Careful…no peaking!

It’s that precarious time of year again:

The leaves are peaking.

Fall Park 4a

Fall Park 2a

There’s maybe a one-week window, where the fall foliage is at it’s best.

We’re at that point about right now.

Fall Park 3a

The weather’s not been too co-operative for photos.    It’s been somewhat dull and gloomy the entire week.    But that’s the way it goes.

Fall Park 9a

Fall Park 5

But occasionally the sun does come out.

And when it does, it’s like switch got turned on.

You’d swear the trees were on fire.

Fall Park 6

Fall Park 7a

Fall Park 8a

But the moment is fleeting.   Already, some of the leaves are starting to fall off.

At this point, all it takes is one heavy rain, or a single windstorm, and all this will be gone.

a

So enjoy it while you can.

And careful, don’t blink.

Or you’ll MISS it!

Fall Park 1a

Explore posts in the same categories: The Outdoor Friar

36 Comments on “Careful…no peaking!”

  1. Friar's Mom Says:

    Wee Friar,

    Awesome photos. We’re so fortunate to live in this part of the country where we can enjoy the spectacular reds, oranges, yellows, and golds of autumnal foliage.

    I miss cycling in the countryside at this time of the year.

  2. Davina Says:

    Hi Friar. I miss these colours big time. One of the things I miss about Ontario… besides ferocious thunderstorms. Sigh. Thanks for sharing these pics. I’m still appreciating the green (ha, ha) leaves here. Won’t be long before the trees are naked and I’ll be able to see across the street into my neighbour’s apartment. Tisk.

    Spring will be here before we know it. Thanksgiving, Halloween, Christmas, New Year’s and then it’s downhill from there. You’ll be complaining about the rain again 🙂

  3. Friar Says:

    @Friar’s Mom

    Why dont’ you go for a nice ride in the country?

    I know that’s totally against your principles, and it isn’t the same as cycling.

    But at least you’ll cover some distance, and catch some of the colors before they disappear.

    @Davina

    Well, to be fair, we had a record rainfall this past summer, and everyone’s been complaining about it, not just the grumpy Ol’ Friar.

    I like the thunderstorms too. This was a strange year, though. We only got a couple, it seems.

  4. XUP Says:

    Gorgeous photos. I think the misty, gloomy ones are every bit as beautiful as the sunshine ones.I don’t think we’re quite as far advanced into the foliage display in the city as you are. We still have a lot of green. Still have something to look forward to…

  5. Friar Says:

    @XUP

    Thanks! I spent hours driving around getting these pictures. I do that every year.

    I’m visiting the Big City this weekend. So hopefully I’ll get a few more days of it.

    On some of the “higher” elevations around here (1000 ft), the leaves are already turning brown and falling off.

  6. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Hey, can you do a post about dirt next? Piles of it. Holes full of it. Maybe dirt stuck to your shoes?

    That would be awesome.

    Eyeteaguy

  7. Kyddryn Says:

    Beautiful…and oh, how I miss it…

    The leaves are only beginning to think about turning here at Case de Crazy – one or two at the tips of branches, nothing more.

    I think the grey sets off the colors nicely.

    Thanks for the trip down memory lane…Autumn was always my favourite season, and I DO miss a proper one, with the woods blazing and every living thing seeming to shout “Look at me!! Take a good look, because soon, all this color will drain from the world and you’ll have monochromatic surroundings until I feel like waking up and tarting myself up again!”

    Shade and Sweetwater,
    K


  8. Ours started turning a couple of weeks ago — despite the 25 degree weather. Seems that the internal clock must have taken over. Like seriously, the boys were swimming in the lake 10 days ago. This morning I was scraping the windows and was late for a meeting. Ugh. Guess the trees really did know something we didn’t.

    Great snaps, Friar. I’ll be passing through the big city next week myself on my way to an even bigger city even further south, so I’m looking forward to a last breath of summer before hibernation…

    ~Graham

  9. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy

    My last post was about poop. Which is related to dirt (poop eventually becomes dirt). Close enough.

