Gone Fishin’.

Hey, kids.  I’m takin’ a time-out.

Up North.

To try and find more of these guys…

Pickerel

See ya in a few weeks.

PS.  No lame-ass dead fish were involved in the creation of this blog post.  The pickerel you see here was released.

(OKAY?…Karen and Eyeteaguy ?)

Explore posts in the same categories: The Outdoor Friar

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

40 Comments on “Gone Fishin’.”

  1. Eyeteaguy Says:

    If you were Gollum you would smack it against the nearest rock and eat its guts raw! Yummy!
    I’m allergic to fish so you can can have all the fish to yourself.

    Eyeteaguy

    Enjoy your vacation!

  2. Kyddryn Says:

    I hope you have a lovely time!

    Shade and Sweetwater,
    K

  3. Bandobras Says:

    Oh so you’re just tormenting the fish with fake food hiding sharp hooks and then airboarding them.
    PETA and the UN have both been notified.

  4. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Cool, maybe the PETA task force will assault Friar’s home. They will stand on his lawn, shake their fingers at him and say “shame”.

    They are very threatening. The UN on the other han will hold meetings about forming a commitee then pass a luke warm resolution that the US won’t back so there won’t be a military response. Unless Friar has oil in his backyard, in which case he is screwed.

    Eye”W”guy

  5. Karen JL Says:

    OKAY. Fine. Glad to hear it.

    Now don’t you *dare* kill any while you’re away. They must all be released! Long live the lame-ass fish!

    Have a good time buddy. Hope the weather treats you well. (Or not…then we’ll get some ranty stories when you get back. *rubs hands together*) 😉

  6. elizabeth Says:

    Friar: hope you have a great time – will miss you!!!

  7. davinahaisell Says:

    Enjoy the great outdoors Friar. I can already hear the crickets chirping… oh wait… that’s over on Twitter… think I saw a tumbleweed roll by a minute ago too. 🙂 Have a fantastic vacation. I hope Mother Nature treats you well on all accounts. Will miss ya.

  8. Brett Legree Says:

    While Friar’s away I’m going to drink all of his beer.

    Not that he’ll care. The place he’s going is pretty amazing (he showed me pictures and I’ve looked at the location on Google Earth, I’d like to take my family there, and they don’t even fish).

  9. steph Says:

    Brett: I’m pretty sure beer isn’t on the macrobiotic diet…shame on you!

    Friar: The sun gloriously glinting off your prize and the water in that photo flings me right there with you. Ahhhhh…have a wonderful time. I’m sure you will!

  10. Brett Legree Says:

    Steph,

    Well you see, I had to tune it a bit 🙂

  11. Karen JL Says:

    @ Brett – So we gonna trash the place while he’s gone? 😉

  12. Eyeteaguy Says:

    I say yes.

    Shall we resort to personal attacks or just hijack it?

    Say, have you heard that they shouldn’t have cancelled the Maple reactors after all! Gosh, shocking…..

    Is it too late to get it going again or shall we just give our industry to the US and EU…..again.

    Eyeteaguy

  13. Brett Legree Says:

    Let’s trash it 🙂 heh heh

    On the subject of MAPLE and isotopes – the only way that MDS Nordion was able to turn a good profit, and supply isotopes at a reasonable cost, was to hide the true cost of the process (including the final and ultimate cost of the waste) behind a pseudo-government corporation.

    I suspect that the same is partially true for the other reactors/companies around the world that supply this material – one only need look at the huge jump in price after we shut down in May.

    I’m not saying that it can’t work, just that people need to know that there will either be fewer treatments (and longer waits) or a huge increase in costs. Many medical plans might not cover the procedures.

    My “personal guess” would be a 20 to 50 fold increase in the price, based on what I know of nuclear waste management.

    Side note – I believe that the fix was in with MAPLE from the start, it was shanghaied by people behind closed doors. Much like the new Ontario build is being shanghaied right now.

    Many people are stuffing their pockets, and we – the taxpayers – are suffering for it.

  14. Karen JL Says:

    Umm…yeah.

    I’m drawing a show with monkeys.

  15. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Y’know, Friar is grabbing that fish in a very familiar way.

    Of course it is normally a much smaller fish.

