What summer means to me.

Summer here in Ontario means raspberries from my garden…

DSCN5546

Catching big fish and letting them go…

DSCN4517

Picking wild blueberries in the bush…

Wild Blueberries

And deerflies.

Don’t forget the deerflies….

DSCN5511

Explore posts in the same categories: The Outdoor Friar

26 Comments on “What summer means to me.”

  1. Karen JL Says:

    What is that? Double sided tape on the hat? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Serves them right…nasty little creatures.

  2. Karen JL Says:

    Raspberries are my favorite. Yummy!

  3. Kyddryn Says:

    Mmm, deerflies and cream..er…berries, I meant berries!

    When I lived in New Hampshire (with the dinosaurs), we worried most about the cursed black flies – kill one, five thousand came to the funeral and stayed for the wake.

    Here in Georgia, it’s the mosquitoes. I don’t know what they inject when they prepare to sip, but it makes my family swell up something fierce – no kidding, we look like plague victims! One of my friends once said “Nature wouldn’t be so bad if they’d close it in, air-condition it, and kill all the bugs!” and sometimes…I feel his pain.

    Is it wrong for me to mention that I think your berries are beautiful??

    Shade and Sweetwater,
    K

  4. Friar Says:

    @Karen
    Yep…it’s this double-sided tape that you stick on your hat. They just started selling it at the outfitter’s store this year.

    Stuff if amazing. Whoever invented it should get the Nobel Prize. A couple of weeks ago, I counted EIGTHY of the little bastards. (That’s 80 less to buzz around my head and try to bite me).

    Raspberries are especially good, with a big bowl of vanilla ice cream.

    @Kyddryn
    We got those little demon black-flies here too. Lucky, they’re short-lived. By the time it’s late June, they mostly gone. I almost like them because they remind me that summer’s just starting, and we still have a long way to go.

    Never been down south in the summer. I can just imagine the skeeters in those boggy swamps. I hear summers in Georgia are pretty unbearably hot and muggy after the month of May.

    PS. No, it’s all right to say you like my berries (You won’t lose your grumpy witch status with me).

  5. Brett Legree Says:

    I like those pics (I love the one with the flies the best, and I don’t know why!)

    What does summer mean to me?

    Hmm. When my kids are getting antsy, I can just send them outside to play. No mitts, hats, pants, coats, boots, longjohns, etc.

    Perfect!

  6. Friar Says:

    @Brett

    And (like you pointed out to me), harder to get a babysitter for your little urchins! The Day Care people in Splat Creek are raking in the dough right now.

    But you forgot to mention the feast of the Solstice (which I’m pretty sure is important to the Vikings).

    I’m just waiting for Eyeteaguy to show up and give me shit for posting something lame like pretty berries.

  7. Karen JL Says:

    I think the dead bugs offset the pretty berries.

    So it evens out.

  8. Friar Says:

    @Karen

    If I just showed the berries, Eyeteaguy would have a conniption.

    But I think the dead bugs improves gives this post an air of credibility, with regards to the Guys’ Code.

  9. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Fruit, dead animal, fruit, dead animals.

    WTF? And the dead animals were easy to kill and the fruit was easy to pick.

    If you were a viking it would be a Lynx or Puma and the berries would be poisonous ones that hang from cliffs in Norway.

    Sheesh. And I just rememebered, the fish wasn’t dead. Pathetic.

    Eyeteaguy

    Be warned, you have 9 days. The case was refered to the govenor and he was watching the game on TV so couldn’t sign your stay of execution.

    9 days until Splat Creek…

  10. Brett Legree Says:

    @Friar,

    I didn’t forget, I was still hung over ๐Ÿ™‚

    @Eyeteaguy,

    Dinosaurs – Vikings vs. Dinosaurs, remember?

  11. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy

    Okay, when was the last time you fed yourself on something that you caught yourself?

    (Shrink-wrapped meat at the local Loblaws doesn’t count!)

    @Brett
    When are you NOT hung over?

  12. Kyddryn Says:

    Hey, Friar – Summer starts in February around here, with a brief foray back into Winter sometime ’round April just to teach the tender your shoots in the garden who’s boss. Spring puts in a brief appearance for a week or three and then it’s Summer in earnest until sometime in November, when Autumn struggles to make a place for himself before churlish Winter steals the show once more.

    Right now it’s hot, muggy, and buggy, which contributes more than a little to my grump factor. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it. Good grief, I miss New England. Why do I stay here, again??

    Shade and Sweetwater,
    K (who now has berries of her own to admire…on top of keylime pie, because the fat cells in her arse were lonely)

  13. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Ummm, why would I need to. I have a thing called money, I go to stores and have other people catch, kill, and shrink wrap it for me.