    @Kyyddryn

    Tarting yourself up, eh? THAT should prove interesting! 😉

    @Graham
    You’re further norht, but more West. I think you kept your warm weather longer than we have. The last time I swam was Labour Day weekend (a month ago).

    But the further south you go, the longer the leaves last. I find even an hour’s drive makes a difference.

    I did a trip around Superior this time of year, once. It was awesome…especially south of Wawa, where you get the red maples.

  10. Eyeteaguy Says:

    I hate to leave a comment that is on topic but….

    Doesn’t the changing of the leaves have something to do with the angle of the sun?

    Didn’t I leave the same comment here last year?

    Friar, this is the start of the long slow decline, we are repeating ourselves.

    Eyeteaguy Eyeteaguy

  11. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy

    Well, at least the photos are new!

    (Friar)*(Friar)

  12. XUP Says:

    Well, if you’re coming to the big city, we should meet up and have a beer.Send me an email if you think you’ll have some free time. (urbanpedestrian@gmail.com)

  13. Mer Says:

    @ Friar

    You are so lucky. 🙂

    @ Anyone with computer talent

    Hey, one of my friends says WordPress does threaded comments but she can’t get it to work because the upgrade won’t take. Ideas?

    ::waves at Friar’s Mom::

    Mer

  14. Mer Says:

    @ Friar

    I especially like photos 1, 5 & 6. The sixth one is a wonderful example of perspective done right.

    Unfortunately the one listed at Fall Park 5 (under Fall Park 9a) isn’t showing up on my monitor so it could be just as great, but I can’t tell. 😦

    Mer

  15. Friar Says:

    @XUP

    Thanks for the offer, but I’m gonna have to take a rain check on this one. I’m only coming for part of the weekend, and that’s for the Big Thanksgiving Dinner.

    (And yes, we WILL have turkey!) 😉

    @Mer

    Yes, very lucky for the nice fall colors. But then, look where I work.

    It kinda balances out.

    And I dont’ know what’s up with the photos. Sometimes the odd photo wont’ appear.

    I blame it on WordPress.

    Try closing and re-opening the window. Sometimes the missing photo will appear (and others will dis-appear!)

    Go figure… (?)

  16. seestor Says:

    Will we have turkey? Or will we have roast beast? The chef hasn’t decided yet. 😉

    Wow, those photos are exceptionally beautiful. Makes me want to paint pictures.

    J

  17. Kyddryn Says:

    Silly Friar, I don’t tart MYSELF up…I was speaking figuratively of Spring from Nature’s point of view. Me, tart up? Good grief, that would be cause for alerting the authorities…people would think Mimi from the Drew Carey show had gone haywire on a massive K-Mart makeup aisle shopping spree with Tammy Faye Baker and I was the unfortunate makeover-madness/clown-school-reject result. Crikey, I can’t even apply lip balm without getting nervous…

    I have mentioned I failed Girl 101??

    Meanwhile, I don’t believe we’ll have even our usual muted colors here, this year – too much rain late in the season, and it seem we;re going from green to blowing in the wind without the usual pause at russet, dun, golden ochre, and occasional blaze of crimson. Oh, well…we needed the wetting, that’s for certain – went from a 20+ foot deficit in the lake to almost full-pool again, after ten years of drought. Whew.

    Shade and Sweetwater,
    K (who had a delightful round of fling-the-Frisbee with her Evil Genius and even managed not to damage anyone’s windows, although we did startle an unfortunate outdoor kitty)

  18. Friar Says:

    @Seestor

    Oh, it’s not difficult. Joint point and shoot. Take enough photos, sooner or later you’ll get a few good ones.

    PS. I vote beef. (But since I’m not the one cooking it, I’ll leave it up to the Chef’s discretion).

    You shouldn’t eat turkey. It makes them bitter (see XUP’s blog)

    @Kyddryn

    I think our foliage is peaking today. They’re forecasting winds. Half the leaves can be blown away overnight.

