Travels with the Bear: High and Low Points

A while ago, I wrote about how Junior Bear has been from  Coast to Coast to Coast.

He’s also been at the highest and lowest places in North America.  (At least, the places you can get to by car).

Twice, actually.  Here are photos from both trips.

The high point  is Mount Evans, Colorado, at 14240 feet.

Bear Mt. Evans 1

Normally, getting to 14,000 feet without an airplane involves investing a big chunk of time and physical exertion to hike there.   While also making sure you have enough food, water, proper clothing and survival gear.

But on Mount Evans, you can leisurely drive to the top in your Honda Civic.   Wearing shorts and flip-flops.   For crying out loud.

Mount Evans-S

Mount Evans 7

Mount Evans 6

Why on God’s Earth would they build a road there?

Probably because they could.

Only in America.

(But of course, I still had to drive it!)

**********************************

The Low Point is Death Valley.   At 240 feet below sea level.

Bear Death Valley

Like Mt. Evans, there’s nary a tree to be seen.  But for different reasons.

75540005

75540018

The temperature might have something to do with it…

75540023

You know when you’re cooking something in your kitchen, and you open the oven door, and there’s a sudden blast of hot dry air in your face?

Death Valley’s like that.

Except it’s not a one-time blast of hot air.  It’s continuous.

Lucky, my Honda Civic sat this one out, this time.

My friend was nice enough to lend me his air-conditioned truck.

Otherwise, the Bear would have melted.

Explore posts in the same categories: The Outdoor Friar

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

28 Comments on “Travels with the Bear: High and Low Points”

  1. fkdupdad Says:

    That is amazing! The pics are awesome!

    http://messedupparentingtips.wordpress.com/

  2. Friar Says:

    @fkdupdad

    Thanks!

    Wow..that’s about the quickest response I’ve ever got. (Within 30 seconds of posting it!)

  3. fkdupdad Says:

    I try to be quick… That’s how I got three kids!

  4. feefifoto Says:

    Why build a road on a mountain? Because it’s there!

  5. Friar Says:

    @fee
    A lot of the highest peaks in each state have a road to the top.

    God forbid should anyone HIKE. Let’s make everything car-accessible.

  6. Brett Legree Says:

    fkdupdad describes me most nights (after I’ve had a couple of pints… a side effect of having four kids)

    Hey Friar, I’ve seen that mountain before somewhere.

    Oh yeah, now I remember, it was in this video.

    Heh heh hijacking Friar’s blog since 2008…

  7. Captain Push Says:

    Hey Friar!

    That Toyota Truck is still available for you to cruise the desert but it’s old and cranky now.

    And, I crashed a Quad into the rear of it so it’s pretty ugly but still serviceable if you want to borrow it again.

    Come on down and see us again! We miss you.

  8. XUP Says:

    That bear sure gets around. Is there anything on top of that mountain? If I were American I would put a little science centre up there where you can do cool experiments to see how different stuff works way up high like that – boil some water, take your blood pressure, lung capacity, whatever.

  9. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    Hahah! Leave it to you to relate this post to a Viking Metal band. 🙂

    @Captain
    No way? That truck was brand-spanking new (5? 6? years ago). You musta beat up on it pretty hard.

    Yeah, I’m gonna have to make my way back out there soon….I really loved that old mining shack in the middle of nowhere you guys took me to.

    @XUP
    There’s a few small buildings on top. A small observatory, I think but I don’t know if it was still running.

    Certainly nothing like Mt. Washington (NH),where they have a post office, cafteria, and museum.

  10. Brett Legree Says:

    Friar, you should paint the bear with some of that crazy Viking face paint 🙂

    Sounds like Captain actually *uses* his truck, unlike most of the folks in Splat Creek.

    My Volkswagen has probably been deeper in the bush than most pickups here.

  11. steph Says:

    Bear’s so lucky. I consider it pathetic that he’s seen far more than I have, and he’s inanimate.

  12. Friar Says:

    @Friar
    Oh, I can ASSURE you, Captain “uses” his truck. I’ve been with him and his wife when we were hopping over 12-inch boulders on a dry riverbed in the Mojave desert.

    It was a bit dicey for a while. because the trail got pretty rough. And we were 60 miles from Civilization. But he got us out okay! 🙂

    @Steph
    Bears’s been around North America a lot, I admit. But dont’ feel too bad. Most of these photos were taking from just a couple of trips (under exceptional circumstance…I was laid off, and had a good severance pay).

    Most of the time, though, the only exotic places the Bear gets to see is Poland or Quadeville, Ontario.

  13. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Oh great thanks Friar. Why don’t you just twist the knife a little.

    Some of us have sacrificed our lives to have families so we can’t go on these excellent adventures of yours.

    Just rub it in that the only thing you are responsible for is a teddy bear.

    Thank-you very much. I’m going to go back to my suburban home (which I cannot tell apart from my neighbours) and cry quietly to myself and mourn all my lost opportunities.

    Eyeboringguy

  14. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy
    Yes, Junior Bear and I got to visit these great places. I’m not complaining

    But keep in mind, at the time, I was like George on Seinfeld. Unmarried. 40-ish. Unemployed and living at home with my parents. And I had never owned a home before. I lived out of my car and/or motels for three months.

    You could probably do these adventures too, if you divorced your soul-mate, sold off your kids, and gave up your cookie-cutter suburban home.

    What’s stopping you?

  15. Brett Legree Says:

    @Eyeboringguy,

    What, Lynden Park Mall isn’t enough excitement for you?

    🙂

    Just remember, train your children well. My kids are almost ready to be sent forth on nocturnal raiding missions, to bring back food and money from the local retired folks.

    I’d like to see Bear do that!

  16. hannah78 Says:

    That’s one lucky bear! He got to see some very neat places!
    P.S. 50 Celcius! Holy crap!

  17. Friar Says:

    @hannah
    I’m just lucky the Bear lets me come with him to these silly places.

  18. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    The bear dosen’t raid people for food and money.

    He’s got ME trained to do that.

  19. Patricia Says:

    Nice pictures and good bear sightings! Thank you for the fun post

  20. Friar Says:

    @Patricia

    There are LOTS of bear sitings I can write about. I’m only trickling out a few, now and then, so readers don’t get too bored (like Eyeteaguy).

  21. Eyeteaguy Says:

    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  22. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  23. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy

    Well, if you can do better…why don’t YOU post something?

    (More recently than once every 6 weeks would be nice.)

  24. Eyeteaguy Says:

    I have a job that challenges me and usually runs into the evening, early mornings and weekends.

    I also have a family so time is limited. So I’ll have to suffice with kicking sand in your bear’s eyes for now.

    I’ll post something eventually.

    And it looks like I’m coming to Splat Creek in a month or so. Then I can poke fun at you in person!

    Eyeteaguy

  25. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy

    Oh…goody.

    Then we can play that race-car game with Brett. (Which was a lot of fun, actually)

  26. Brett Legree Says:

    @Eyeteaguy,

    You have to work so hard ’cause you’re not a super villain (like me)

  27. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    Eyeteaguy needs to do a bit more than kick sand at the bear, if he wants to be a Super Villain.

  28. Samuel Says:

    Thats a great article!


Leave a Reply

