Tipper Update

What a difference a week makes.

Last week, Tipper was found after being lost for 24 days.  She was a few steps away from starvation, and barely had the strength to walk.

Now, my sister reports that Tipper is back to her normal hyper self.  Running around, chasing the ball.

Friar’s Mom was trying to garden yesterday, and in typical Duck-Toller fashion, Tipper kept dropping the ball into her lap.    Over and over again.

Tipper,  time out.   All done.    (Can you PLEASE stop playing for FIVE minutes?)

Tipper at Home

She’s still skinny, but is filling out nicely . She no longer looks starving.

In fact, the dog’s become FINICKY with her food again.   She’s been given the canned high-nutrition supplement from the vet.  Now she expects it..and turns her nose up at her regular dry food.

Sheesh.  You’d think nothing had ever happened to her this past month.

But that’s dogs for you.

Live in the moment, they do.

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Grab Bag

65 Comments on “Tipper Update”

  1. Tipper-Dawg Says:

    WOOF!

  2. Tipper-Dawg Says:

    WOOF! … (I LOVE my ball)
    Rooo? … (Where is the canned dog food?)
    Pant pant pant … (play! play! play!)
    Bark! Yap! Yip! … (Welcome home! Play with me! Love me!)
    Sleep, snooze, rest … (Why can’t I run for 4 hours? I don’t care, I’ll just curl up and sleep for awhile)

  3. Brett Legree Says:

    You should bring Tipper up here for beers next week. We could give her some Becks NA (you know, because we wouldn’t want to give the dog booze) but it still tastes like good beer, and it would fatten her up a bit!

  4. Friar Says:

    @Tipper

    TIME OUT. All done.

    Good dawg.

    @Brett
    She sure liked you last time she visited. Kept bringing her frisbee to her.

    Becks is a good idea, though.

  5. Karen JL Says:

    It would appear that Tipper ran off and learned to type and access the internet while she was away.

    Smart puppy. 🙂

    Next will be world domination. After nap time…

  6. Brett Legree Says:

    @Karen,

    She has to type on a special DVORUFF keyboard, though. It’s like a DVORAK but whenever you bark, it hits carriage return automatically.

  7. Friar Says:

    @Karen JL

    Now…if only the Tippers of the world will learn to use can-openers and open doors…THEN, the Planet is theirs for the taking.

    Meanwhile, those of us with opposable thumbs still rule.

    For now.

    @Brett
    …and maybe a nose-activated mouse!

  8. Karen JL Says:

    Well, they already have the humans picking up their poop, so world domination can’t be far off.

    (And Brett is speaking in tongues again.)

  9. Friar Says:

    @Karen

    …and they poop everywhere! (Even Cats are trained to poop in a box)

    Makes you wonder…who’s the Pack Leader, here?

  10. elizabeth Says:

    She’s sooo adorable. Gives me warm/fuzzies knowing she’s home.

  11. Friar Says:

    @elizabeth

    Believe me, Tipper’s probably milking it for all it’s worth!

  12. Beth Partin Says:

    I’m glad she came back, Friar. Have you thought of doing cartoons of her adventures?

  13. Friar Says:

    @Beth
    Well, I’m still working on cartoon ideas of Basil (and also another dog’s adventures in the wings).

    Though maybe Tipper’s goofy enough, that she might have a story of her own. 😉

  14. Brett Legree Says:

    Klaatu barada nikto.

  15. Friar Says:

    @Brett
    Psia Crew.

  16. Brett Legree Says:

    Hon varr Draconian, gamla vis Hruga uskit’r.

  17. Brett Legree Says:

    Hon madr roman therva Kuaran.

  18. Friar's Mom Says:

    @ Wee Friar,

    Spelling error. “Psia krew” is correct.

    If you wish to be more emphatic it’s “psia krew cholera”.

  19. Friar's Mom Says:

    @Wee Friar,
    Brett insulted your mom. This is war.

    @Brett,
    I take offense. I wear Finn Comfort sandals and they’re made in Germany.

