Not Basil!

I’ve been working on my kids’ book, improving the sketches, and starting to develop some characters.  Here are a few of my latest snippets about Basil.

**********************************************************************

When most dogs bark, they go “Yap! Yap!”, “Woof! Woof!” or “Bow! Wow!”

some-dogs-bark

Not Basil!   When he barks, he goes “Nee! Nee!”

And when he does,  it makes Mr. McGarnaggle’s car alarm go off next door, and he screams at everybody.

basil-nee-nee-beep

Most dogs enjoy going for car rides.

some-dogs-like-to-go-for-a-ride

Not Basil.  He gets so excited, he’ll jump around the car so much, and smash the windshield.

basil-dog-park

And when he does, it costs Dad a lot of money to fix it.

Of course, Basil is okay.  But that’s the fourth windshield he’s broken.

basil-broken-windshield

Dad says Basil is a sometimes few bricks short of a full load.  I don’t know what that means.  Maybe that Basil isn’t always smart.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncle Friar's Bedtime Stories

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

11 Comments on “Not Basil!”

  1. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Firsties!!!!

    Nice work, good use of white 😉

    Actually, I like your trees. But that is because I miss the colour and am not used to seeing it.

    Why did you name your dog Basil? Fawlty Towers?

  2. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy
    Good use of white. Yeahhh, right.

    But you certainly get a Gold Star for having Firsties. Congratulations, you win. 😉

    Actually, Basil is based on a real-life yellow Lab I used to live next to.

    And (no, I’m not kidding), Basil’s owner DID name her dog after Fawlty Towers!

  3. Writer Dad Says:

    I am reading Basil with my son right now and he LOVES it. Don’t wait to long to get this puppy in print.

  4. Karen Swim Says:

    Friar, it has been fun watching the progress you’re making. I see the enhancements and the colors seem more vivid in this round. I am so glad that you are sharing the journey with us, it is insightful and it encourages me to keep moving forward on my own goals. I can’t wait to buy the book and share (maybe) with the wee ones in my family. 😉

  5. Friar Says:

    @Writer Dad

    I’m glad to hear kids like this. I suspected they would…but it’s always great to hear it first-hand.

    @Karen

    Hooray! Between you and Writer Dad, I’m guaranteed at least TWO sales! 🙂

    Now that just encourages me to work even HARDER on this.

  6. XUP Says:

    My daughter, the expert babysitter and child minder had a look at this and she thinks kids won’t know what “a few bricks short of a full load” means and there’s no quick or interesting way to explain it to them. I like the concept of dog’s heads going through car windshields, though. It’s dark and funny at the same time

  7. Friar Says:

    @XUP
    Actually happened to my friends’ dog. The Lab was so happy to be going to the park, he smashed the windshield. And of course the Cement-Head didn’t feel a thing.

  8. Patricia Says:

    Neat…looking good

  9. Friar Says:

    @Patricia
    If you search “Basil” on my blog, you can see earlier versions if you want.

  10. Patricia Says:

    I will search Basil tomorrow on your site and look at the earlier versions. My oldest daughter already has looked at your pages for your book too…but she never writes on anyone’s blogs…she recommended I look too.
    She is my IT person…my silent partner…she paints also.

  11. William Baldwin Says:

    Nope, never had that issue in the car with my dogs! Other..more messy ones yes, but no smashed glass.


Leave a Reply

