Would you like a Double-Double with that?

Sometimes I get tired of doing landscapes.

So I might shake things up and make myself paint different subjects that I don’t normally do.

I’m probably not the first person to paint Tim Hortons’ donuts.

But it’s probably safe to say that not too many have.

donut-study_150-dpi

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Artwork

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

36 Comments on “Would you like a Double-Double with that?”


  1. It’s not often that art makes me laugh, but when I clicked down page and those donuts popped up, I sure did.

    Donuts may be the death of us all… but oh man, they are worth it, aren’t they?

  2. Friar Says:

    @Jaden

    Especially the ones with sprinkles.

    …mmmm….Sprinkles! 🙂

  3. Neil Says:

    Friar, you are evil. I’ve trying to be so good and the Timmies is a 30 second walk from work! Time to start praying for some will-power.

  4. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Holy crap. I thought you took a picture of a plate of donuts until I reads your post. Nicely done.
    I think I’ll just pop out for a donut now.

    Eyeteaguy

  5. XUP Says:

    If I had any fondness for donuts, these would make me want one. Nicely done!

  6. Friar's Mom Says:

    @ Wee Friar,

    Painting food, runs in the family. Your painting reminds me of the one your sister did for her Daug–the small acrylic of a T-Bone steak she hung on the wall above her Daug’s feeding area.

  7. Friar Says:

    @Neil
    And I got to eat my art subject, after I was done painting! 🙂

    @Eyeteaguy
    Hope it’s a Boston Creme!

    @XUP
    I have a love-hate relationship with donuts. They taste good going down, but after I eat them, I regret it.

    @Friar’s Mom
    I know saw that painting..it makes ME hungry. Steak…mmmmmm.

  8. Beth Partin Says:

    Friar, you are so evil, making me look at luscious pictures of donuts when I trying to stay on SlimSlow.

  9. Friar Says:

    @Beth
    A least I didn’t paint the jelly-filled ones!

  10. Karen JL Says:

    Yummy! I just want to lick all the frosting off.

    Bowls of fruit? Pshaw! Donuts are the new high art! 🙂

  11. mehculpa Says:

    The new Wayne Thiebaud!

    (I hope the pic link works…)

  12. mehculpa Says:

    Oh, well, said Mer, who forgot to sign her name last post. Here’s the link without all the HTML juju.

  13. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    Doughnuts are a once-in-a-while for me, but oh, that does make me think now would be good. The Kid has been begging me to make homemade doughnuts for a couple of weeks… maybe tomorrow morning… mmm.

    Painting-wise, you have such a way with white scenes, which a lot of this is. Beeeutiful.

    Mer,

    Now we’re talking my language. Yum!

    Regards,

    Kelly

  14. Friar Says:

    @Karen
    Wait till next art class. I’m seriously thinking of painting some cheeseburgers and fries. (Hell, why NOT?) 🙂

    @mehculpa
    Mmmm…obviously the artsist was painting BOSTON CREME pies on that link! 🙂

    @Kelly
    As much as I appreciate junk food, donuts arent’ my favorite. I can do one, maybe two. Once in a while.

    I’m more into the protein junk food (hamurgers, pizza, etc).

  15. veredd Says:

    I love this! The sprinkles look awesome.

  16. Friar Says:

    @vered

    I feel sorry for you guys in the States. Dunnkin Donuts are okayyyy…but Tim Horton’s is definitely better!

  17. Friar's Mom Says:

    Since we’re on the subject of donuts — yesterday, Barak Obama on his first visit to a foreign country, made an unscheduled visit to the Byward Market to have his first-ever Beaver Tail. The Beaver Tail is also knows as the Canadian Donut.

    If you have never tasted one, this website gives you a recipe. http://www.razzledazzlerecipes.com/canada/beaver-tails.htm

  18. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    My junk foods: Steak. Chicken. All Things Pasta or Potato. A reeealy good pizza. Anything that involves a cream sauce. And of course, chocolate.

    If I don’t pay close attention (and the older I get, the closer the attention I have to pay…), I could easily, easily, look a lot like a doughnut. Maybe they give me bad associations. 🙂

    Friar’s Mom,

    Recipe dutifully printed. Sounds exactly like our American “fried dough.” I feel obligated to do a comparison now.

    Uh, oh. Friar, remind me again how I can’t gain more than the weight of what I’m eating?

    I can’t come by here on food discussion days. I’m gaining weight reading. Oof.

    Until later,

    Kelly

  19. Beth Partin Says:

    Friar,

    I didn’t really notice before, but you do a good job of differentiating the white of the donut from the white of the plate.

    And actually, I don’t go for the jelly-filled ones, I go for the cream-filled ones.

  20. Friar Says:

    @Beth

    The white on the plate isn’t pure white…I used some brown and greys and even some blues to make the shadows.