  20. Brett Legree Says:

    Heh heh didn’t they wear sandals in Rome?

  21. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    What’re you telling my Mom? That she wears army shoes or something?


  22. Friar,

    Thanks for the e-mail letting me know that Tipper was OK. I would have stopped by earlier but we had a personal event here that pulled me away from the blogging world. I want you to know that we were all praying hard for Tipper and never gave up hope that she would be found. I am so glad prayers were answered.

    Maggie says to say hi from one Toller to another. she has her little stuffed Lion that she likes to play with right here at my feet.

  23. Friar Says:

    @Wendi

    Thanks for dropping by…I knew your were checking in from time to time.

    Everyone prayed for Tipper. Who knows? Maybe that’s what brought her back.

    Tipper says hi to Maggie. Tipper also has stuffed animals, but they don’t last too long..she likes to rip the stuffing out of them and destroy them. Gets bits of foam all over the floor. (That’s why her toys get bought at the Dollar Store!) 🙂

  24. Brett Legree Says:

    @Friar,

    Could be… 🙂 like I said, they did wear sandals in Rome, and perhaps the people who made her sandals are descended from Romans?

  25. Friar's Mom Says:

    @Brett,

    Just wondering how a Viking mother would be in possession of a pair of Roman soldier’s sandals.

    Did Viking women do battle? Did Viking husbands and sons bring home spoils of war? And if so, why a pair of smelly soldier sandals?

    @ Wee Friar,

    What’s with the people who read your Blog? You write a sweet update on Tipper’s recovery and include a touching photo of Tipper’s reunion. A few comments later we’re cussing in Polish and Viking, and now we’re discussing smelly Roman soldier sandals.

  26. Brett Legree Says:

    I suspect she bought them on eBaius.

  27. Brett Legree Says:

    I think Friar is proud that his blog can be free-form.

    So many other blogs work like this:

    1. Blogger writes post.
    2. Readers leave comment after comment that says, “Great post!” or “I’m going to try that!”

    Whereas here, you never know what will happen 🙂

  28. Friar Says:

    @Friar’s Mom

    I don’t understand either. I post a cartoon about Vikings. Hardly any response.

    I post something about Tipper recovering. Mild response.

    I post something about “lame-ass” fish, (As Karen JL described). That took me five minutes to write.

    And I get 324 comments.

    (???)

    @Brett
    Yeah, I admit this blog is different in that respect. Most blogs have the commenters tell the author how great his post is.

    Over here, it could go either way. In fact, I’ll often get in shit for what I just wrote. Mainly by the same few (er, ahem), ringleaders.

    And I have NO idea where my comment threads are going to go.

    At least it makes things interesting…

  29. Allison Day Says:

    I’m so, so very glad that Tipper’s home and doing better! 🙂

  30. Karen JL Says:

    You mean DEAD lame-ass fish.

    Your blog is our little playground Friar. Enjoy.

    @ Brett – “I suspect she bought them on eBaius.” Are you here all night? Yes, I’ll tip the waitress. 😀

  31. Friar Says:

    @Allison

    Tipper says Hi! If you were around, she’d drop the ball at your feet and ask you to play! 🙂

    @Karen JL
    Yes…even better. DEAD lame-ass fish.

    But despite your mocking me, that was my BEST blog post in terms of comments.

    Compared to this post, where I write something “real”, and the turnout is much more modest.

    Maybe I should post some dead fish again, soon.

  32. Brett Legree Says:

    @Karen JL,

    Not only am I here all night, but I also cook and clean the washrooms.

    *rimshot*

    (Get your minds out of the gutter, Friar & Eyeteaguy, that was rimSHOT)

  33. Friar Says:

    @Brett
    My mind is ALWAYS in the gutter.

    I blame you and Eyeteaguy. You corrupted me and taught me words I never knew before.

    If only Friar’s Mom knew…poor her!

  34. Karen JL Says:

    @ Brett – How do you cook a washroom?