    Not that I would know……Brett told me.

    Eyeteaguy

  16. davinahaisell Says:

    @Eyeteaguy… you know, I read your comment yesterday and did not know what the heck you were talking about. Pppftt…NOW I get it! Heh, heh, heh… Funny how everything is always much clearer on a Sunday morning.

  17. davinahaisell Says:

    …. sometimes jokes are funnier AFTER they’ve marinated a bit… cause then you can laugh at how thick you are too… AND… how come my link isn’t workin’?

  18. Donald Mills Says:

    Enjoy your trip Friar.

  19. XUP Says:

    Enjoy dude.

  20. Mer Says:

    No lame-ass dead fish were involved in the creation of this blog post.

    That’s ’cause he’s screamin’ so loud you had to throw him back.

    I hope you have a wonderful vacation, Friar. I’m just gonna keep looking for my huge-ass coffee cup that should not have disappeared because it’s that big.

    @ Eyeteaguy

    If you give us your industry, we’ll run it into the ground for you. Just like we did Wall St.

    Mer 😉

  21. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Seems to me Wall St. is fine. Its the rest of us that are messed up. Nothing like taking care of your own……

    Eyebrokeguy

  22. Brett Legree Says:

    Yep, Wall St. and the whole “happy motoring” bailout thing.

    Who gets to decide which industries get bailouts and which don’t?

  23. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Friar’s away, no one is monitoring his blog and he has 22 lame comments.

    We can do bettr than this.

    Friar needs a good laugh, let’s be funny.

    Eyeteaguy

  24. Brett Legree Says:

    Here’s the best joke I know, it’s a one-liner.

    The Factory.

  25. Patricia Says:

    I got a silver salmon for my birthday – my brother caught it for me and one for him and he limited both days he was out on the ocean – working hard

    I will clean it and freeze it and share it with blackberry pie for Christmas dinner.

    Yum
    Hope you have a great time and good fishin’

  26. Oscar Says:

    Has the Deep Friar gone deep fry cook? I’ll have the fish n’ chips with extra malt vinegar ;^)

  27. Karen Swim Says:

    When are you coming back? I miss you!

  28. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Friar is not coming back.

    I killed him.

    I have his ears in my lunch box. I fed the rest to the fishes.

    He’s giving back to the environment now.

    Eyeteaguy

  29. Karen Swim Says:

    @Eyetaguy, lol! Are his ears the souvenir? I would think that his ears would have made nice plant food. You may want to rethink keeping them, unless your lunchbox is a mini compost and if so good on you. 🙂

  30. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Friar would never listen to me. Now he has to.

    So if you see me talking to my lunch box, I’m not crazy, I’m just talking to the Friar.

    Eyeteaguy

  31. Karen Swim Says:

    Well you still might be daft but at least the talking to the lunch box is accounted for. 🙂 Kind of gives a whole new meaning to tickling the ears, bwahahaha.

  32. Brett Legree Says:

    Eyeteaguy is fibbing.

    I just got an email from Friar.

    Unless Eyetea hacked Friar’s email account, that is.

    🙂

  33. Karen Swim Says:

    Brett, thanks for bringing reinforcements. Now we must unite and defeat Eyetaguy’s evil plot to overthrow Friar. 🙂

  34. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Friar told me all kinds of things before I dispatched him. His email password being one of them.

    He also told me he keeps his bearcd clippings, in a cigar box under his bed. Just in case he got famous he could sell them.

    Friar was a weird guy.

    Eyeteaguy

  35. Brett Legree Says:

    Beard clippings, eh? Sort of like the Most Interesting Man in the World, I suppose… 🙂

  36. Friar Says:

    Holy shit. I get better comments and the same amount of readers when I’m gone, as when I’m here and try to put an honest effort into my writing.

    What does that say about my blog?

    Hmph.

    Maybe I should leave more often.

  37. Patricia Says:

    This is very interesting indeed. Welcome back!

  38. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Bub-bye Friar, we’ll take it from here.

    Eyeteaguy

  39. Elizabeth Says:

    Glad you’re back!

  40. Karen Swim Says:

    Well we DO need you for the pictures! 🙂 Welcome back!


Leave a Reply

