friar
    …and the horny polar bear.

    Anyway, it sounds really awkward saying this with all the previous innuendo but I’ve been waiting for something like that to happen outside of my door with all the dangling deadly ice stakes that drip and make my stairway a dangerous frozen deathtrap. I thought I’d get at least get the beginnings of a stalagmite on the sidewalk, but no… just a mini skating rink.

    Besides that, that’s pretty awesome.

  19. Friar Says:

    @Kelly and Friar’s Mom

    I noticed the ice-thingy for um…DIFFERENT reasons.

    @t
    In all my years, I’ve NEVER seen an ice stalagmite. That’s what makes this so unique.

    I wonder if Brett’s right…mabye the Wonder Twins DID have something to do with this.

  20. Kelly Says:

    Friar’s Mom,

    “Creative.” Yup, that’s the word. I let my kid look at Friar’s blog, normally. I need a block on this page!

    Friar,

    ROFL again. I swear, I’d never be able to look my mother in the eye again had this formed up in New York. Better you than me.

    Later,

    Kelly

  21. Ed Says:

    Did anyone see the ice column at the factory on the front of the machine shop? It is two stories high! I wonder if the safety folks have noticed it yet? Safety first,…right?

  22. Friar Says:

    @Ed

    I haven’t been near the machine shop in a LONG time.

    You say they have a massive 2-story ice-wiener there too?

    Oh, that would be AWESOME to photograph (if we were allowed to, that is)


Leave a Reply