  35. Friar Says:

    @Karen
    You fillet washrooms…same as dead lame-ass fish.

  36. Brett Legree Says:

    You have to fillet the washrooms a bit “differently” though, depending on whether it’s a Men’s or Women’s washroom…

  37. Brett Legree Says:

    Also, the Men’s washrooms tend to need more spice, as they are a bit more “fragrant”…

  38. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    And there is more splashing, of course.

  39. Karen JL Says:

    When you cook a woman’s washroom you have to hover. It’s quite a skill.

    (Though isn’t ‘fillet’ part of the cleaning, not the cooking?)

  40. Brett Legree Says:

    If you’ve seen some of the Men’s washrooms I’ve seen, you’d want to hover too… yeesh…

  41. Friar Says:

    @Karen
    Hover?

    What…you mean levitate?

    @Brett
    Though I’ve heard women often complain about the filthy state of pubilc ladies’ rooms.

    I suspect they’re not as clean and dainty as we think.

  42. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Ladies are filthy, they just like to tell us we are filthy so they don’t look/smell so bad.
    Brett, tell ’em the storey when you cleaned the bathroom a Ewen Rd. I dare you.

    Ewwwwww!!!!!!!

    Eyeteaguy

  43. Patricia Says:

    Friar,
    I wanted to give you an update…our Internet Correspondent says we have received 66 “Welcome Home Tipper” emails one was rather funny, it said we are doing better at prayer returning Tipper home than we are on ending the war in Iraq!

    We will end with a prayer of Thanksgiving…and maybe not send Tipper so much energy!

  44. Karen JL Says:

    @ Friar – Sort of. I mean squat over the seat so your your butt doesn’t touch the nasty thing. You don’t know that women sometimes hover?

    *I* know that men shake. (All over the place I might add). And there’s that ‘shrinkage’ thing…

    @ EyeT – Human beings in general are filthy. Some more than others. I have seen my share of nastiness in women’s cans too. Eeesh.

  45. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy

    Like Karen sez, we all are filthy smelly primates.

    Like our good friend Chuck once said:

    “Keep your hands off me, you damned dirty ape!”

    @Patricia
    On the grand scale of things, I suspect getting Tipper to come home would be easier to accomplish than ending a War.

    But thanks for the prayers. We’re all grateful that Tipper’s safe.

    @Karen

    Oh…I KNOW ladies squat. But hovering reminded me of the flying yogis. It’s more fun to think of it that way.

    As for us guys…

    …you’re probably familiar with the expression “No matter how much you shake and dance…the last drop always falls in your pants”.

    True, that.

  46. Brett Legree Says:

    @Eyeteaguy,

    Oh, I’ll save that one for another day… like when I don’t want any of the ladies here to ever speak with me again!

    @Friar,

    That actually has a technical name – it’s called Transcendental Pooping, as taught by the Maharishi Mahesh Yogi.

  47. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    I though it was the Maharishi Mahesh Poopi.

  48. Karen JL Says:

    It always comes back to “poop” with you guys.

    What’s up with that?

    @ Friar – And if it doesn’t land in your pants, it lands on the bathroom floor!

  49. Friar Says:

    @Karen

    It’s because this is a very shitty blog!

    PS. Lands on the bathroom floor?

    ….Not if you do it right!

  50. Karen JL Says:

    @ Friar – Then you should have a chat with some of my ex-boyfriends. Ugh.
    (The current one doesn’t drip. I think he’s a keeper.) 😉

  51. Friar Says:

    @Karen

    Ahhh…but does he put the seat back down? Then you’d know he’s a keeper for sure!

    (Unless you try to entrap him, with one of those stupid toilet-set covers that threaten to slam down all the time and do damage!)

  52. Brett Legree Says:

    @Karen JL,

    You see, we’re still scarred by the @PoopAssistant incident on Twitter…

    Anyway.

    To avoid the whole seat up/down thing, get a toilet like this:

    http://davidszondy.com/ephemeral/2009/04/yoga-toilet.html

  53. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    Ugh…that’s too much like crapping on the floor to me!

