Happy Earth Day

happy-earth-day

Ah.  Earth Day.

What better way to celebrate.

Than to turn on Christmas lights?

In April.

During the daylight.

With a fake representation of an arctic mammal.

Most likely to be threatened by melting polar ice.

That’s made of petroleum-based plastic, no less?

********************

Now,  before you all yell at me for being a jack-ass.

And for making Al Gore and David Suzuki cry.

Take a closer look.

It could be worse.

After all,

I am using  a Blue-Box.   😉

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Grab Bag

31 Comments on “Happy Earth Day”

  1. hannah78 Says:

    While I will try not to yell at you for your green incorrectness, I will ask:
    “So when are the Christmas lights coming down? Or are they a permanent fixture?”

  2. Friar Says:

    @hannah
    Oh, this is the first time I turned the Xmas lights on since February. And just for a little while.

    Last year I took the lights down in June.
    Which was close to the break-even point. I was almost just as close to the next Christmas, as being past the previous one.

    (Of course, that’s because I’m a certified Level III Procrastinator.)

  3. XUP Says:

    All you need here is a trailer up on blocks in the driveway where the cousins sleep.

  4. Friar's Mom Says:

    @Wee Friar,

    I noticed an overturned bench on the left of the photo. Is this the beginning of the end?

    Are you in the process of becoming an eccentric whose home has a old sofa, broken rocking chair, washing machine, toilet, car tires, windows, garbage cans, and other paraphernalia that over flood the front porch and encroach on the lawn?

  5. Friar Says:

    @XUP
    I think some electrical appliances on the front lawn would also make great accessories here.

    @Friar’s Mom
    We had a major windstorm on Monday. A few things got blown around that I havent’ all picked up yet.

    But you’ve seen my yard and my garden in the summer. You should know that the outside of my house is reasoanbly neat. I’m not white trash…just yet.

  6. Karen JL Says:

    All you need is a girlfriend that would wear a tube top to a wedding and your white trash-ness will be complete!

    (Think there’s such a thing as a white trash cool kid?)

  7. Friar Says:

    @Karen

    Well, around Splat Creek, I think there would be no shortage of tube-top wearing wedding dates.

    White trash cool kid?

    Well, I think I’m closer to the white trash part, than I am to the cool part.

    Think I oughta start wearing baseball caps backwards and start driving a Quad to the Tim Hortons.

  8. Beth Partin Says:

    Friar,

    I celebrate Earth Day by driving around in my Dodge Dakota with the bumper sticker, “Green cars today, blue skies tomorrow.”

  9. Friar Says:

    @Beth
    Well, at least you got the bumper sticker!

    With my Blue Box, I think we got all the bases covered. 🙂

  10. Eyeteaguy Says:

    9 comments in 12 hours.

    I knew your blog was sad before I came along but for Pete’s sake, can’t a guy go on holiday?

    Ok,ok, ok, ok. I’m back now. Let’s crank this puppy up and go for the century.

    I see that you are not composting either. If the earth dies, its your fault. Its people like you what cause global warming.

    Eyeteaguy

  11. Donald Mills Says:

    That’s beautiful Friar. I love it.

    Despite what your mom said I think it’s a nice touch having the overturned chair by the fence. Classes the place up and it’s all about curb appeal.

    Funny post. Thanks. Can I call you “wee friar” too or is that strictly for mom?

  12. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy
    Yeah, it’s been a pretty quiet week. Some of my comments didnt’ even hit the 20’s.

    Mabye people are visiting my blog, not to read me, but just to see what you have to say.

    Hopefully things will be back to (ab)normal, now that you’re back.

    @Donald
    I think the “Wee Friar” is more of a Friar’s Mom thing.

    But you can call me “Young Friar” if you like.

    But (sorry to disappoint you), I’ve picked up the chair already.

  13. Friar's Mom Says:

    @Donald
    Wee Friar is like calling an offspring by a shortened name: Jamie, Bobby, Nicky, Billy, or Freddy. It’s kind of awkward to call him Friary, or Fry.

    But hey if you feel comfortable with calling him Wee Friar, he may want to address you as Donny.

    Just curious, does your mom call you Don or Donny or Donald?

  14. davinahaisell Says:

    Laughing like crazy! Are you really USING that Blue Box though? I don’t see anything in it 🙂

  15. Friar Says:

    @Davina
    Actually, the day I took that photo was the day they came by to empty our blue-boxes. I just hadn’t brought it back into the house.

    Forgive me, though, if I burned a bit too much carbon on Earth Day. I hope I didn’t drown any REAL polar bears! 😉

  16. Eyeteaguy Says:

    They call him Wee Friar as he used to urinate on everything he didn’t like.

    And speaking of the environment (and we were so I am not off topic….how unusual) and speaking of pee, (well you weren’t but I was) Why do we pee in our drinking water? The water in your toilet is as clean as the water that comes from your tap. How odd. Then we send it to a treatment center who cleans it….then we pour it back into our dirty lakes and steams. Huh?

    Can we not use “dirty water” for out toilets, or once it has been treated, send it back into the system?

    Just wondering. I’m sure some smart folks have put some thought into this, or not. Either way. I’m sure Friar and Brett will sort me out about this.