    I don’t need to kill a defenseless animals to prove that I am a man. I have a hot wife and 2 kids to prove that.

    Besides, hunting fish is easy. Their dumb and you know where they are (shhh, the water).

    Hunting humans, now that takes skill. As a side note. I’ve killed Brett a few times. Shot him right in the ass if I remember correctly. Paintball anyone?

    Eyekillguy

  14. Friar Says:

    @Kyddryn
    I’m sure you can appreciate how short our summers are. We’re similar to New England in climate (though a bit further north) So summers’s even shorter.

    Actually, I picked even more berries tonight. I get a big bowlful every 2 days right now.

    @Eyeteaguy
    When the Apocalypse happens, at least I’ll know who to forage and live off the land. While you guys with your ATM cards looking to guy Brie ad the Food N’ Blow will slowly starve.

    And you’ll be too weak to hunt us down with your paint-ball guns.

  15. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Forage? Live off the land? Why?

    Do you know how nutricious people are? And since I’m so accomplished at hunting them, I’ll be well fed.

    I’ll just work my way north until I get to Splat Creek. You’ll be good eating by the time I get there. Keep eating those fish and berries, you’re gonna look mighty good on a spit.

    EyeHannibleguy


  16. Love the berries & fish, hate the flies!

  17. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy
    Me on a spit?

    You’ll have to hunt me down first. (If I don’t get you before you get me!)

    I don’t think I’d roast you on a spit. I’m thinking more of dried meat. Kind of like Eyetea-Jerky.

    @Canadian Army Wife
    Unfortuately, wild blueberries and stupid deerflies go hand-in-hand.

    It’s amazing how those tape strips help. Instead of those nasty critters buzzing around my head for the next 30 minutes, they’re subdued within seconds.

  18. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    Your summer looks so… gentle. And yummy, ‘cept the bugs of course.

    Summer to me means fruit at the grocers that’s half-rotted because the trucks couldn’t stay cool enough as they shipped it; bees bigger than your thumb; fireflies you watch out the window instead of going outside because it’s so humid you’d drop and besides the mosquitoes just sharpened their steak knives; weekends when half the planet decides to use the highway I get around town with to get to beaches that are hours away, causing vicious jams that I always forget about until I’m in ’em…

    Uh-oh. I’m not supposed to be chief cranky-person, am I? Skip that last paragraph. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Eyeteaguy,

    “I donโ€™t need to kill a defenseless animals to prove that I am a man. I have a hot wife and 2 kids to prove that.”

    Funniest thing I’ve read all week. ROFLOL.

    Regards,

    Kelly

  19. Brett Legree Says:

    Having a hot wife and 2 kids doesn’t necessarily prove you’re a man though (mathematically speaking).

    It is possible that you have a good fertility doctor, or adoption lawyer, and you live somewhere that isn’t too picky about whether marriage is same- or opposite-sex.

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’m with Eyeteaguy, if the big crunch comes, this is the only survival kit I need.

    You can hunt anything that walks with it, and I bet it would be pretty good for fish too.

  20. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Friar, hunting you down would be easy. Your ass is usually parked in front of your computer being clever, or parked in a canoe washing lures.

    Brett, this is my rifle, this is my gun! This is for shooting this is for fun!

    Gunnery Sgt. Eyeteaguy

  21. Brett Legree Says:

    @Eyeteaguy,

    Oh yeah… (the linked to piece of kit is a highly modified M14, so you know your shit)

  22. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy

    WHAT…is your MAJOR malfunction?

  23. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    I’ve driven through Delaware and Virginia Beach in off-season. I saw all the hotels and condos and ferris wheels. I can just imagine what kind of zoo it’s like in the summer.

    And even in early May, it was starting to get stinking hot. It’s not that much further south, latitude-wise, but it makes for a huge difference in climate.

    As for miserable humid weather. At this point, I think I’d WANT to see some. Just for a change. We’re not getting much of a summer yet. I’ve barely had to put on my air conditioner.

  24. Davina Says:

    I won’t EVER forget the deer flies. I don’t miss them one bit, after moving west. Thankfully, they have raspberries and blueberries out here though. Those raspberries look sooo good.

  25. Friar Says:

    @Davina
    Even worse, are the HORSEFLIES (Which take actual chunks out of you).

    This is the time of year I love, though. All the fruit and berries are out. It’s like nature’s candy.

    I get kinda sad, in September, when the farmer’s markets only have the lame-ass produce left. Like squash and gourds,


  26. Summer used to mean raspberries from my Grandma’s garden. I’d pick them with my cousin, and we’d always push one another, striving to get more of those goodies. No, we never washed them, we never washed any fruit from the garden. It was so fun and I had almost forgot about it!


Leave a Reply