  54. Karen JL Says:

    @ Friar – Yes, he does and no seat cover to do damage. And he COOKS. It’s a match made in heaven I tells ya. 🙂

    @ Brett – Yeah, I’m with Friar on that one. Imagine if there was spillage!

  55. Brett Legree Says:

    The fun part of the yoga toilet is the expression on your friends’ faces when they come back from the bathroom at your house.

    (Of course, you don’t tell them about the *other* bathroom that *you* use, with the normal toilet…)

  56. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    And you could install the toilet right in the middle of the living room.

    Yeah, wouldn’t THAT be great?

  57. Brett Legree Says:

    Hmm. A toilet in the middle of the livingroom.

    Not so appealing in this day and age with PVR’s and so forth letting you pause live TV – but in the 80’s, it would have been a hit for sure!

  58. Friar's Mom Says:

    @ Wee Friar,

    While we were in France, we visited Cathar castles which were built at the top of high mountains (no moats). The medieval toilets were simply a small jutting-out structure like a mini turret which had a hole in its floor. The turret/toilet projected out over a cliff. No toilet seats to worry about. Just hover over the hole in floor. No need to flush. No danger of falling through the hole. I do think there might be a backlash problem if the wind was blowing hard, as it normally does on mountain tops.

    I guess this custom continues in present day France. Some public toilets (in smaller towns) were simply a hole in the floor with a flusher. I would recommend traveling with tissues or napkins in your pocket, as there were no toilet paper dispensers in those washrooms.

    p.s. You have a weird out-of-control blog. The comments take on a life of their own. You started with a Tipper update, then Roman soldier’s sandals, and now it’s Medieval castle toilets. What next?

  59. Eyeteaguy Says:

    If you read the post and then the last comment this blog is completely ga-ga.(That is the scientific term as opposed to the common equivilant which is goble-de-gook).

    However you will notice a logical progression from lost dog to medieval pooh if you follow the thread.

    However if I was to say that the universe is constantly expanding without fear of contraction, that would be off topic and would no doubt spark further comments.

    But seeing that this topic was used as a counterpoint to your comment, it in fact follows the thread.

    Take it away, Erik the orchestra leader.

    A one, a two, a one two free four.

    Eyeteaguy

  60. Friar Says:

    @Friar’s Mom

    Say what you like, but at least those toilets never clogged up!

    As for this blog…I gave up trying to control it months ago.

    Ever since Eyeteaguy showed up.

    (The other two…Brett and Karen JL don’t help!)

    @Eyeteaguy

    If the Universe kept expanding, does that mean the any poop will eventually get spread out so thin…that it just becomes like fart gas?

  61. Eyeteaguy Says:

    I have no idea, that is a question for scientists and philosophers. I just fix stuff.

  62. Brett Legree Says:

    Can you fix the pride of Canada’s nuclear program?

  63. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy

    Well, at least you tried.

    Hopefully, if we get more philosophers and scientists here, it might improve the caliber of this blog.

    @Brett

    There are some things, that even a poor Friar cannot fix.

  64. steph Says:

    Beth: I think that’s an awesome idea, the cartoons about Tipper’s adventures! I wouldn’t even change her name. I suppose it’s a bit like the Incredible Journey, but this is her alone, which makes it all the more amazing.

    Friar: Do it. Do it.

    PS. I’m so happy about the whole situation. She is such a sweetheart! As for fussy with food, Lucy refuses to eat hers and scratches the mat her dishes are on until we put some flax oil or peanut butter or even water (gravy!) on it. It’s kind of hilarious.

  65. Friar Says:

    @Steph

    That’s what my sister and I were discussing. I could write a story about Tipper running away and having all kinds of fun adventures. And then re-uniting with her family.

    Hahahah! 🙂 That’s funny, how Lucy paws the ground to get treats. Dogs can be so stupid (yet so smart!)


Leave a Reply

