Canadian Provinces and Territories Described in 10 Words

Prince Edward Island
Red Sand. Potatoes.  Beaches.  Anne of Green Gables (enough already!)

Newfoundland
Rock.  North Atlantic.  Fog.  Cod.  Unemployed.  Friendly.  Screech. Tunderin’ Jesus!

New Brunswick
Next to Maine.  Moncton.  Bay of Fundy.  Drive-thru Province.

Nova Scotia.
Halifax. Lobster. Bluenose. Rain. Cape Breton. Fiddle Music. Rita McNeil.

Quebec
Poutine.  Depaneur. Habs.  Labatts 50.  Smoked Meat.  Montreal.  Politics.  Tabernac.

Ontario
Toronto.  Non-Toronto.  Blackflies. Walleye. Lakes.  Cottages.  Big.  Boring.

Manitoba
Prairies.  Winter-peg.  Flat.   Churchill. Polar Bears.  Above North Dakota.

Saskatechewan
Flat.  Yawn.  Wheat.  Flat.  Close to Alberta.  Peaked in 1912.

Alberta
Prairies.  Tar Sands.  Rockies.  Beef.  No sales tax.  Yee-Haw.

British Columbia
Lotus Land. Hippies.  Asians.  Mountains.  Logging.  Spruce-beetles.  Ontario refugees.

Yukon Territory
Bugs.  Klondike Tourists.  Glaciers.  Bugs.  North of 60.  Arctic cold.

NorthWest Territories
Like Yukon, but bigger, more remote, no glaciers, no tourists.

Nunavut
Same as Northwest Territories.  Used to be part of them.

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Grab Bag

Tags: , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

23 Comments on “Canadian Provinces and Territories Described in 10 Words”


  1. You forgot to say Saskatechewan was flat.

    Eyeteaguy

    P.S. I have a runny nose.

    P.S.S I will be away this weekend. Don’t be funny without me.

    P.S.S.S Forget all that, do what you want.

  2. Ram Venkatararam Says:

    p.s.s.s

    Good Summary on Alberta. I would have included Ralph Klein and changed yee-haa to yaa-hoo but that’s a personal choice

  3. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy
    Maybe I should write a mushy, hearfelt thoughtful blog, while you’re away…so you don’t miss anything.

    @Ram
    yee-ha and yaa-hoo are interchangeable.

    If I have allowed myself 15-20 worlds, I’d have included Ralph Klein.

  4. Friar's Mom Says:

    @ Wee Friar,

    It’s the Mountain Pine Beetle that’s doing most of the devestation in BC. The Spruce Budworm likes to hang around Eastern North America.

  5. Friar's Mom Says:

    @ Wee Friar,

    Howcum, nothing about the Nation’s Capital in Ontario?

  6. Kyddryn Says:

    Sweet – now I don’t have to find my passport or take the trouble to lever my fifty-acre arse out of the recliner and come see for myself!

    Shade and Sweetwater,
    K

  7. Friar's Seestor Says:

    Saskatchewan’s economy is booming. It’s re-peaking.

  8. mehculpa Says:

    @Friar

    If you had a choice and economics were not taken into account, which province would you live in and why?

    Also, which province is least cold, leadt humid and not infested by blackflies?

    Mer, who now wishes she spoke French

  9. mehculpa Says:

    *least

    Crap.

  10. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    Awesome. ROFL at everything. Poetic, and snarky. How do you do it?

    BTW, Cape Breton= 1/8 Kelly.

    Regards,

    Kelly

  11. Friar's Mom Says:

    @ Mehculpa,

    I predict Wee Friar will choose BC, it has all that he loves: downhill and x-country skiing, fishing, hiking, and fantastic scenery for his painting.

  12. Friar Says:

    @Friar’s Mom

    Well, Ottawa is a bit boring. Maybe if I allowed myself 20 words instead of 10, I’d have added it.

    And the MOUNTAIN PINE BEETLE. Okay, I stand corrected. I knew there was SOME kind of critter devastating the trees.

    @Seestor
    Well, I know there economy is booming now. Let’s hope they reach the same level of prosperity they did in the early 1900’s. 😉

    @mer
    All provinces are cold. But Victoria or Vancouver are really mild with no bugs. You get green grass in February. That’s why everyone wants to live there and housing costs a bajillion dollars.

    If I had my choice, it would be WEST. British Columbia, or Alberta (Calgary, close to the Rockies). Like Friar’s Mom says, it would be for the skiing and hiking and scenery. I’m slowly trying to move there…

    @Kelly
    Nova Scotia is closer to New England then you think. There’s a high speed ferry from Bar Harbor, Maine, to Yarmouth that cuts down on tons of driving. If you ever have a chance to go there, I recommend it.

    I have some photos from a vacation…I’ll email you some.

  13. Karen JL Says:

    Well, no province is perfect. As much I *love* living in Vancouver,
    A. I can’t afford a house (yet).
    B. The homeless problem is insane.
    C. Now we’re having a gang-related shooting/murder every other week.

    Fun times. But I wouldn’t want to be in any other place (except Hawaii). 🙂

    And I really want to see the Maritimes one of these days. Shame on me for not having done so yet.

  14. Friar Says:

    @Karen
    Maritimes are beautiful…worth visiting. But I woudln’t wanna live there.

    They get LOTS of rain. And even in the summer, it can get cold and damp.

    It’s like the West Coast, but without the glaciers and mountains.

    Meh. I’ll take BC any day.

  15. Karen JL Says:

    Me too.

    Even though my first 30 years were spent in Montreal…BC is ‘home’. 🙂

  16. Friar Says:

    @Karen
    My Big Game Plan is to make BC or Alberta “home” too. (But I gotta get a JOB there first!)


  17. How about the Canadian Province Horoscope Sign?
    (am combining your posts)

    Me, I’d be the Northwest Territories. 😉

  18. XUP Says:

    On the east coast they call Rita McNeil “Eata Bigmeal”

  19. Friar Says:

    @Jaden
    Hmmm…you might be onto something there… 😉

    @XUP
    Ohhh…that’s harsh! 🙂

    But I must admit, I’ve heard other variations. “i.e. Eatmore McNeil”.

  20. Brett Legree Says:

    @Friar,

    You either have to get a job or make a job for yourself – I wonder what you could do to provide a service for all the rich baby boomers who vacation and live out there?

    😉

  21. XUP Says:

    Eatmore McNeil doesn’t even rhyme with Rita McNeil… at least the martime version does

  22. Friar Says:

    @Brett
    Mabye I can find a nice lady out there who makes a good salary to support me, while I stay at home blogging and earning a three-figure salary. 🙂

    @XUP.

    Yeah…I admit..it’s a pretty lame nick-name. But I wasn’t the one who came up with it. (A friend did)

  23. mehculpa Says:

    @ Friar

    Thanks. That’s good to know. 🙂

    I think my grandparents went to BC on vacation once. The background of the pic they had taken of them was really beautiful.

    The way things are (still) going politically in the US, I might not be able to abide staying here. I’m already West, too, so it could work.

    Mer


Leave a Reply