    Plus the white icing is a bit translucent..and lets some of the brownish donut itself show through.

    The tricky part is to leave just the faintest touch of these shades, but still leave enough of the paper blank to make it white.

  21. Brett Legree Says:

    As usual the scanned image doesn’t do the original justice – this is a really awesome painting.

    Hmm. Dessert, let’s think about it for a minute.

    Cheesecake. If I had to die for a dessert, my dessert would be cheesecake. Blueberry cheesecake.

  22. Todd Smith Says:

    Now this is awesome! I’m totally wanting a maple donut now. I don’t think I’ve seen a donut painting before. It totally brings a smile to my face.

  23. Duane Says:

    Ummmmmm, can your cholesterol level go up just by looking at them.


  24. Friar- You know if you tilt your head to the left and look at the painting sideways, it looks like……

    a Gorilla face….

    Just saying. 😉

  25. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Honey Glazed. Donut, Tim-Bit or Krueller.
    C’est fin, n’est pas?

    l’Eyeteaguy

  26. Friar Says:

    @Brett
    I’m a chocolate cake man myself. Dunkin Hines or Betty Crocker. Smothered in chocolate icing. (Hmm…another painting subject, perhaps?

    @Todd
    I know Janice paints fancy pastries…but I don’t think she’d do something “low brow” like donuts. Mabye I AM the only donut painter around.

    @Duane
    That’s for dessert. What you need before that to get the cholesterol shooting through the roof is a Nicky’s pizza.

    @Janice
    ROFLOL! You know what?….you’re RIGHT!

    (Howcum Kelly didn’t pick up on that one?)

    @Eyeteaguy
    Despite all the fancy flavors, I still like honey-glazed and chocolate dipped the best.

  27. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    Kelly is in therapy, trying not to see gorillas wherever she goes.

    Bananas… well, that’s been going on a lot longer. You didn’t cause that. 😉

    Brett,

    If I had to die for it…

    A deep-fried truffle.*

    There are few sins quite so sinful.

    Later,

    Kelly

    *(The chocolate kind, not the funky-fungus.)


  28. “Gorilla Face With Sprinkles” a breakthrough painting for Splatt Creek artist, Deep Friar…..speaks to the inner beast in all of us… and our desire for more….

    Can inflatable Bananas Foster be far behind?

    😉

    And yes, I like my pastries arrogant and French…;-)

  29. Friar Says:

    @Kelly
    Is that like an expensive deep-fried Mars bar?

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Deep-fried_Mars_bar

    @Janice

    I had Bananas Foster once. I liked it! (But it wasn’t inflatable!)

    Oh, Honh! honh! honh!

    (That’s my arrogant French pastry chef laugh!)


  30. 😉 Monsieur Le Friar.. you are so fun- kneee!

    It is Sunday already and I am only wanting a nap. You are probably out walking 50 miles in neck deep snow while calculating the specific gravity of cheeseburgers.

  31. Friar Says:

    @Janice

    No….I’m actually taking Sunday OFF. No skiing…no hiking…no partying (that was yesterday).

    I’m a tired Friar…I’m just going to vedge today, and read a book or something.

    But I DO think I want to paint some cheeseburgers (probably within the next couple of weeks).

  32. steph Says:

    Mmmm. I’m not even much of a doughnut eater but that painting totally made me feel like jumping in the car and going to get us a treat or two! One foot already inches toward the door…

  33. Friar Says:

    @steph

    This is hilarious, all the responses I’m getting from this post! 🙂

    Mabye I should paint junk food more often!

  34. Todd Smith Says:

    Janice – You totally killed me with that gorilla reference! 🙂 I’m dyin’ over here. Just trying to breath again. 🙂

    Friar – you found your niche. Janice will never think of this. And just think your market will be much broader with appeal to almost everyone. You could have these hanging in every Tim Hortons in Canada. And could have a side business with animal lovers too.

  35. Brett Legree Says:

    You should paint a Piggie Burger so people will know what that one is – let’s go out this week and take along a camera – a photo of a Piggie Burger with a poutine.

    Yeah.

    Dang, that’s making me hungry – even though I probably couldn’t eat that much right now (I only was ever able to eat a PB once…)

  36. Friar Says:

    @Todd

    Hmm…painting donuts. You may be right. It could be a new niche, waiting to be tapped.

    I’m suprised. This was just a quick study…certainly not the best thing I’ve ever painted. I didnt’ think the response would be so positive!

    By the way, Janice would NEVER have made a gorilla reference like that, if she hadn’t started reading my blog! 🙂

    @Brett

    I can just see myself…taking the camera into the Grease Spot Restaurant, and photographing the Cardiac Piggie Burger Special…while everyone looks at me like I’m a Nidiot! 🙂


Leave a Reply

