Branding Tips to Increase your Marketability

1. Be Pro-Active
A Brand shouldn’t just politely invite potential clients to come and check you out.  No, a Brand should be screaming from the mountain-tops, “Hey,  everyone!  I’m HERE!”.   It should demand that everyone come over to see what the fuss is about.

And if it’s done right, they will.     Build it, and they will come.

2.  Check out the Competition
What kind of branding do your competitors use?  What seems to work for them?  What doesn’t?   How can you learn from their mistakes and their successes, to see what works for you?  How can you modify your own branding paradigms to maximize your E-business effectiveness?

3.  Who do you want to target with your Brand?
Targeting your audience is one of the five essential steps in branding.  What is the point of a Brand, if you dont’ know who your customer will be?    Identifying your market niche is paramount, and requires much synergy and thought.   Don’t skim over this step….take your time, and do it right the first time.

4.  What does your Brand say about you?
Who are you?  What do you sell?  Can you be trusted?  Why should I give you my business, instead of the guy next door?

These are all questions your potential clients will be asking.   And your brand must be able to convey this information to them, otherwise, they’ll lack confidence  and move on to greener pastures.

5.  Social Media + Branding = Success
Social media is much more prevalent today, than it was even 2 years ago.   There are so many more outlets available for you to exploit,  to help launch your Brand.

You need to assess each one, and carefully weigh the positives and negatives, before choosing what’s best for you.  What may work for one brand, may totally be ineffective for others.

Remember, folks, it all depends on your target audience (see Step #3).   You need to decide what you’re getting out of all this, and how you’ll address their needs at the same time.

No one can tell you the right or wrong answer.   It’s up to YOU to decide

6.  Don’t Listen to me.
Seriously.  DON’T listen to me!

I dont’ know JACK SHIT about this subject.   In fact, I couldn’t even tell you what branding was.   I just put this stuff together, off the top of my head, for a lark.

Took maybe 10-15 minutes.   If that.

It’s not difficult…you just write a lot of fluff, and ask a lot of questions but dont’ provide any answers.   And throw in a few random marketing buzzwords from other blogs.

….something to think about, next time your read some of the stuff that’s out there.
But tell you what…if you like these tips…keep ’em.  They’re yours….and I wont’ charge $97 or $297.  (or whatever the going price is these days).

Have a great weekend

– Friar

Explore posts in the same categories: Friar's Grab Bag

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

19 Comments on “Branding Tips to Increase your Marketability”


  1. Another tip would be to stay consistent. A reader should never feel like they don’t know you anymore.

    Your tweet about this post had a broken link.

    My tip is to avoid the blogging medium altogether when looking for ways to promote your blog. Every blogger is looking to other bloggers to see how it’s done. Try mass marketing techniques, viral campaigns, finding people in other mediums or areas of interest.

    As for branding, my only tip is to GET IT RIGHT.

    (RIGHT = X Factor.)

  2. Friar Says:

    @matthew

    Yeah. Heh heh. Regarding staying consistent…

    I wonder what my regular readers will think when they see me write about marketing and branding?

  3. Karen JL Says:

    Remember that tweet I wrote about dogs yesterday? *sniff, sniff*

    ‘Post it and they will come.’

  4. Davina Says:

    Hey, you’ve got some pretty witty readers here Friar. Love it Matthew and Karen! I have to say, I was pretty darn disappointed while reading #1 to #4. I stopped and scanned ahead and saw “Jack Shit”, smiled and that gave me the strength to read #5. Why is it I want to read the sarcasm more than the facts?


  5. […] Co­n­tin­ued­ h­ere:  Bra­n­di­n­g T­i­ps t­o I­n­cre­a­se­ y&… […]

  6. Brett Legree Says:

    I’d leave a pertinent comment but I’m too busy “building my brand”… 🙂

  7. Brett Legree Says:

    You forgot.

    5a) To ensure a good brand, get the iron red hot in the fire, and press it firmly against the butt flesh of your clients.

  8. Friar Says:

    @Karen
    “Post it and they will come…”. But they might not necessarily stick around to read. 😉

    @”Why is it I want to read the sarcasm more than the facts?”.

    Probably because the facts I wrote here are Boooo-RING.

    Glad you liked the “Jack Shit”. (Though I’ll probably get scolded by Friar’s Mom for having potty mouth!)

    @Brett
    That kind of branding you mention is probably what your Viking Death Metal bands do on a regular basis.


  9. Some very interesting points have been made here, it is refreshing to see that your site gets quality visitors.

  10. Friar Says:

    @Virtual e-commerce

    ALL my visitors are “quality” (By default). 🙂

  11. Karen JL Says:

    Damn straight we are!

    You can’t find quality smart-ass-ness like this just anywhere. 😉

  12. Friar Says:

    @Karen
    This post only got 5 commenters, and one link.

    But it’s not the number, but the QUALITY that matters!

    So I’m relieved to know thingss are okay, here… 😉

  13. Karen JL Says:

    Unfortunately that ‘link’ looks like it’s coming from a scraper site.

    Serves ya right for writing about Branding. They sniffed you out alright!

  14. Friar Says:

    @Karen

    Heh heh. I know…I left the link there deliberately. Bunch of bosons…they scraped me…but didn’t even realize what the whole post was about.

    There was another one too, but I deleted it out of my spam filter. 😉


  15. Wow…thought Kelly was doing a guest post for a second there. Then I thought you were making fun of her while she was out of town and I though…oh Friar she is gonna kick your butt…and then I kept reading and decided it was just you being you.

    so yeah…guess I won’t send you to your room after all…goof ball….:)

  16. Friar Says:

    @Wendi

    Noooo! This has NOTHING to do with Kelly. I would never be mean to her like that. 😮

    This is more of a rant directed against all those so- called social-media “experts” on Twitter who keep following me.

    They’re not interested in talking to me. They’re basically just spammers, constantly trying to sell me their snake-oil.

    Glad to see I’ve cleared that up…because I’d hate to have to go to my room on a nice day like this. 😉

  17. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    Wendi beat me to it. I couldn’t scroll down fast enough to say how dare you mock all that is holy in Branding while I was not in town to laugh?

    Back now & got my eye on you…

    Regards,

    Kelly

    P.S. You only threw in that “this post has nothing to do with Kelly” disclaimer ‘cuz you KNEW I’d show up eventually. What do you say about me when I’m not looking? 😉

  18. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    Feel free to scroll through my hundreds of comments, to see what I say when you’re not around…you’ll find I’m quite nice. 😉

    (Anyways, it’s mostly Brett and Eyeteaguy I’ll rag on..)


Leave a Reply

