What I Saw On My Day Off.

Moose poop.

mpoop-12

Moose poop.

mpoop-2

MORE moose poop.

mpoop-3

One very cold windy lake.

windy-lake

One beautiful, magical speckled trout.

trout-2

trout-1

One very bad photo of a Teddy Bear climbing a tree.

teddy-bear

….oh, yeah.   And more MOOSE POOP.

moose-poop-4

Explore posts in the same categories: The Outdoor Friar

Tags: , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

35 Comments on “What I Saw On My Day Off.”

  1. chris zydel Says:

    I would have to say that this is unequivocally and without a DOUBT the final word on moose poop!

  2. Captain Push Says:

    I found the fecal fecundity of this post especially scatological in nature. The mountainous mounds of manure stack up into a pile of poop. Some may think you post crap but I like your blog, however shitty it might be today.

    Some may wish to defecate on you Friar but you’ll always be Number 2 in my book. I mean that from the very bowels of my soul.

  3. Eyeteaguy Says:

    What a load of shit.

  4. Friar Says:

    @Chris
    I must admit, this is the most I’ve ever blogged about moose poop, in my WHOLE LIFE.

    @Captain
    Heh heh. I’m flattered to know that I’ll “always number two” in your book.

    I think you musta used up the whole thesaurus to write this comment. I fear you’ve stolen Eyeteaguy’s thunder.

    @Eyeteaguy
    Well, at least I’m not a Richard.

  5. steph Says:

    AWESOME!! Good for you. I’m so glad you got out and also caught fish! The bear is an extra bonus.

    Where were you? Algonquin??

    What I did on my day off: GARDEN! 🙂

  6. Friar Says:

    @Steph
    Yep…Algonquin with my fishing buddy.

    Was a long day…left the house at 5:30 AM and returned 9:00 PM. But it was worth it. Even though we had 40-50 kph winds and whitecaps for a good part of the day. I still managed to get one fish (from shore…it was too dangerous to canoe at one point).

    Doing stuff like this is what keep me from going insane at work.

  7. GWN Says:

    Word has it that you also saw some Mergansers and came close to mounting a deer or two on the grill of your fishin’ buddy’s car 😉

  8. Friar Says:

    @GWN

    Yeah, a few Mergansers. I wasn’t too excited about those. I’m more into omnivores and carnivores (bears and wolves).

    And yes…Bambi’s Mom was ALMOST a hood ornament.

    Almost… 😉

  9. GWN Says:

    Arrrgh, Friar, have ya’ ever seen wolf scat?

  10. Friar Says:

    @GWN

    No, but I’ve seen two maroons almost not catch any fish!

  11. Patricia Says:

    My daughter is leaving on Saturday for Glacier Bay National park to be a Steward on the boat trips – summer work. She says she will see lots of moose and bear droppings so we got her mucking boots to go.

    Tom is planning a 1,000 mile bike trip around the Cascade Mountains in Late September – you are welcome to join his crew for the whole ride or just a few days, they will see lots of wolves, coyote, maybe bears, deer, and so much more…not to mention winery tours and microbreweries….John is a Master chef and likes to stop…the mountain passes and ocean should be fun too. He says you would be welcome.
    That did not look like traveling bear in the picture?

  12. Liz Says:

    I’m speechless. Thanks so much for sharing those special moments with us…OMG 😆

  13. Karen JL Says:

    Something’s beary fishy about this shitty post.

  14. Friar Says:

    @Patricia
    Tell Tom thanks very much for the offer, but I already have my vacation plans this summer.

    (Plus, there is no way I’d be able to keep up with his crew…I’m not in that great shape!) I don’t think I could do 100 miles, let alone 1000.

    @Liz
    I guess the moose poop really got to you, didn’t it? 😉

    @Karen
    Bwahahahahah! Great comment! You pretty much covered it all in 8 words. 😀

  15. hannah78 Says:

    That’s a lot of moose poop to see first thing in the morning when you’re trying to eat breakfast! LOL

  16. Friar Says:

    @Hannah

    Just think of it as Cocoa Puffs. 😉

  17. XUP Says:

    How come moose poop such tidy little perfectly formed balls in such contained piles? Would each of those piles represent one bowel movement of one moose or do they establish little pooping spots around the woods where other moose come and add to the pile already there? For herbivores they amazingly solid poop, don’t you think?

  18. Mer Says:

    My first poop post. But are you sure it belongs to moose? I mean, it looks a lot like rabbit poop: small, discrete droppings that would roll around a lot if you tried to clean it up. You sure Amy didn’t send you a load of rabbit poop to decorate your post?

    ::little raised eyebrow guy:: <—— emoticon

    Mer

  19. Friar Says:

    @XUP

    I so envy moose (where it comes to number two) It comes out in such nice discrete packets.

    No wiping their arse. No poop running all down their backsides (like cows).

    Wish we humans could poop like Bullwinkle. Think of the toilet paper we’d save.

    @Mer
    Oh, no. This is DEFINITELY moose poop. (There wouldn’t be that many bunnies in the woods, anyway).

    Never let it be said that I don’t really know my shit.


  20. Wow, we so have a different concept of what one should do, and therefore be exposed to, on a day off. Seriously, I deal with enough poop at work!


