NOOOOOOOOOoooooo!!!

This came off my tree this week:

Autumn in July

FOR.    CRYING.    OUT.    LOUD.

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Grab Bag

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

25 Comments on “NOOOOOOOOOoooooo!!!”

  1. steph Says:

    You’re shitting me!! though, today I wore lined pants and a fleece sweater. I think I’ve gone one day in shorts…

  2. Mike Says:

    Global warming, of course. 😉

  3. Friar Says:

    @Steph

    The tree’s always been a bit sickly…but STILL…

    C’mon…it’s only mid-JULY!!!!

    @Mike
    Exactly. Just like this whole non-summer we’ve been having in Canada. 😉

  4. feefifoto Says:

    I have a tree that optimistically produces a full cover of leaves in the spring and then drops half of them by the middle of July. Maybe I need to consult a tree psychic and see if something’s bothering the poor little fella.

  5. Karen JL Says:

    It’s your sign that you should move out west already. It’s been *quite* gorgeous here this summer.

    I think the country has flip-flopped.

    (Hide the leaf and pretend it never happened)


  6. The tree is stressed. But it’s wrong for it to do that to you.

  7. Friar Says:

    @fee
    If there are professional tree psychics out there, actually, that wouldn’t suprise me one bit.

    Maybe on Twitter, you can find a Tree Life Coach.

    @Karen
    Grrr. Sure. Rub it in.

    We had snow in May. We had frost in June. And now autumn leaves in July. And it August, it will start noticeably cooling off.

    There isn’t ONE complete Month here, where the effects of winter arent’ felt.

    You’re right. I gotta move out to Lotus Land (or at least, Alberta).

    @Betsy
    The tree is stressed..and it’s making ME stressed.

    But in another 4-5 weeks, it will start to have some company. By the end of August, other leaves will start turning color too.

  8. XUP Says:

    A total fluke, of course…probably left over from last year…got stuck in the tree somewhere and just now fell down…not a harbinger of things to come..noooooo….summer is just beginning…oh yes it is

  9. Friar Says:

    @XUP

    That’s what I keep telling myself. 3.5 weeks ago, it was still SPRING. Summer is only just starting.

    Autumn?

    LALALALALALALA! (*covering my ears and running screaming*) I CAN’T HEAR YOU. LALALALALALA!

  10. Karen JL Says:

    I think Calgary had snow in June this year. So watch that Alberta thing.

    The grass may not be greener (or would that be the snow whiter??)

  11. Kyddryn Says:

    Maybe it’s drought??

    One may hope…

    Right now, where I live, it’s 98F and humid…I’m melting…and not because some prissy little Goody Two-Shoes from Kansas tossed a bucket of water on me…

    Shade and Sweetwater,
    K

  12. Friar Says:

    @Karen
    I don’t mind the snow in Alberta. Because you’re so close to the Rocky Mountains, with some of the best skiing in the world.

    Snow in Ontario, though. I have no use for.

    (We had snow flurries on May 31…hopefully that will be it until October).

    @Kyddryn
    Careful….

    If you MELT, though, can I keep your pointy black hat? 😉

  13. Kyddryn Says:

    It’s a pointy BLUE hat, thankyouverymuch, and it’s willed to one of my witchy sithren (like brethren, only girls), but you can have the emergency backup hat- it’s not pointy but it DOES have a flashing neon hat band…you know, so the bats know where to land…

    Shade and Sweetwater,
    K (who thinks the tree is just messing with your head)

  14. Friar Says:

    @Kyddryn

    Can you put some kind of Wiccan spell on the tree or something, to get it to smarten up?

    I could use Viking Tactics, but that would involve burning and pillaging, and it’s such a NICE tree.

  15. Randi Says:

    My husband and I were sitting in our patio swing last night when he looked at the ground and said, “What the crap is this?” It was little brown crunchy leaves that had been shed by our tree. Very sad.

    And Kyddryn can I steal “sithren” please? I love that word!

  16. Friar Says:

    @Randi

    I agree…I really like that word.

    Would make a great title for a horror movie:

    “The Sithren”

  17. Kyddryn Says:

    Hmm…I could try and turn it into a frog…?

    Hocus pocus
    Leapus croakus
    Dragonflies
    They really choke us!

    Anything? Dang…need to work on that…

    Meanwhile, you’re welcome to “sithren”…but if you make a million off it, remember me…please?

    Shade and Sweetwater,
    K

  18. Friar Says:

    @Kyddryn

    The tree’s still acting up. A few more red leaves have appeared. But at a somewhat diminished rate.

    I think your spell is working.

  19. Patricia Says:

    Our Gravenstein apples are falling already – it is too early, I will be in Scotland and miss making all that applesauce and dried apples? Yikes

  20. Friar Says:

    @Patricia
    I’d much sooner go on an adventure overseas, than cook over a hot stove!

    Go to Scotland! 😉

  21. Davina Says:

    What the…? Hey, this looks like “shades of crimson” to me 🙂

  22. Eyeteaguy Says:

    If I was a tree in your yard, I’d wither and die too.

    Maybe you should stop pissing on it?

    Eyeteaguy

    I think the leaves turn because of the angle of the earth?

  23. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy

    If you were a tree in my yard, not only would I piss on you, but I’d invite Brett, all his kids, and his dog, and the whole neighborhood to do the same.

    Then watch the leaves turn. Urea Yellow.

  24. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Oh, so you are into pissing on people. That explains a lot.

  25. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy

    I don’t piss on people. But I piss them off.

    Happens so often, it hardly registers anymore.

    Take a number. Get in line. Whatever. I’m used to it.


Leave a Reply

