Travels with the Bear: From Sea to Sea to Sea

The Bear’s been to all three coasts of North America.

First, there’s the Atlantic.   (In this case, Ogunquit Beach, Maine).   I like to drive there every couple of years or so.

atlantic-bear

There, there’s the Pacific (just outside San Francisco).  This was from a bigger road trip I did in 2001.

pacific-bear

Then, as part of the same road trip, I wanted to hit the Arctic Coast.  That took a bit more more effort, because you can’t drive there.

The furthest North the Bear and I could get with my Honda Civic was Inuvik.  (After driving on  700 km of gravel on the Dempster Highway).

inuvik-bear

Then it was a one hour plane ride to Tuktoyaktuk.    But we reached the Arctic Ocean.

arctic-bear1

Of course, I had to take a dip (for some reason, I always do this in frigid water.)

arctic-friar

But actually,  it wasn’t as cold as some other swims I’ve taken.

Explore posts in the same categories: The Outdoor Friar

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

16 Comments on “Travels with the Bear: From Sea to Sea to Sea”

  1. Patricia Says:

    Friar,
    Love the bear travel blog news….Looks like the Gulf of Mexico or Indian Ocean might need to be next.

    PS – I thought your comments of CathLawson’s site about the law of attraction and the Hick’s book was smack dab on target…Vered was right on too….Thank you

    I have a neighbor who does not believe the Holocaust even happened…it is just made up – they are moving to the country as soon as they can sell their house, because Jordanians moved across the street.

    Wow Thank you for the fun post

  2. Duane Says:

    Is that the same bear that went cross canada in a civic

  3. Friar Says:

    @Patricia
    Yup….the Bear hasn’t been to the Gulf yet. Furthest south in that direction was Cape Hatteras.

    Wow…your neighbors sound…er…”interesting”.

    @Duane
    Yep…it’s that SAME damn bear! 🙂

  4. Cath Lawson Says:

    @Patricia – Your neighbours sound a bit nuts.

    @Friar – I’m shocked. I disappear from the blogosphere for a while and you’ve started posting pics of yourself.

    It looks like you have some amazing beaches in the USA but I bet that water was freezing. I hope you didn’t make the bear swim.

    I’ve swam in a river in the UK in February, when I was a kid but I’m way too wimpy now.

  5. Friar Says:

    @Cath
    Well, it’s a small enough photo (just a few pixels) that I think my identity is safe! 🙂

    There are lots of great ocean beaches in the USA. In Cananda….well, not too many (Some in Nova Scotia, some in P.E.I). Aside from that, the oceans’ just too darned cold to swim in, even at the best of times.

  6. Patricia Says:

    Friar,
    I think my neighbors are very interesting and a bit crazy, but their whole church believes the Holocaust did not happen…and Senator John McCann’s whole church believes every person who has Arab blood should be machine gunned off the planet……

    I am being confronted by a number of Law of Attraction folks right now…I would rather that they left me alone as that is not the journey I am on right now, but I sure am attracting them!

    Where is Bear headed next….
    We have folks who do a polar bear swim every New Years Day…that is pretty chilly!

  7. Friar Says:

    @Patricia
    Oh dear…well, at least your neighbors are moving away, hopefully.

    As for the Bears’ next travels…well, that can be ANYBODY’s guess. 🙂

  8. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    At least with this self-portrait, we won’t have to argue about what we’re looking at. 😉

    The Kid (home on a snow day!) thinks Junior looks mighty cold in that last photo.

    I love the colors in the Maine photo. Sooo peaceful looking. What a lucky, well-travelled bear!

    Regards,

    Kelly

  9. Steph Says:

    I love that you drove as far as you could go and then took a plane to the Arctic Ocean and then went swimming. That and all your other adventures show characteristics about you that are very attractive, Friar. I can’t name them, only because I can’t quite put my finger on them exactly (I just got up), but I admire them very much. I feel as though if I could pinpoint them and tell you, I might surprise you or something because you’re either not used to thinking about yourself in such a way or not used to hearing others compliment you so.

    Did Bear take that last pic of you?

  10. Steph Says:

    Okay, that bit about not used to hearing others compliment you so sounds wrong. It’s just that you’ve often mentioned criticism, and, well, I guess I’d refute it.

  11. Karen Swim Says:

    Aw, I envy the bear, such an exciting life he leads. In Southern California there’s a group called the Polar Bears and they take a swim in the freezing Pacific Ocean on New Year’s Day. This year one of my best friends (who has done two Ironmans) joined them. She sent me pictures of her shivering but it was so much fun for her.

  12. Friar's Mom Says:

    @ Karen
    We have a number of Polar Bear Swims across Canada–Ontario, Yellowknife, PEI, New Brunswick, etc. A popular one is in Vancouver, where my friend’s 12-year old daughter did it with her dad. We’re tough in Canada. We start them early.

    This year a 91-year old man entered the Vancouver one. Some don’t know when to quit.

  13. XUP Says:

    That’s what I need – a bear travelling companion. I’ve always made the mistake of travelling with humans. They get sooooo annoying

  14. Friar Says:

    @Kelly
    Yes..there’s nothing really here for you and Janice to argue/speculate about!

    @Steph
    Thanks for the kind words.

    But it wasn’t THAT big of a deal. There were some 70 year old stuffy old tourists on the same tour of Tuk that I was on. (Except they didn’t go in the water).

    @Karen
    I’ve done two “Polar Bear Swims” in ice water. One, deliberately. One, by accident (when a canoe tipped). Been there, done that. I’ll stick to liquid water from now on. 🙂

    @Friar’s Mom
    I think there are polar bear (idiots) all around the country. (myself included).

    @XUP
    And it’s a good way to meet new people. (People always want to come up and ask “what’s up with the bear?”).


  15. Notae is very envious of your bear…

    (aka Señor Oso as Amy calls him)

  16. Friar Says:

    @Alex

    Hey…cool! 🙂 Is Notae your travel companion?


Leave a Reply