  21. Oh man!!!! What a gorgeous trout! LOL, I just glanced back at the other comments… am I so used to scat that it doesn’t bother me? I am going, oh wow.. he’s on the trail, the fish is coming up soon… This is so cool.. :-))))

    It’s nature. I mean does a wild bear poo in the the woods? Well, yes he does and so do mooses, or is that meeses…;-)

    Love the fish, love the fish!!!

  22. Friar Says:

    @Panther

    Crap from work, or crap from woodland critters..(?)

    I think the latter is much easier to deal with!

    And when you’re carrying a canoe on your head and struggling with fallen logs and rocks, the office is the LAST thing you think about! 😉

    @Janice
    The moose were obviously making use of the portage trail when we humans werent’ using it. There were pellets every 30 feet. Just shows that not just humans, but Nature likes to select the path of least resistance.

    I really loved the fish too. Especially last night, pan-friend with butter, with a bit of salt and pepper, and some lemon/dill sauce.

    I coulda easily ate another. Even two more.

  23. XUP Says:

    Mer – I would really not like to meet the bunny who could produce poop like that.
    Friar – You never answered my question about the poop pile itself – is each pile all from one Moose at one sitting (as it were)?

  24. Friar Says:

    @XUP

    Each pile looks to be about the size of one individual Moose B.M. (I’ve seen them poop real-time….they tend to plop out the pellets in little spurts, here or there, instead of doing one big dump).

    Can’t tell, though, if these piles were from the same moose, over and over again. Or from multiple moose, each one leaving their own little gift package.

    But one thing I can tell for sure, the poop wasnt made all at the same time.

    For example, look at the darker brown color of this first poop photo. It moister, obviously fresher than the lighter colored, dryer poop from the 4th photo.

    Whatever the case, looks like we happened to stumble upon a major Poop Corridor.

    God, I love Nature.


  25. Yum, Lemon Dill sauce…tasty trout …

    A major Poop Corridor…;-) Water, trails, plenty to eat, probably scratching trees…yep, major Poop Corridor it ’tis.

    You are so lucky. Now was there honey up that tree for that bear?

  26. XUP Says:

    Ah, a poop corridor. So each photo though represents a one-moose/one-dump scenario. And the series of dump sites is coincidental to lush feeding/watering areas. I totally agree with your first response about how enviable their digestive output is. Almost artistic, really.

  27. Friar Says:

    @Janice

    No honey up that tree. It was a Momma Bear and her tiny cub was climbing up the tree (out of sight on the other side).

    It was dusk, and I was in the passenger seat trying to take a photo out of the driver’s side. That’s why the photo was so lousy.

    Right after that photo, Momma Bear had had enough, and took off, with her cub right behind her.

    @XUP
    You walk in those woods, you’ll find moose pellets everywhere. In blanket conditiosn.

    Those critters seem to be doing very well there, in the park. I guess it’s like winning a lottery for them…live within the park boundaries, and they don’t have to deal with hunters and such. Just the odd pesky wolf.

  28. Patricia Says:

    Friar,
    I will let Tom know he will be saddened…and said they only do about 50 to 70 miles a day on the tours…keep them in mind for future vacations!

    I love the 8 word comment by Karen…very good hehehe

  29. Mer Says:

    @ XUP

    I think it’s these bunnies (hope the html works):

    Cute, furry, soft, and completely deadly. 😉

    Mer

  30. Friar Says:

    @Patricia

    Well, maybe there’s always next year!

    @Mer

    That’s AWESOME! I didn’t know you can stick youtube videos in comments!

  31. Friar Says:

    For those of you unfamiliar with critter poop, here’s a good link (thanks to by buddy GWN).

    http://docs.google.com/gview?a=v&attid=0.1&thid=12108d50ad98fac1&mt=application%2Fpdf&pli=1

  32. Karen JL Says:

    “What’s he do? Nibble your bum?” 😀

    Yay for the killer rabbit! I have a stuffed one, you know.

  33. Friar's Mom Says:

    @ Wee Friar,

    I simply must interject with a comment about your moose poop post.

    Don’t you remember way back when you were a young lad, we camped at Algonquin Park and the Park Interpreter showed us samples of moose “scat”?

    It’s called moose scat and not moose poop. “Scat” is defined as excrement left by an animal, especially a wild animal. You can also call it animal fecal dropping, or dung.

    I assume you used the word poop, so you wouldn’t offend your readers.

    Anyone interested in seeing photos of animal scat, just go to Google Images and type in “moose scat”, “bear scat”, “snake scat” “porcupine scat” or whatever scat interests you.

    I’m being technically correct by calling the poop “scat”. But if you go to Google Images and type in moose poop or any other animal poop, you’ll see the same photos. Google is user friendly.

    You can always learn something on Friar’s Blog.

  34. Friar Says:

    @Karen
    I like the sorcerer too…there are some..that call him TIM.

    @Friar’s Mom
    Scat…poop…droppings, it’s all good.

    Actually, I prefer to say “SHIT”, but it might offend some of my more genteel readers like yourself.

  35. Mer Says:

    @ Friar

    I thought it was worth a shot, but I didn’t know, either. WordPress can be a little ornery sometimes.

    Mer 🙂


Leave a Reply