    Eyeteaguy

  17. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy

    Why don’t we just use a single source of water in our house (and drink out the toilet like Basil does?)

  18. mehculpa Says:

    @ Friar

    Here everyone’s been giving you, err, cr*p for being on the verge of white trashery and I was thinking, “Oh, what a cute little house Friar has.” I ignored all the other stuff–except for the polar bear. I like the polar bear.

    @ Friar’s Mom

    There’s always the alternate: Small Fry. 😉 (Some members of my family live for bad puns. But not me. Nope.)

    @ Everyone, since y’all seem to know

    What is the blue box for? Is there a big rechargeable battery inside? Inquiring minds want to know.

    Mer

  19. Friar Says:

    @mer
    I was expecting people (in fact, one can argue that I was encouraging them) to give me shit for not being green on Earht Day.

    But instead, they’ve gone on a white trash tangent.

    Oh well, go figure.

  20. Friar's Mom Says:

    @Mer
    The Blue Box is for recycling glass, tin cans, and #1 and #2 plastics.

    The Black Box is for recycling paper and cardboard products.

    In our area of Ontario, we alternate Blue and Black boxes every other week, and put them out on garbage days.

  21. mehculpa Says:

    @ Friar’s Mom

    Ahh, I see. I live in a California town noted for its Toad Tunnel. No doubt because Americans consume massive amounts of stuff by Former Presidential decree, we have rather large containers, (see pic) divided down the middle. The left side is for paper and the right side is for containers. Of course, if you turn the bin around, it’s just the opposite. People here pile their “green waste” into the street the night before the sweeper is due to arrive–after the scary machine with the big teethpicks up all the yard clippings.

    (Berkeley has nothing on us.)

    Mer

  22. mehculpa Says:

    That was just too fun. I may need professional help. 😆

    Mer

  23. Friar Says:

    @Mer
    “Toad Tunnel”.

    Heh.

    There is NO WAY I would have guessed what that is, unless you had told me. 😉

  24. mehculpa Says:

    It would be so much nicer if the toads used the tunnel, but they’ve boycotted since its installation. 🙂

  25. Friar Says:

    @mer
    Didnt’ know they had toads in California. Isnt’ the climate a bit too dry for them?

  26. mehculpa Says:

    We have frogs (and toads) all over California. I can remember when I was living in Sacramento county, I’d hear them singing at the farm next door during the rainy season. They drove other people nuts, but they helped me fall asleep. 😀 There’s still a frog jumping contest in Calaveras county, too. (Link goes to the Mark Twain story)

    Our climate varies depending on where you go. In the north we usually have a prolonged rainy season, and in both north and south there are wetlands and vernal pools. Just to the east of Davis, there’s a permanent wetlands for birds and such. And just to the south, more or less, is the Sacramento Delta which flows into the Pacific. We get some of your geese here. I hear them flying overhead in the mornings sometime. (I know the photos says they’re swans, but I could have sworn I saw a goose in there.)

    Mer

  27. Friar Says:

    @Mer
    I’ve driven through much of California. I know you have rain forests up North and and such..but so much of the State seems DRY (even in Yoesmite or just outside San Francisco) that I have a hard time imagining lots of frog.

    Unlike here, where it’s difficult to walk in the woods without getting a soaker with a mud puddle or swampy creek.

    This time of year, we get the Spring Peepers coming out in the marshes and swamps. They’re small frogs, and they start going “peep peep peep” by the thousands, from mabye 6:00 PM all night, until dawn.

    It’s really weird…if you go to into the bush away from the town, there are so many damned frogs peeping, it hurts your ears.

    It’s like it resonates with your head, you can feel your pulse in your ears, and you can get a splitting headache, it just MESSES you up (unless you retreat back to dryer ground).

    You can ask Friar’s Mom..she can confirm this.

  28. Friar Says:

    @Mer

    PS. You can have some of OUR geese. There are so many of them, they’re a nuisance. Almost as bad as seagulls.

    More like very BIG seagulls, that poop all over place. You cant’ even walk on the grass in some parks.

  29. mehculpa Says:

    @ Friar

    I understand what you mean. The desert-type climate seems like the last place you’d see a frog or a toad. (I was shocked that there are frogs in Arizona, which is much drier and hotter than California) I think the frogs I heard may have been the kind that hang out in irrigation ditches. Probably American Bullfrogs, which aren’t native to Cali.

    That’s interesting about the frogs where you live. Maybe take earplugs to the bush?

    Re: Your Geese. I suppose they’re as cranky as other geese? Are they protected, or can you eat them?

    ::thinks of pâté::

    YUM.

    Mer 🙂

  30. mehculpa Says:

    Oh, you remember that chocolate stout you and Brett were talking about? I found it at the Co-op for $15! A little too rich for my blood.

    Mer

  31. Friar Says:

    @Mer
    I think you CAN hunt geese…during open season.

    But the problem is with the tame ones..that live within the city limits. They’ve become used to people and hanging around eating french-fries and junk. They just WON’T go away…and nobody’s allowed to do anything (The animal rights people get upset).

    City is thinking of getting trained dogs to chase them. NOt to attack them. Just to chase them. (Go figure…?)

    As for that chocolate beer. WOW. I didn’t realized it was so costly. (Brett must be richer than I think!)


Leave a Reply