    PS> Speaking of Mimi, I just found out about this site yesterday..it’s pretty hilarious!

    http://www.peopleofwalmart.com/

  19. Eyeteaguy Says:

    That is a frightening site. Its like they visted my town.

    But if you want funy, check these guys out.

    http://www.youtube.com/livfilms#play/uploads/33/wzOWD3e3gks

    Eyeteaguy

  20. Amy Says:

    These are some great shots. Good thing you’ll have a nice long winter to paint them all. 😉

    Did you ever paint all of the ones from last year?

  21. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy

    A hot chick eating hot-dogs. You can’t go wrong there! 🙂

    @Amy

    No, I didn’t paint all the ones from last year.

    Or the year before that.

    Or the year before THAT..!

    (…etc.)

  22. steph Says:

    Oh, WOW. I can’t wait till we move up there!

  23. steph Says:

    What’s the Big City? I don’t really know the area up there.

  24. Friar Says:

    @Steph

    Ohh..(being coy). I keep the “Big City” a secret, so as to not reveal too much on my blog. (I’ll tell you via email). 😉

    Though you don’t have to be “up there” to get good fall colors.

    The key is to having lots of maple. You can’t be too far north, or you won’t get any, and the colors won’t be as good.

    Some of the best photos I’ve taken were just outside of Kingston, around Frontenac Park. Worth the trip, if you can swing it.


  25. The wife and I thought we’d add some carbon to the atmosphere this weekend and see a few pretty leaves while we are using up the last of the earth’s oil…

    Heck, we’re ‘Mericans. Isn’t that why we built those highways? What’s the point of having them if we can’t drive like hell somewhere and gawk at leaves?

    Can you tell I’d rather do something else?

  26. Friar Says:

    @Tony

    I drove several hundred miles this past week, enjoying the country side and looking at the great fall colors.

    Don’t regret it. It was beautiful and I enjoyed every minute of it.

    I guess I could have helped save the planet, and stayed home, and just have been happy with what was in my front yard.

    But what fun is THAT?

    But then again, I dont’ have kids, so mabye that equalizes out my carbon-footprint with the Carbon-Police. 🙂

  27. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Speaking of fall, leaves and such. I am looking forward to the spring!

    I know its a bit early but I always know its spring when Friar goes jogging in the woods. That means sap is running through the trees.

    Eyeteaguy

  28. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy

    I know it’s spring, when Eyeteaguy does his annual underwear change.

  29. Eyeteaguy Says:

    Now how would you know that? I knew that wireless camera was sending its feed somewhere, now I know.

    Eyeteaguy

  30. Friar Says:

    @Eyeteaguy

    Plus, the smell.

    It changes.

    (I live down-wind of you).

  31. Kelly Says:

    Friar,

    Why can’t I see all the pix?

    Well, the ones I can see are fabulous. Funny, my ma told me fall was cancelled up where she is because summer was too cold. (New York/Vermont border, prime ‘Merican leaf-peeping country—Tony you should have gone to stay at my parents’ motel! They would have loved to hear the old accent of home.) Now here you are further north with wonderful color. Hm.

    Maybe she just didn’t want me sighing about how I wish I were there (as usual). 🙂

    Keep snapping, no matter what Eyeteaguy says. It’s nice to see what your world looks like.

    Regards,

    Kelly

  32. Patricia Says:

    Lovely thank you for sharing these photos and your good eye

  33. Friar Says:

    @Kelly

    There…I re-downloaded a few. Let me know if it still dosen’t work.

    (On my home computer, it seems fine, but several readers are having problems).

    @Patricia
    Thanks. It’s not that hard..just point and shoot. And Photoshop till you drop. 🙂

  34. Kelly Says:

    OOOOH.

    The ones I couldn’t see are the best ones! Thanks!

  35. Mer Says:

    I finally saw the ones I missed. Lovely. I really like the fourth one. 🙂

    And that last one. I can’t believe I didn’t see that before!

  36. Friar Says:

    @Kelly and Mer

    More to come…

    I went on a 4-hour hike today. I have more photos that will blow some of these away!


Leave a Reply

